Customer Reviews for

Gracelin O'Malley

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    Intoxicating, so beautiful and melodic, yet hostil...

    I fell in love with Gracline from the start! Every movment and turn brought a feeling of amorousness intertwined with tear. Beautiful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Gracelin O'Malley

    As an American Irish girl this struck a chord. My family left for America during this famine. After reading this book I am more aware of what it cost them and I am grateful for their courage and stamina. This book is tragic and inspiring at the same time. It is a page turner. I simply could not put it down. Erin go braugh!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Loved it!

    I loved it, would suggest it to anyone. It was great, and showed the deep faith of the Irish people as well as the hardships they faced. LOVED it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I truly was touched by Gracelin O'Malley

    In the midst of tremendous challenges Gracelin finds courage and creativity to face them head-on. As a women who lived, when women were the property of their husbands, she finds her center and lives from it. The story also opened my eyes to the terror that people had to deal with during the Potato Famine of Ireland. Not only were the native Irish facing death from hunger but they were also being treated heartlessly by many of the British who were living in their country. This book was a terrific read and the sad part is that the same story is happening today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Riveting and heartbreaking

    The cover is a bit misleading, if you are looking for a light escapism novel this isn't it. It is, however, riveting, heartbreaking, educational, and so much more. I couldn't leave it alone until I finished it and then I felt terribly sad that it was over. The book details a portion of Gracelin's life and the terrible time of the potato famines in Ireland. I have recommended it to friends and will probably read it again. I am hoping that the ending paves the way for another book that continues the story of Gracelin and what is left of her family. Being of Irish descent and somewhat knowledgeable of Ireland's history this novel really paints a picture of how very very difficult the day to day existence was and how resilient the people were to survive. A great read and a great find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put this book down!

    I bought this book a couple of years ago and forgot about it. When I found it this weekend I began reading and couldn't put the book down. I had heard about the potato famine in Ireland but had forgotten how tragic it was until I read this book. Graceline and her family are brought to life and you feel their suffering. I loved this book. After I finished reading it I went to Barnes and Noble and bought "Leaving Ireland" the sequel. I can't wait to see what happens to Graceline and Sean in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Gracelin O'Malley

    As an American Irish girl this struck a chord. My family left for America during this famine. After reading this book I am more aware of what it cost them and I am grateful for their courage and stamina. Anne Moore is an incredible author. She writes a story that is tragic and inspiring at the same time. This is a page turner. I simply could not put it down. Erin go braugh!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Pulled at My Heartstrings

    This book left me in complete awe. I can only remember one other book that got me so caught up in a character that I found it hard to sleep at night wondering what was going to happen next. (The other book was Sarah Canary.I don't remember the authors name.) This book touched me deeply. I run a day care and on a daily basis throw out alot of veggies that the children will not eat and after reading this book I feel guilty throwing it away. Thinking of gracelin and her family's struggle. I can't even look at a potato the same way. I went through Advanced Placement History in school and learned about the irish famine but nothing we learned struck as deep. I think that this is a must read for anyone who is irish, or decended from ireland. ( Wouldn't Hurt for highschool students to be required to read this as well. We had to read The Jungle and this is right up there.) This book was written so well. I can't even find the words to express it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was fantastic! I felt that I was in Ireland at the time of the famine. The historical aspect was wonderful. I had no idea of what really happened over there and all of the turmoil with the English until I read this book. After I finished it I went right out to get the second because I just had to find out what happened to Gracelin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2002

    Great!

    I read this book about a year ago and I just couldn't seem to put this book down. It is a story told with such magic that you feel you are there in Ireland with Grace and her family, in the beautiful country described by Moore. Keep a box of Kleenex handy because you will need it as you read about the troubles and heartaches that Gracelin encounters, and the strength that gets her through it. Now I can't wait to buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Fabulous

    This book totally caught my attention and wouldn't let it go! I took this book with me on a trip to Australia, and had conflicting decisions! I just wanted to finish reading the book! ;-D Ann Moore does a wonderful job of describing Grace's life and the beautiful land that she lives in. When I was done I was actually disappointed that I was done reading about Grace! I wanted more. I was excited when we got home and found that there is a second book due out shortly! I'll be placing my pre-order right away!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    Riveting Historical Novel

    In 1840¿s Ireland, young Gracelin O¿Malley comes of age in a country torn apart with rebellion, disease, and famine. Married at the tender age of fifteen to local squire, Bram Donnelly, Grace¿s ascent into adulthood is rapid and heart wrenching. Though her new husband is able to provide her with a material security previously unknown to her, his abusive behavior causes her endless misery. <br><br> And when the potato crop is destroyed by disease, Grace tries to help the starving population of the countryside. Bram¿s discovery of her good deeds results in an explosion of his temper, and Grace returns to the bosom of her family. Tragedy continues to strike as more countrymen succumb to death and disease, and landlords like Bram fear for their lives when they continue to evict their tenants. Rebellion is on the rise, as men like Grace¿s brother and friend Morgan organize groups of followers to combat the injustice done them by the English. <br><br> But author Moore has painted Grace as a heroic woman who continues to hope as friends and family are taken from her. Despite her misfortunes, she clings desperately to a thread of happiness, as she and her daughter Mary Kate continue to live day-to-day in difficult times. <br><br> An emotionally deep novel, filled with intense moments of self-sacrifice, Ms. Moore¿s work of historical fiction will entrance the reader with its deeply haunting beauty. The lyrical voices of the long-dead Irish people will live forever through this wonderful novel, as readers eagerly anticipate the continuation of Grace¿s saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    Moving....

    This wonderful emotional depiction of the famine years touches the reader like no other historical novel.The reader finds herself wrapped up in the relationships and emotions that keep the characters of Ann Moore's novel alive. Never before has a book been written that stirred love, frustration, hopelessness, compassion and anger all up under one cover. Gracelin O'Malley is a strong and unforgettable character - one can't help but love her! They will find themselves waiting in anticipation for her return in a follow up novel by this extrodinary author! A must read book for all historical fiction fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2001

    Publishers Weekly Review

    'The Troubles are harrowingly described in this finely wrought tale of an Irish beauty married above her station to an English landlord. Grace is the light of her household and only 16 when she is married off to Bram Donnelly, the lord of the manor. Her crippled brother, Sean, hates to see her go, knowing that his friend Morgan McDonagh loves her. She quickly realizes that Bram is a cruel, abusive drunk with a shady past, and that she does not fit in his world. Grace gives birth to twins - a boy and a girl - but only the girl survives, much to her husband's displeasure. When the potato blight hits and starving people come to the estate for food, Bram shows his true colors, not only refusing to help, but murdering some of them and turning his wrath upon Grace for feeding them. When he realizes he could lose the manor, he hatches a scheme with his mistress to come up with a male heir. Tensions escalate among his suffering tenants, and he knows he's a marked man - he even rides his property with his young daughter tied to his back to keep from being shot. Woven into the story is a subplot involving Sean, Morgan and other desperate peasants who have begun to talk of revolution. Grace, somehow stronger than ever, is determined to help. The searing conditions of the Irish famines, exacerbated by the unspeakable greed of the English, come to grim life in this realistic tale - too realistic for some, perhaps - but Moore's refusal to ignore the stark plight of the Irish and her lyrical, pitch-perfect prose raise this book far above the romance genre and make for historical fiction at its finest.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1