Customer Reviews for

Grace, Gold, and Glory: My Leap of Faith

Average Rating 5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Television allowed Gabby to show us her gymnastic skills and win

Television allowed Gabby to show us her gymnastic skills and winning personality. I bought the book wanting to know more about this lovely, young lady who has become America's sweetheart. I was not disappointed. I could not put the book down and read it in one day. ...
Television allowed Gabby to show us her gymnastic skills and winning personality. I bought the book wanting to know more about this lovely, young lady who has become America's sweetheart. I was not disappointed. I could not put the book down and read it in one day. If anyone wants to begin to know why Gabby is so special, you have to read this book.

posted by Anonymous on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Great!!!! book couldn't put it down, one determine young lady.

posted by richrich on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Television allowed Gabby to show us her gymnastic skills and win

    Television allowed Gabby to show us her gymnastic skills and winning personality. I bought the book wanting to know more about this lovely, young lady who has become America's sweetheart. I was not disappointed. I could not put the book down and read it in one day. If anyone wants to begin to know why Gabby is so special, you have to read this book.

    47 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Heart warming

    This book was heart warming, touch and remarkable. The story of how she was poor and living in a van to now. How she went in the olypimics. Gabby Dougles's story is truly inspiring.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Awesoome - spiritually inspiring for ALL - transcends race, gender or country

    If this book doesn't touch and inspire you, report your soul missing at once! Brie is as delightful and inspiring on paper as she is in the gym. She brings her Faith and Family alive, opens her heart, and invites readers inside.

    Beyond Gabrielle's faith, story and achievements,, there are also great lessons on parenting and return to traditional values I was especially impressed by Gabrielle's Mother, truly an example of Grace and strength,she really impressed me and it is very clear where Gabrielle got her spirit. I would love to meet that woman! So even if you will never be world class gymnist,, there are life lessons in this book

    Also, importantly, while race is mentioned, and plays a factor as far being a role model,, and clearly some challenges, race is never presented as a defining factor. Any racial implictions are simply a fact, and are all the more powerful in the reader's eyes. instead, Gabrielle, led by her Mother, epitomize Martin Luther King's vision of living and judging people by the content of their character and not the color of theeir skin. Their defining factors are their Faith, family, nd spirit.

    Truly a worthwhile read on many levels

    30 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Must buy

    Such a great book, such an inspiring girl with a great story to tell. I read this book in like 3 hours I couldn't put it down!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    aspiring gymnasts love it

    My daughter, 10, recently started taking gymnastics and idolizes Gabrielle Douglas. She just read the book, Grace, Gold and Glory and
    loved it. Most importantly, she read how her idol had to face challenges, and worked extremely hard to fulfill her dreams.
    The book is inspiring to all.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great!

    This book inspires all people of color to reach their goals, mo matter the cost! Great book!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    I love this book not only is she a great gymnis she's also great

    I love this book not only is she a great gymnis she's also great write she is a inspiring black women

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Born to Win!

    Gabrielle Douglas is a true champion with an amazing story.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Excellent story

    I love the way she expresses how she feels with raw emotions. No holds barr, gives every Black person in the world a reason to never give up or be defeated by the wickedness of the world. Agree is a true inspiration to US.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    she is smart talented determined and focused in her goals. if sh

    she is smart talented determined and focused in her goals. if she can do such an unexpected term of faith than i believe i can do anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Gabby douglass book

    This book is really creative and deep thought. This book is amazing!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    This girl is on fire!!!

    This book is PHENOMENAL! Gabby's story is heartwrenching and sencere and will most deffinately inspire you. She is an amazing role model and has an uncomprehendapble faith in God, which is beyond motivating. You'll laugh and cry alongside Gabby as she narrates the story of her humble begginings and just how she ended up on the Winner's Podium in London. This is a deffinate must read for any fan!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Gabby is awesome

    It tells you all about her life and how many tough times she has had from getting picked on at gymnastics to living in a van. I loved her once I saw her compete at the Olympics so I really enjoyed it because I got to learn more about her. If you have a interest in gymnastics or you just love her you should definitely read it loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!:p:):)_Gabby is awesome ______________________________________________________________

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Hi

    I love gabby douglas. Did u know her last name spells U.S.A Gold Douglas U.S.A Gold

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Gabby douglaus

    Im 9 and this book inspired me sense theres not many of us that are pro gymnast shes strong never gives up and differnet

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Exellent!!

    Gabby is an amazing gynast! She is powerful, strong and hard- working!she has faith in herself

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Love it!!!

    Its just so Beautfuly writen!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anymos

    I love this book it is a great book so worth the money

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    awsome book

    This is a great book it is truly inspiering

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    This is a great book.

    This is a great book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6