Customer Reviews for

Graceling

Average Rating 4.5
( 1864 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1228)

4 Star

(428)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

161 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, astonishing

How can I even begin to review this book? How could I get you to trust me and read it, for it is one of the best book I've ever read? I can think of only one way: Must Read. I speak as I read. I'm happy. I'm sad. I'm scared. I'm relieved. I'm shocked. I'm waiting. Yes, ...
How can I even begin to review this book? How could I get you to trust me and read it, for it is one of the best book I've ever read? I can think of only one way: Must Read. I speak as I read. I'm happy. I'm sad. I'm scared. I'm relieved. I'm shocked. I'm waiting. Yes, all this while reading. Fiction, action, romance, friendship, fantasy, love, coping, dealing, Kings, Queens, evil, kindness, villain, killing... What else can you ask for in a book?

The writing was excellent, astonishing. The plot was full of magic and emotions. The characters, oh, the characters; they were unforgettable and brilliant. I can not even pick a character a loved the most. They all were above marvelous. I love Po and Katsa obviously, but the rest were equally amazing. I do love Po! Did I say that already?

I could not have imagined a better cover either, I loved the color, the effects and the eyes! The beginning, the ending and the story were all amazing. How she came up with all this, I have no idea. Needless to say, that whatever your reading preferences are, you have to read this book. I highly recommend it.

posted by SabH-CrystalReviews on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

How is this story telling?

To me one of the essential things for a story is plot, and I found it rather absent in this book. It is much more romance than action, which wasn't really what the summery advertised (not that I don't like romance, I just don't think false advertising is fair). The char...
To me one of the essential things for a story is plot, and I found it rather absent in this book. It is much more romance than action, which wasn't really what the summery advertised (not that I don't like romance, I just don't think false advertising is fair). The characters seemed a little flat and far too predictable (something that goes beyond consistency) and they didn't really change all that much. She is supposed to be a mercenary and yet she fears killing, am I the only one that think's that odd? Oh well, I'm not saying some might enjoy it, but I certainly didn't and I don't suggest you waste your money on it.

posted by InkMouse on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1874 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 94
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, astonishing

    How can I even begin to review this book? How could I get you to trust me and read it, for it is one of the best book I've ever read? I can think of only one way: Must Read. I speak as I read. I'm happy. I'm sad. I'm scared. I'm relieved. I'm shocked. I'm waiting. Yes, all this while reading. Fiction, action, romance, friendship, fantasy, love, coping, dealing, Kings, Queens, evil, kindness, villain, killing... What else can you ask for in a book?

    The writing was excellent, astonishing. The plot was full of magic and emotions. The characters, oh, the characters; they were unforgettable and brilliant. I can not even pick a character a loved the most. They all were above marvelous. I love Po and Katsa obviously, but the rest were equally amazing. I do love Po! Did I say that already?

    I could not have imagined a better cover either, I loved the color, the effects and the eyes! The beginning, the ending and the story were all amazing. How she came up with all this, I have no idea. Needless to say, that whatever your reading preferences are, you have to read this book. I highly recommend it.

    161 out of 173 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT A FANTASTIC READ.

    Our heroine, Katsa, is blessed, or cursed at times in her opinion, with a grace. In Katsa's world, a grace is a sort of innate ability that certain people are born with. Graces can be as simple as being able to play the flute really well, or as powerful as being able to read minds. Katsa's grace just happens to be killing, and as such, is exploited by her Uncle, the king, to preserve his own power and ensure that his demands are met. Katsa's role as royal enforcer often leaves her troubled, and somewhat afraid of her own powers. Deep down, Katsa is also lonely, although she doesn't realize it. That is, until she meets Po, a prince with a powerful fighting grace that seems to rival her own. As Katsa learns more about Po, and his mysterious grace, she also learns more about herself and finds the freedom to choose her own path.
    This book was pure fun. The story had plenty of action, beginning even from the first page, and I found Katsa to be a complex but likeable character. The romance was sweet, without being overly sappy, although I did find Katsa's negative views of marriage as somewhat puzzling. This may sound strange, but I also really enjoyed the antagonist in the novel. We don't actually see much of his character, but his grace was just so sneaky! Cashore kept me guessing to the end as to how or if he would be ultimately defeated. I am glad that I gave this book a try and I plan on reading Fire, Cashore's soon to be released second novel.

    79 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    How is this story telling?

    To me one of the essential things for a story is plot, and I found it rather absent in this book. It is much more romance than action, which wasn't really what the summery advertised (not that I don't like romance, I just don't think false advertising is fair). The characters seemed a little flat and far too predictable (something that goes beyond consistency) and they didn't really change all that much. She is supposed to be a mercenary and yet she fears killing, am I the only one that think's that odd? Oh well, I'm not saying some might enjoy it, but I certainly didn't and I don't suggest you waste your money on it.

