Customer Reviews for

Grace in Thine Eyes

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    The characters insisted that I keep reading -

    Seventeen-year-old Davina McKie has lived a sheltered life at Glentrool, under the protection her father - the laird, Jamie McKie - and her three brothers. Rendered mute by a childhood accident, she's found another voice in making music with her grandfather's fiddle. Jamie and Leana McKie, devout Christians, have raised their daughter to trust God and think the best of her fellow humans. So when Davina arrives on Scotland's Isle of Arran to spend the summer with cousins, she feels no trepidation about accepting the Duke of Hamilton's invitation to entertain his guests with her music every evening. No does she find it suspicious when Somerled MacDonald, a noble Highlander among the Duke's guests, singles her out for his attentions and quickly contrives to see her alone. Which Davina well knows isn't acceptable, for a virtuous young noblewoman in her time and place...but she's on her own for the first time in her life, and Somerled seems literally like the man of her dreams. Now, if you want to avoid minor spoilers that I have to mention in order to explain my reactions to this novel, stop reading. Or, read on - I won't give away anything that the back matter doesn't hint at, I promise. I nearly stopped reading this book when I realized that its themes would include a woman falling in love with her rapist. Although I've since learned from the author's notes that this historical novel's plot deliberately recreates the Biblical tale of Jacob's daughter Dinah, I still find that theme repugnant. But I did keep reading, because the characters insisted that I do so. Davina, Jamie, and Leana - 16-year-old twins Will and Sandy, whose boyhood misbehavior caused the accident that took Davina's voice - and even minor characters like older brother Ian come to life on the pages. The author manages to create Somerled MacDonald as a wealthy and highborn young man of his era, treating women as his culture has taught him to treat them, instead of as a stereotypical sociopath. She makes him understandable, although never (thank goodness, or I WOULD have stopped reading!) inappropriately sympathetic. Which causes the grace mentioned in the book's title to shine all the more brightly. Generally I avoid 'inspirational romances' because they tend to substitute earnest good intentions on the author's part for good writing. Liz Curtis Higgs, though, proves herself to be a rare and wonderful exception to that rule. I'll read her work again with pleasure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I cried!

    I cried and that is a good thing. Vary rarely do books prompt me to actually tears this one had me sobbing I used at least twenty tissues. I did not realize until I finished this book that it is the fourth in a series. I had no problem with the fact that this was book four although reading the other three would have given more insight into the main characters parents lives so I will now go back and read those. I also did not know until I finished the book that is was based on Ch. 34 of Genesis. The author does a wonderful job retelling the tale. I would not recommend this book to younger audience as it deals with some mature content. Would be an excellent book for a rainy day as I found it terribly hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    Another Stunning Novel by Liz Curtis Higgs

    Liz Curtis Higgs stands out as one of the most gifted writers that I have had the pleasure of reading. The Scottish historical series that opened with her acclaimed novel Thorn in My Heart ends just as brilliantly with Grace in Thine Eyes. Davina McKie is but a slip of a lass, whose childhood accident left her mute and her family divided by her father's resentment. When Davina is seventeen, her twin brothers are sent to Edinburgh to begin their schooling and she sets out to visit her cousins on the Island of Arran. There, the rumor of her uncanny talent on the fiddle spreads, and she invited to play before a Duke. Thrust unsuspecting into higher society, her innocence is quickly robbed but not her spirit. As she is forced to choose between resentment and forgiveness, her decisions propel an epic story of betrayal, love, and intrigue. Liz Curtis Higgs explores one of the most puzzling passages of scripture, fictionalizing the biblical story, and providing a woman's perspective¿so well that she brought tears to my eyes. Backdrops that with an amazing talent at holding readers captive, descriptions that are poetry, and it becomes a classic. I anxiously await her new Scottish historical releasing in 2008¿Highly Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Love, mercy, and forgiveness

    I loved and yet, I hated this novel. I was left trying so hard to feel happy for rose, but my heart wen tout to Leana. Ever since I was young, the story of Jacob, Rachel, and Leah, has enthralled me. My heart always cried after Leah would have a child and say,'Surely NOW my husband will love me.' She had many children, but not the love of their father. Rachel had his love, but showed great disreguard for it. The way Liz has written these novels shines such a new light for some. It's easy for me to feel sorry for Leah, just as it is easy for some to feel sorry for Rachel, but in the end they we're all wronged, and all selfish. It is amazing how the sins of the parents, can taint the hearts of their young forever. My parting words are these, these books are tremendous. They will make you feel ashamed, that we do not show love,mercy, and forgiveness as well as some of these characters do. Let us all remember that God created us to love, not to hold grudges and be resentful. What a waste of our life to do so.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Love it!

    This is hands down the best christian series I have ever read. The author recreated the biblical story of Jacob in such a captivating way that I did nothing but read until I finished the whole series. I laughed and cried with plight of the characters and a year later I still think about them. Very profound writing that will engage any reader to do some deep soul searching.
    Liz please write another series like this soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A tragic ending

    I really like the book, but the ending made me cry. A lot. Why did shhavto use THAT Bible story? ;(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Captures your heart. Must read!

