Customer Reviews for

Graceling

Average Rating 4.5
( 1829 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1208)

4 Star

(417)

3 Star

(124)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

158 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, astonishing

How can I even begin to review this book? How could I get you to trust me and read it, for it is one of the best book I've ever read? I can think of only one way: Must Read. I speak as I read. I'm happy. I'm sad. I'm scared. I'm relieved. I'm shocked. I'm waiting. Yes, ...
How can I even begin to review this book? How could I get you to trust me and read it, for it is one of the best book I've ever read? I can think of only one way: Must Read. I speak as I read. I'm happy. I'm sad. I'm scared. I'm relieved. I'm shocked. I'm waiting. Yes, all this while reading. Fiction, action, romance, friendship, fantasy, love, coping, dealing, Kings, Queens, evil, kindness, villain, killing... What else can you ask for in a book?

The writing was excellent, astonishing. The plot was full of magic and emotions. The characters, oh, the characters; they were unforgettable and brilliant. I can not even pick a character a loved the most. They all were above marvelous. I love Po and Katsa obviously, but the rest were equally amazing. I do love Po! Did I say that already?

I could not have imagined a better cover either, I loved the color, the effects and the eyes! The beginning, the ending and the story were all amazing. How she came up with all this, I have no idea. Needless to say, that whatever your reading preferences are, you have to read this book. I highly recommend it.

posted by SabH-CrystalReviews on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 119 people found this review helpful.

How is this story telling?

To me one of the essential things for a story is plot, and I found it rather absent in this book. It is much more romance than action, which wasn't really what the summery advertised (not that I don't like romance, I just don't think false advertising is fair). The char...
To me one of the essential things for a story is plot, and I found it rather absent in this book. It is much more romance than action, which wasn't really what the summery advertised (not that I don't like romance, I just don't think false advertising is fair). The characters seemed a little flat and far too predictable (something that goes beyond consistency) and they didn't really change all that much. She is supposed to be a mercenary and yet she fears killing, am I the only one that think's that odd? Oh well, I'm not saying some might enjoy it, but I certainly didn't and I don't suggest you waste your money on it.

posted by InkMouse on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awfully Disappointing

    Graceling is like a movie you keep watching because you think it has to get better, but it never does and you regret it by the end. The idea could have really been something but it never amounted to the potential. The book starts out interesting with these mysterious gracelings who have gifts to do things very well, then dips into predictable or shallow characters, an upsetting animal torturing king, bloody hunting, traveling more then needed, unrealistic conclusions, and unimportant realizations that have been mentioned before. Things don't add up in this book and major details overlooked while minor detailed are focused on to annoyance. I read a lot and was awfully disappointed in this book. I don't recommend reading it.

    26 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    what a dissapointment

    until about halfway through, i thought it was that best book i ever read. i was constantly raving about it to my friends, and i could not put it down. it was such a deep book, written beautifully, and the characters were so complicated and unpredictable. Katsa totally blew me away, and Po was perfect. in fact, everything was perfect, till, like i mentioned, around the middle of the book. i am thirteen years old, and i read books way beyond my age level, but never, ever have i encountered such a- how should i put this- well, gross, book. omg sooo many parts were soo unnecessary, and were simply disgusting and also, i think, failed to achieve their purpose for being there, anyway. the relationship between katsa and po did NOT need to be developed further, and yet the author writes chapters trying to do just that. and katsa acts totally out of character sometimes, too. it was, all in all, dissapointing and anti- clamactic at teh end. and it was supposed to be aimed toward young adult readers?! what a joke. i would not feel comfortable reccommending this book to my grandmother.
    But i do want to make it clear that until the middle of the book, i enjoyed it tremendously. even now, as i'm writing a dissapointed review on the book, i cannot get it out of my mind. it really is captivating- you will probably find yourself thinking about this book constantly for days, even weeks, after you read it. The entire book is extremely deep, and moving, but i found it dissapointing.though obviously some people liked it, as most of the reviews are ppositive, and the overall rating is almost five stars, and of course, they are entitled to their opinion- but so am i, and this is mine.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    Is this like the Hunger Games? I cant picture anything being better and im looking fir something to read afte ri ginish the Hunger Games. Is this worth reading? Thanks!!!(:

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    What an idea...what a dissapointment

    This book has all the makings of a bestseller. The story starts off excellent setting up a world of these 7 kingdoms filled with gracelings with special abilities. The character all had interesting backgrounds and interesting connections.However the praise stops there. I was incredibly dissapointed with this book. The plot was boring and there was an exceptional amount of detail in trivial parts and not enough when it mattered. The romance was lacking yet so was the action. I read it all the way through but i will not be reading the sequel. Would not recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS BOOK HAS SEXUAL CONTENT!!!!!!!!!!

    WARNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS BOOK HAS SEXUAL CONTENT!!!!!!!!!!! Be very careful. Be very, very careful. Don't stop, don't blink, just throw this book in the incinerator.


    DON'T BLINK..........

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BORED

    ok i thought whoah this sounds awesome i mean the first chapter and all it's mystery! then it went DOWN HILL!! i mean i was like man this has to get better i am just at a slow part but-NO! it got worse and worse. the charaters were shallow and horrid. ugh. not recommended

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What?

    This book was okay, but only okay. The charecters were pretty predictable and there wasn't hardly any charecter development, like there should have been. The plot had potential but the writing failed to catch my intrest. This book is a good read if you like romance, but there really isn't any adventure, well maybee a little but not enough. But the one thing that I didn't like it how morals are a little corupt. The book started out pretty good, got a little slaggy in the middle and I was completly disapointed in the ending. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Graceling

    Terrible book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    RACIHPCB!,,lol

    This book is really bad:(!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    CookieIII

    Please tell me what its about

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    This book is sexy

    Its crappy

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Lol

    Lol great discription. Whats it about im eleven is it appriopriate?

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    fday

    This book is tr
    Errible i hate it its terrible because __________________ wh fill thee blank in











    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Horrible.

    This book was absolutely horrible. I was looking forward to reading this book since so many people thought it was amazing, but i was greatly disappointed. I continued reading this book hoping it would, somehow get better although it just got worse by the page.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    horrible

    this book sucks!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Very disappointing!

    Book sounded interesting, but was difficult to get into and did not read fluently. Characters were just not believable.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3