Customer Reviews for

Grace under Pressure (Manor House Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hyzy gets better with each book.

I read a lot of mystery series, and became a fan of the somewhat-new White House chef series (3 books) by Ms. Hyzy. So I bought this, her newest book and series, yesterday at BN, read it pretty much straight through, and enjoyed every bit of it. The Manor series looks l...
I read a lot of mystery series, and became a fan of the somewhat-new White House chef series (3 books) by Ms. Hyzy. So I bought this, her newest book and series, yesterday at BN, read it pretty much straight through, and enjoyed every bit of it. The Manor series looks like it will be more of a typical mystery series than the often-funny White House upstairs/downstairs intrigues, but the characters and setting are as interesting. As always, Ms. Hyzy excels at developing interesting fictional characters who will stick in your brain long after you have finished the book. I think she is truly a promising writer and I hope she will be will be writing both the White House and Manor series for a long time to come.

posted by Katherine30 on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lackluster mystery

The female protangonist/amateur sleuth is not very likeable and comes across as self-absorbed and self-important, all other characters are pretty one-dimensional. Even though the story is set in a history-filled manor house and museum no real atmosphere is ever achieve...
The female protangonist/amateur sleuth is not very likeable and comes across as self-absorbed and self-important, all other characters are pretty one-dimensional. Even though the story is set in a history-filled manor house and museum no real atmosphere is ever achieved. I can't recommend spending time or money on this first installemnt of the manor house mysteries.

posted by 785210 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    I adore Julie Hyzy's White House Chef Mysteries, then I saw that

    I adore Julie Hyzy's White House Chef Mysteries, then I saw that she has her first in a new series out in Audio books, so I gave it a try.  This series is just as interesting and was fun to listen to also!




    Grace is a new assistant curator at (fictional) Marshfield Manor.  Her family is from this area and she had spent many happy days here as a child.  Unfortunately, a disturbed guest causing a huge scene and then a murder, causes Grace to have to start off her job with much more involvement than she had anticipated.  Her gossipy nosey assistant, Frances, seems to know everything about everybody, but she's obviously no fan of Grace.  But the hunky gardener , Jack, is considerably nicer.  She's helped in stepping in to help protect the rich owner from danger by her two roommates in the beautiful but decaying mansion that her grandmother has left to her. 




    This mystery has lots of interesting details involving curating in an old mansion.  All the different rooms and secrets are especially fascinating --I love old houses and secret rooms.  The characters are intensely created with great flaws and creative personalities--some you love and some you love to hate. Hyzy has created another fun cozy series for sure.  The narrator for the audio book is wonderful--creating voices distinct for every character. Definite winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    I have absolutely loved Julie Hyzy¿s White House Chef Mysteries

    I have absolutely loved Julie Hyzy’s White House Chef Mysteries. See my reviews here. When I saw she had another series written at an art museum, I wasn’t so sure about the setting, but I gave it a try anyways. I am very glad I did, this was a great start to the series.

    I love how the author create characters who are involved in the crime, but also other things that are going on in the story. She is able to weave a story around the crime involving personal relationships and previous history that also gets you wondering. There is also a little bit of romance, but not enough to distract from the fact that it is a cozy mystery.

    I love the setting and the small town. I definitely feel like I could find a place similar if I looked hard enough, however, the author does not bog you down with details when trying to describe how everything looks and comes together.

    Grace is a great amateur sleuth. She is also new to her job and wanting to move up with the museum. She is an outsider because it is a small town which also hinders her slightly while trying to investigate the crime. My favorite characters are Scott and Bruce who are Grace’s roommates and have their own small business in town and are trying to get by. All three are great friends and help create additional sideline stories in addition to the mystery.

    A great start to the series and I will definitely continue on with book two, excited to get that as soon as I can. If you love a cozy mystery or a great story with amazing characters, I would highly recommend reading Julie Hyzy’s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    The world didn't end!

    It would've ended an hour ago.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    In Hyzy¿s mystery novel, Bennett Marshfield is wealthy and in de

    In Hyzy’s mystery novel, Bennett Marshfield is wealthy and in demand—by
    everyone wanting a piece of his assets. Owner of the Marshfield Manor,
    he trusts no one. When his friend and associate, Abe is murdered things
    take a turn for the worst. Grace Wheaton has spent her life wanting to
    work at the Manor and now she is finally following in the footsteps of
    her grandmother who originally introduced her to the Manor, sparking her
    interest to begin with. In the wake of Abe’s murder, she steps up to
    the challenge of assuming his role and duties. When a stalker enters
    the picture, Grace and groundskeeper Jack Embers do their best to
    protect the place and the people they love. Grace is a strong heroine
    and very refreshing. A Manor House Mystery is a delight for lovers of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    Marshfield Manor

    The book begins a bit abruptly, with a huge disturbance during tea at the Manor. Grace Wheaton, still in her first 90 days of employment at her dream job, manages to smooth things over what winds up being a distraction while murder occurs elsewhere in the Manor. Turns out the owner of Marshfield Manor, millionaire Bennett Marshfield, has been receiving threats. I really liked the characters Hyzy included in this new series, it seems to be in the vein of a very classic cozy. I look forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1