    53 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Graceling

    In all the Seven Kingdoms no is feared or revered as much as Gracelings -- individuals who are born with an innate talent to do something extremely well, be it to sing perfectly, outrun a horse, or even to read minds. Gracelings are immediately discerned by their different colored eyes, often to their disadvantage since most people distrust and even dislike them. Katsa is born with one green and one blue eye but has no idea what her grace is until after her seventh birthday, when she accidentally killed a man. With the unlikely grace of killing Katsa is turned into her uncle's (King Randa) personal thug and enforcer - sending Katsa off on missions to 'punish' his vassals through pain, torture or even death. For herself, Katsa views her grace as a burden -- more often than not seeing herself as a monster. That is until she begins planning and executing her own secret missions with the help of her friends to combat the oppressive reigns of various rulers. One such mission to rescue the kidnapped grandfather of another ruler doesn't go exactly as planned when Katsa encounters another Graceling almost as talented in fighting as she is. A Graceling who will challenge every belief Katsa holds about the world around her and herself.

    Boy, oh boy, Katsa kicks butt. Really. She's not happy unless she's taking out an entire battalion of bad guys. She doesn't feel feminine (she even cuts off all her hair - I can totally sympathize!) but she still possesses this incredibly soft inner self which is slowly uncovered as she opens herself up to others. In her struggle to define, and perhaps more importantly, learn to control her Grace, Katsa strives to find the courage to take control of her own life. This fast-paced book practically flew by but still took the time to address even minor characters which left me feeling satisfied and thoroughly engaged throughout. Graceling is an adventure story, a fantasy, a mystery, a political suspense, a romance -- it has it all and doesn't stop for a second. I found myself thinking about Katsa long afterwards because by golly, how fun would it be to be able to KNOW you could take down anybody, I mean anybody, before they even noticed you had two different colored eyes?

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The BEST Book!

    I read constantly, and I have only enjoyed a few other books as much as I enjoyed Graceling! The plot was strong and fast-paced, the characters were phenomenal, and I loved the story! This is absolutely a must-read for any book lover!

    Incidentally, the other books I loved were "Daughter of the Empire" by Feist, "Heart of Myrial" by Furey, and "Hunger Games" by Collins!

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awfully Disappointing

    Graceling is like a movie you keep watching because you think it has to get better, but it never does and you regret it by the end. The idea could have really been something but it never amounted to the potential. The book starts out interesting with these mysterious gracelings who have gifts to do things very well, then dips into predictable or shallow characters, an upsetting animal torturing king, bloody hunting, traveling more then needed, unrealistic conclusions, and unimportant realizations that have been mentioned before. Things don't add up in this book and major details overlooked while minor detailed are focused on to annoyance. I read a lot and was awfully disappointed in this book. I don't recommend reading it.

    26 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!! MUST READ NOW!

    One of my favorite books ever! I did an english project on it and would definitely work on it again. Don't even think about it, just go to barnes and noble and buy it! (unless you don't like fantasy/adventure/mystery/romance)

    Looking through Katsa's green and blue graced eyes, you see her world of fantasy. There are 7 kings ruling over the land and people. Her uncle is one of them. He is a cruel man who uses Katsa as his weapon, because her grace is killing. She can kill an army without any weapons or armor and easily win. She is unstoppable, until a King interferes and has her running for her life. This book will take you on a thrilling adventure that includes action, romance, and mystery.

    The next in the series is Fire and then Bitterblue (sadly they haven't come out yet).

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    FACINATING! A MUST READ!

    I'm finding it hard to put what I want to say into words other than, FANTASTIC! MARVELOUS! A GEM! A MUST READ!<BR/><BR/>I haven't been excited about a book in a long time. This one deserves it! Oh, it has fantasy, and life, and tribulation, and strife, and laughter, and nonsense, and ... just read it!

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    One of the Best books ever!

    READ THIS BOOK!!
    GRACELING is a wonderful book, and when reading it you feel as if you really know the characters and are really swept up in the adventure of it all. This book is not only a great and absorbing read, but also makes you think about issues in today's world. This is the kind of book you stay up till 3 in the morning reading. I could not put it down, and i can't wait for the next books by Kristen Cashore. (The fact that i know the author's name by heart speaks extremely well for her.) This is an amazing first novel, and an just an amazing novel overall.
    -Luna

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great First Novel

    This is a very interesting young adult fantasy novel. The main character, Katsa, lives in a world where certain people posses extreme skills or talents, called a "grace". These people are called Gracelings, and they are easily recognizable by the fact that their eyes are two different colors. Katsa's grace is the ability to kill, and she's forced to use her grace as the King's enforcer. But what should she do when the King's orders go against everything that she believes and feels?

