Customer Reviews for

Graduation

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hip hop is saved

    nas once said that hip hop is dead. true. with all the ring tone rappers and gangstas and stupid dance crazes like the superman and the snap and roll. ugh!. hip hop was far from dying, it had the notion of being over with in a year. but common, lupe, nas and kanye all saved hip hop from dying it's last death. kanye pretty much stole the show. with a different cover of an anime painting by takeshi murakami. kanye knows how to please an audience. stronger is the best daft punk song that is now kanye's due to the sample. sounds more zapp and roger than 50 cent. on tour he made a massive concert show with lasers, gold plated dancers, an anime robot and more. kanye's tour is a blast. this and the cool shows that rap cannot die. while far from a classic staple like paid in full. graduation is essential to every rap lover's collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Good

    After Kanye's first two albums, I thought that this would be better. I was a little disappointed by the album, but it was still good. I like the songs Stronger and Can't Tell Me Nothing. Good, but to his standards, I thought that it was meh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this album stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome!!!

    this cd is the bomb! all the people who said it sucked u r all wrong. this is a great cd if you dont have it go get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fan Kanye Let Down!!!

    First off let me say that I'm a HUGE Chicago fan! Being from Chicago yet away from home, in the Air Force, Kanye's music has been the pictures from home I need when I'm away! Now after all of that I have 2 say I'm really disapointed in what I heard when I opened up that creative little package the CD comes in! After Late Registration came out a lot of mainstream media publications complained that the skits were unfunny and annoying. It seems that with Graduation Kanye did something I wouldn't expect him to do, he caved in to critics! There are NO skits on Graduation. What he didn't realize was those "annoying" skits upheld the theme of the album. I was SO LET DOWN when I started 2 play my Graduation CD for the first time and did not hear Chicago comedian Dee-Ray's Bernie mac impression either bashing Kanye for his poor performance doing his school years or congratulating him for graduating. From that point on there is NO CONNECTION to the first two albums as the title suggest and for a huge fan of those CDs like myself that was something that was hard to get past. Kanye seems to spend a lot of the album answering to critics about past statements he made or past outfits he's worn! Where's the guy who doesn't give a damn what ANYONE thinks and goes with what he feels??? I support that guy! All and all the songs on this CD are very good and MUCH better than anything that's out now! You have to admire someone who's made it without constantly harping on guns, drugs, the club and stealing someone's girl. But I bought into the hype and RAN out and bought the CD as soon as possible so Kanye's 1st week sells would beat 50's "and they DID! YES, HIP HOP IS NOT DEAD!" and I argued with friends who thought about downloading this CD. But in the end as good as this music is and it IS A REALLY GOOD CD, it was not what I was waiting for and I was left hoping for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trash

    This album is trash. Just heard it last night was like, "where is the lyrical content? What kind of beats are these?" Kanye has went above and beyond what he needs to be doing and thats make beats. Hip hop deserves better than this. As much as I hate 50, he has the better album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Graduation Day

    Kanye West was an underestimated artist when he started. Now he has graduated into a full fledged rapper. Great stuff on this album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Graduating with 5 Stars

    After a brief hiatus from the spotlight, Kanye returns with some of his best material yet. Besides him being one of the most sought out producers of his day, Kanye's music continues to mature and set the trend for the direction that hip hop is heading. He proves this by releasing two singles that you wouldn't expect from the soul-sampling genius. "Can't Tell Me Nothing" is a shift from what we're used to hearing with added vocals from Australian pop star Connie Mitchell that are reminiscent of, but oddly enough are not sampled from a previous song. On "Stronger" he continues the recent trend of sampling Daft Punk while reinventing his own sound as it brings on a more digital sounding Mr. West. Other highlights include "Big Brother" a controversial yet compelling ode to his mentor Jay-Z, "Champion" which displays Kanye's sampling skills at his best and "The Good Life" featuring T-Pain which may be one of the biggest songs of the year, with the help of a familiar Michael Jackson sample. Mos Def & Chris Martin of Coldplay are among other guests you will find at the Graduation. With catchy verses, creative artwork and incredible production, as you would expect you can't go wrong with the third release of yet another classic album from one of the fastest rising superstars of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How Kanye spent his summer vacation...

