Customer Reviews for

The Grace of Silence: A Family Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Interesting read

    I enjoyed this book for the subject matter as well as the questions it raised. I've long asserted that an OPEN AND HONEST dialogue on race relations in America is long overdue! I would like to see the issue addressed head on with frankness and candor on all fronts because until that happens there will always be a race issue!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Enjoyable Read

    This book helps me to understand my own parents a bit better. They, too, have not always spoken about the events they experienced as African Americans growing up in the mid-20th century. Through her own experience Norris gives me an insight into why as well as helping me to appreciate their experience better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Rending

    It took me a long time to read this book, not because it wasn't well written, but because of how it made me feel. The story was about an African-American voyage through the complexities of American culture, but I read it as a story of a family. I couldn't help but love Michele's parents from her descriptions about them. They were wonderful, strong people, who worked hard to raise a daughter able to work her way through the muck of racism into a different world. The part that stopped me in my tracks was the fact that these two very wonderful people couldn't keep their marriage together. Michele talked about how they tried to keep things amicable between them to protect her from the problems a divorce normally creates. No matter how hard they tried to keep their family earthquake from impacting their daughter, the echoes of their divorce rang through her memoir. How sad that her memoir didn't include a joyous couple thrilled at their successful daughter. How sad that her father died of cancer without the woman he loved at his side. I ached for the couple who couldn't work their issues out, and I ached for a daughter who felt the emptiness from having her parents divorced. In the end, this book may have meant to be a walk through the American culture of racism, it became, for me at least, a commentary on how the pain of a divorce echoes through generations yet to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Interesting book on Race in America

    This is a good read. A very well written book. I lets the reader better understand how much harder life is for people of color. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    Excellent insight to blacks after wwii

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    My overall review about the book The Grace Silence, is that I th

    My overall review about the book The Grace Silence, is that I thought the book was very good, my first thought was this was another book about racism and secrets,but as I began to readthe book and began to dig deeper , then I realized that the book was about Micheles feelings shehad and was a part of her life that she ahd tp put on paper to free herself and just wanted the world to know the struggles of her life and just that a person can have alot of things that happen the family that have to get resolved. And with a little determination you can get to the bottom of alot of secrets and hear say, and that one doesnt just have to say i had alot go on that i can write a book but actually writes it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I though that this book was very well written. I really enjoyed

    I though that this book was very well written. I really enjoyed how Michele Norris was honest about the way people talked to her family. I though that her being so blunt about it made the book very  good. i
    And i also found it interesting how we learned some about Aunt Jemima. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Great Read

    Wonderfully written with a fresh look at a generation that truly would bear up under any circumstance and shelter the generation to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2