    This was a really good fantasy novel! I enjoyed it quite a bit. Lots of action and a good touch of romance. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because of the ending. There was this whole build-up around who the "bad guy" was and evading him and such, and then it ended really abruptly and was very anti-climatic. There was another section of the book after that to wrap up a few loose ends. I kinda liked that section, but at the same time it seemed a bit odd to me. Maybe it's trying to set up another book? Not sure. But overall, I am really glad that I read this.

    The only other problem I had was that I listened to the audiobook and I'm not sure if I recommend that. It was a full cast audio, so basically one reader for everything but the dialogue, and then a bunch of readers for the dialogue. And honestly, they were all pretty good. It took me a bit to get used to that kind of setup because I am so used to just one or possibly 2 readers. But I got used to it pretty quick. The problem I had was the music that they kept inserting into it! That drove me crazy! I kept feeling like I was watching some old movie where some says something that's supposed to shock or surprise you, then you hear "Dum, dum, dum" (or whatever the music happens to be). I just felt like laughing every time that they did it! Which is probably not a good thing since they were adding it to the parts that were supposed to be suspenseful! So, I think that I'd recommend reading it, not listening to it.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Read gracling first

    If u read fire first it will give away the whole plot line of gaceling and make reading it unenjoyable

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Pass

    Some people really loved and I can see why but this was in the wrong genre. It was fantasy with some twisted form of adult content. Really, the whole sex thing was not necessary. It didn't fit the plot at all and for teenagers, it wasn't exactly a good example. That was my biggest pet peeve with this book. It was a quick, easy read. Maybe if you didn't have anything better than it would be worth your time but for me, it was a one time read. Pass for whatever comes next in this trilogy.

    8 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!!

    I truly loved this book!! It took me a while to buy it...more than once I picked it up, read what it was about, & put it back. It just didn't sound like something I would enjoy. I was sooo wrong!!! I've read it twice now & it's fantastic!! The storyline, the adventure, the mystery, the romance, I love Katsa & Po!! I think this is a definete must read...you won't be dissappointed!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    what a dissapointment

    until about halfway through, i thought it was that best book i ever read. i was constantly raving about it to my friends, and i could not put it down. it was such a deep book, written beautifully, and the characters were so complicated and unpredictable. Katsa totally blew me away, and Po was perfect. in fact, everything was perfect, till, like i mentioned, around the middle of the book. i am thirteen years old, and i read books way beyond my age level, but never, ever have i encountered such a- how should i put this- well, gross, book. omg sooo many parts were soo unnecessary, and were simply disgusting and also, i think, failed to achieve their purpose for being there, anyway. the relationship between katsa and po did NOT need to be developed further, and yet the author writes chapters trying to do just that. and katsa acts totally out of character sometimes, too. it was, all in all, dissapointing and anti- clamactic at teh end. and it was supposed to be aimed toward young adult readers?! what a joke. i would not feel comfortable reccommending this book to my grandmother.
    But i do want to make it clear that until the middle of the book, i enjoyed it tremendously. even now, as i'm writing a dissapointed review on the book, i cannot get it out of my mind. it really is captivating- you will probably find yourself thinking about this book constantly for days, even weeks, after you read it. The entire book is extremely deep, and moving, but i found it dissapointing.though obviously some people liked it, as most of the reviews are ppositive, and the overall rating is almost five stars, and of course, they are entitled to their opinion- but so am i, and this is mine.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You must get this book i love it. I cant wait to start fire then bitterblue i couldnt put it down my parents would ask me how long i stayed up the night before reading it. You shold totally read it I CANT STOP THINKING ABOWT IT !!!!!!! If you dout how good it is read other reveiws. This book is about girl named kast who is graced with killing and dosn't want love but yet falls in love with a man named po who's graced with fighting or so he says! If you don't like this book i don't know whats rong with you!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book!

    This book is fantastic! It's so unique in its plot and characters. If you haven't read it yet, you need to!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    Is this like the Hunger Games? I cant picture anything being better and im looking fir something to read afte ri ginish the Hunger Games. Is this worth reading? Thanks!!!(:

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love this book!

    When I first started reading this book I got really confused at what was happening. As the story progressed though, I got so into it I didn't ever want to put it down! The characters are amazing! You never knew exactly what was going to happen at any time during this book. My favorite characters (the main characters of this story) were Katsa and Po. I love them both very much. I definately love this book, and recommend it to anyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    What an idea...what a dissapointment

    This book has all the makings of a bestseller. The story starts off excellent setting up a world of these 7 kingdoms filled with gracelings with special abilities. The character all had interesting backgrounds and interesting connections.However the praise stops there. I was incredibly dissapointed with this book. The plot was boring and there was an exceptional amount of detail in trivial parts and not enough when it mattered. The romance was lacking yet so was the action. I read it all the way through but i will not be reading the sequel. Would not recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1874 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 94