    It seems ironic that Kanye dropped his latest at the end of the summer, rather then when schools actually graduate. It's a shame too, because with party friendly songs like the two singles "Stronger" and "Good life", and beach bonfire chill-outs like "Everything I Am" and "Homecoming", it almost seems unfair that summer mix-tapes were without them. Fans of Kanye will like the same relaxed and witty lyrical content that Kanye brings along to every album as well as his ingenious produced beats. However some may be slightly dissapointed at the lack of originality and skits found on Kanye's other albums. Still a good buy none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well I don't think Kanye should Graduate.

    As much as I like Kanye west. This has got to be his worst. I listened to Colledge dropout and Late Registration those albums are better than Graduation. There's only a couple of tracks I like. Including the hit singles "Stronger" and "Can't tell me nothin'". But it's OK not great. But just a lesson to be learned when albums get pushed back that means it stinks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kanye made the Dean's List

    For all of Fifty's attempts to exacerbate his rise to the top, Kanye proves he is his own hype machine. His journey has been marked from the beginning and his fans "and haters alike" seem to acknowledge and respond to the man's will to succeed. A true Gemini, West wants his audience to feel it all, from the vitrol regarding his almost fanatical shamelessness to the humanity of his desire for universality. The latest album strays from the chipmunk soul sampling hits of yore and ventures into territory previously explored by the likes of Daft Punk, the Neptunes and the last few productions by the late great J-Dilla, a territory albeit currently being pioneered by forward thinking underground hip hop acts like Sa Ra Creative Partners, Spank Rock, Brother Reade and the Cool Kids. West's range, both in terms of fanbase and vision, is greater than most. While he may be culling trends from the bubbling underground elite, West has the staying power and gumption to cement his claims as timeless. Kanye's riding an old wagon but as far as mainstream is concerned, he's the only one at the wheel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    KANYE DOES IT AGAIN!

    Incredible new album from Mr. West. At only 13 songs, it is a little shorter than his previous efforts. This, however, does not effect the overall enjoyment of this album. Not crammed with guests, you get to enjoy a little more of Kanye's lyrical prowess (as well as production skills). A must have for any fan of hip hop, or good music in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    banal

    This is flat-out boring and monotonous. What happened to hip-hop this century? No wonder it's a dying genre if this is considered the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kanye truly graduates

    Kanye dazzles and delivers an entertaining blend of music once again with 'Graduation'. Although shorter than previous CDs, Graduation features a range of different music, one for any mood. Highlights include the upbeat 'Good Life' ft. T-Pain, the hit single 'Stronger', and 'Homecoming' ft. Chris Martin from Coldplay. "Who could've predicted that collaboration?" Overall, very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Themed Album?

    This is supposed to be the last disc in his "school" themed albums but this album is not a theme album. It fails to finish off what he started with the first two. Gone are the funny intros"School Spirit, Workout Plan, and the fraternity skits". which i actually didnt get tired of hearing like most hip hop intros and hes Not Rapping about school at all. What he does rap about is being the best, and he is one of the top mc's. This disc is also a lot shorter than the previous two, leaving you a little dissapointed and wanting more. This is a good album but comming after his first two it falls short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's time for a makeover

    The rap industry needs a makeover and this is the cure. We're sick and tired of the glorified violence and sex. Let's get some good music. Kanye pushes the boundaries on this record and takes risk. INSTANT CLASSIC!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Graduation is always something you remember

    I was anticipating this album like many others out there, not because of the 50 Cent pulicity stunt that he pulls everytime he is about to release an album. Kanye is a rapper that brings a lot more to the table than most rappers in the game. It's not all about flashy tracks and a few slick punchlines for Kanye, he sits down and thinks, and you hear those thoughts in every one of his songs. Late Registration being his best album in my opinion, Graduation falls just a little behind. It's shorter than his previous releases, making you feel disappointed once it's all over. Kanye's music is inspirational, it envokes good feelings and pride within those who will listen. Besides the singles, great tracks on the album are Big Brother, which is a wonderful dedication to Jay-Z, I Wonder, and Everything I Am. Enjoy graduation night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2