BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Grief, If We Let It

    Sittser shares a deeply personal tragedy with readers, opening up the way for their own healing. He doesn't sugar-coat things, but is very vulnerable and transparent in revealing his pain but also his growth. His main point is that grief and sorrow--suffering--can make us bitter or better, it's OUR choice. By facing the pain and doing the grief work needed with God's help and grace, we can grow and embrace loss, which will only enhance our lives. It's just nice to know we're not alone in our pain, that Sittser has been there, and he does the best thing: he points us to God, to show us that God cries with us and loves us and hasn't punished us with our sorrow/suffering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    HIghly Recommended!

    Thank you, Jerry Sittser. You helped me understand how loss and pain enlarge my soul and make more room for God and his grace. I appreciated the honest look at the question that haunts everybody at some time or other: How can a good God allow evil, especially to those who look to him for safety? And how are we to trust such a God? I have already shared this book with others. Buy it. Read it. Then pass it on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    This book absolutely transformed my life and my experience of loss. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Since reading it, I have purchased and given away at least a half dozen copies to others. It is phenomenal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Jerry Sittser transparently shares his grief in a style that would be difficult, if not impossible, for most of us to express in writing. God used his suffering through immense loss and injustice to help those of us who are have experienced similar pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is life-changing for anyone who has experienced a loss

    This book is life-changing for anyone who has experienced a loss of any kind. Please read it and share it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    This book inspired me to take back my familys life after we lost

    This book inspired me to take back my familys life after we lost our 17 year old son in a single car accident on January 23,2010. Even though we all were experiencing a catostrophic loss each one of us was dealing with it very differently. What Jerry wrote made total and complete sense to me and so grateful I read it soon after our loss. This book carried me just as our families do through this:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Highest Recommendation-Should be on everyone's bookshelf.

    This is by far the best book I have ever read on grief and loss--of any kind. I lost my fifteen year old nephew in a tragic car wreck just six months ago. A Grace Disguised author, Jerry Sittser gives an empathetic view about maneuvering through day-to-day life after a traumatic loss and how survival and restoration are possible. Though life is never ever the same, a peace and a grace will come in the space between now and complete healing and reunions in heaven. I believe this is a book that everyone should read at some point in their lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    A must read for all who experience the heartache of loss.

    This is a wonderful help through the process of grieving. Written by a man who experienced tremendous loss of his wife, children, and mother in one car accident. It helped me a lot, and also others I have given it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    This Book Puts Things Into Perspective

    The grieving process is a powerful event in anyone's life. That's why this book would be highly recommended. The author provides an insight to dealing with loss that only someone who has dealt with it can. This is a good book. I'd also suggest that you buy another book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It's an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    This book is great. We had a major death in our family and this is the only book that helped ease the pain.

    This book is easy to read and understand. It is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Grace Disguised is valuable reading

    I appreciated Dr Sittser's book very much. All, especially those who live a long life, will encounter tragedy--its a part of life. I think his book helps those who have gone through a tramatic loss and can also help prepare those before a loss occurs. This book comes from a Christian perspective and frames Dr Sittser's thoughts. I'm keeping this book... I think a good one to review periodically.

    I also knew Dr Sittser when he was a chaplain at Northwestern College in the early 1980's. I personnally found to be sincere and authentic individual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    A Grace Disguised--great reading to help anyone with loss

    This book was recommended to me by someone 30 years younger than myself. I wasn't sure how I'd like it, but found once I started that I wanted to keep reading. The author has a great way of writing with authenticity and honesty of his reactions to tragedy. He doesn't sugar-coat anything or make it trite. Loss is something you don't recover from in that life doesn't return to the way it was, yet he gives hope to get through it and find happiness again. I think it would be good reading for anyone who has encountered a loss. So often we as friends feel limited because we haven't experienced a loss like theirs, but he has, so they can relate to his feelings and accept their own struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Great comfort for every death experience

    This was the only book that helped me grieve and feel comforted when my 42-year-old husband died. I have given it to countless others who, in turn, have purchased it and given it to still others. Better than any flower arrangement...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    A true example of God's grace

    This book not only brought me comfort, it validated what I was feeling after my only child died in a car accident. So much of what Sittser writes struck at the core of my being. Sittser clearly states the best alternative for those who are grieving--get on with living and integrate the death or loss into the life you are left with. This book was especially helpful for me as a Christian: it was another reminder that God didn't intend for me to understand his ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    A huge comfort in my own grief

    When my boyfriend was killed in a car accident in college, my pastor gave me this book. At the darkest point in my life, I found someone who could relate to what I was feeling. The author, who lost 3 members of his immediate family in a drunk driving accident, shares his grief journey, with all its agony, questioning, and pain. He tackles the big questions of injustice in the world and 'where was God?' extremely well. I would recommend this book without reservation to anyone suffering a recent loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    The best book for those who have experienced loss

    I read the 1st edition of this book in 1998 after the loss of my husband. I could not put it down. I continue to refer people to this book. It is absolutely the best book related to loss. A must read for anyone experiencing loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2004

    Excellent From a Grieving Grandmother

    My grandson passed away 7 months ago tomorrow. This was an incredibly comforting book that addressed absolutely everything I have thought, felt, and questioned. The explanations given were simple yet profound. Even if I had not suffered my loss, I would have been cheated by not reading this beautiful book. My heart and soul are so much more accepting and content today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Excellent

    The best book on grief that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2