    Whether a romantic, historian, or a fan of the many stories in the Bible, you will absolutely be enthralled by this story. This is the fourth book I have read by this author and rate them all as highly as this one. Ms Higgs and Francine Rivers are by far the two authors who set me to search my Bible for the wonderful people that God sent out before us to be our examples. Examples in how we should govern our lives and how we should not. Some excellent advice on parenting, as well. If your emotions are not set in gear, then you have none.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book. It is very inspiring!

    I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to spend an entire day reading. It is very hard to put down. I went out and bought the others the next day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    The best book I have ever read

    THIS IS THE BEST BOOK THAT I HAVE EVER READ!!!! everything about it is wonderful. the characters, the story, the time setting, the music in it, and of course how God is intertwined in it. I absoluetely love Mrs. Higgs' work and any and every one in the world should read this magnificent book. it changed my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Loved it!

    I definetly recomend reading grace in thine eyes even more so if you have read the others in this sequel! I absolutely loved the characters, the ending was the best possible... All around great if a little sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    More life-changing fiction from Liz Curtis Higgs

    Davina McKie is the daughter of Jamie McKie of Higgs¿s three Scottish Series books, Thorn in My Heart, Fair is the Rose, and When Came a Prince. Davina, a delightful girl and a talented fiddle player, has been unable to speak since childhood. Her brothers vow to protect her, but the cause of her disability is a source of tension in the family. Although young, Davina faces unexpected challenges from which no one can protect her. When she meets the handsome Somerled, she believes he is the man God has in mind for her. Shocking events follow, and only God¿s grace can bring her through the trials she faces. I have followed Higgs¿s fiction career with great interest, and her skill continues to grow with each book. Grace in Thine Eyes is intended as a stand-alone title and may be easily read and understood without reading the trilogy of Scottish novels published earlier. However, I strongly recommend all of Higgs¿s fiction, because she portrays God¿s grace and understanding through the characters in a way I seldom see with inspirational fiction. Watching the characters develop a deeper spiritual connection despite their personality flaws inspires me to seek a deeper relationship with God, because I realize my faults are not insurmountable. God¿s grace is sufficient for all of us. I look forward to Higgs¿s next novel, Here Burns My Candle, the first of a new Scottish series coming out in March 2008. The new series will also be based on a biblical family, but is set in Edinburgh and the Borders in 1745-46.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Good but could have been better!

    I read Grace in Thine Eyes in one night because my sister was anxious to get to read it since we loved the previous trilogy so much. However I have to admit it could have been better. The characters are real people who you care about. And I did have a moment where my eyes were tearing up a bit, which means a lot coming from someone who never cries during a book. But it seems like most of her stories the ending was rushed, and I couldn't help wondering if maybe it should have been two books. The ending was great but some things seemed to be left out, like what happened to Davina's brothers. The good in the book truly outweigh the bad though. The characterization couldn't be better, and the storyline is superb. Being able to read this book for 6 hours straight and never once becoming bored is amazing. If you loved the books before you will love Grace in Thine Eyes. If you're reading this one for the first time I highly recommend going back and reading the first three though you can get through without being confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Warning: Spoilers!

    Higgs has a real flavor for the Scottish culture and people, and therefore, this book is extremely well written and believable. However, what happened to the ending? I was waiting for Jamie to forgive the twins, and for Davina to marry Graham. Instead, we're left with a cliff hanger we know she'll wait for him, but why can't we enjoy the satisfaction of seeing them married and happy? Oh well, at least we know they will be eventually, but we don't know about the twins. I'm starting to think because Jamie never forgave the twins that we are not supposed to as well? Maybe she is saying their motives were not pure, and they have yet to repent? I'm not sure about that one, but it doesn't seem to go with her theme for the rest of the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb inspirational historical

    In 1808 in Glen of Loch Trool, Scotland, twin brothers Will and Sandy McKie feel a need to protect their wee seventeen years old mute sister Davina. Thus when their father Jamie arranges for the siblings to attend the university in Edinburgh, they and Davina are upset. Their older brother Ian understands that the family patriarch has to make difficult decisions when it comes to second born sons, but though he supports his dad, he and his mother Leana are also distressed just not as vocal as Will and Sandy. --- Jamie knows the twins will be fully occupied with their studies and his oldest son is courting Margaret McMillan, so his concern turns to his beloved daughter. He decides a trip to his cousins on the Isle of Arran will distract her until everyone settles into their new roles. At Arran, her family welcomes Davina and her skill with the fiddle becomes known. Rakish Highlander Somerled MacDonald and Davina meet, she flirts with him and he seduces her. Word of what happened that Midsummer¿s Eve reaches Loch Trool and Edinburgh. While Jamie fumes, the twins take action leading to Somerled and his father falling off the cliffs of Goatfell on Arran. Davina holds herself culpable as does everyone else because she brought shame to her family. --- GRACE IN THINE EYES is a superb inspirational historical propelled predominately by Davina, but somewhat by the twins and their father. The key is that the personalities of the McKie family is set early and remains consistent throughout. Fans of deep character driven tales will appreciate this strong Regency era novel starring a wonderful female poorly coping with tragic events as the scarlet letter of gossip follows her even at home females take the blame for scandals. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2