Customer Reviews for

Graffiti Moon

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Graffiti Moon is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed. I love the id

    Graffiti Moon is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed. I love the idea of two people connecting and having an adventure and learning about themselves and life all over the course of one night.

    This book alternates points of view between Lucy and Ed. There are also poems by Poet randomly placed throughout the book which also add a nice touch and mean a lot more once you find out who Poet really is.

    Lucy was a character that I really liked. She's feisty and always says what's on her mind and I really liked that about her. Lucy is in love with Shadow's graffiti artwork and in a way in love with Shadow too even though she's never seen him. When she gets the opportunity to find Shadow she obviously takes it. I think the adventures Lucy had throughout the night changed her perspective on a lot of things and she learned a lot about herself. I'd have to say Lucy is probably the one that learned the most about herself by the end of the book.

    My favorite character in this book though would have to be Ed. I found Ed's character really interesting and I also felt very sympathetic for him. He is so talented and good but he can't see the good qualities in himself and doesn't think he's worth anything. While Ed didn't always make the best decisions I was happy with the way everything ended for him. It's great to see a character you root for get what they deserve after going through a lot.

    The relationship between Lucy and Ed was very realistic and endearing. Lucy and Ed have one of those second chance romances, they went on a date a few years before the story takes place and it didn't end well. Naturally Lucy and Ed were awkward around each other at first but when they really started to relax and open up to each other is when I started rooting for them. Lucy and Ed had quite a few ups and downs throughout the book but again I'm happy with the way things ended for them.

    The plot of this book was fantastic and held my attention the entire time. As I said earlier I love adventures of self-discovery that take place over one night. I find the idea that one night can change your entire life really fascinating. I think what really made this book great though was the characters and the writing. The characters were very realistic and relatable and the writing was so beautiful and descriptive.

    Final Verdict: Graffiti Moon is a wonderful contemporary book that I recommend everyone read.

    *This review is also posted on my blog and my other social media profiles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Any books on Graffiti is automatically in my hands!! I have alwa

    Any books on Graffiti is automatically in my hands!! I have always tried to get the designs going in my
    small town but everybody is scared that other kids would write swear words and such like that. I would
    love to just get one wall and paint something so great that would have everyone come and look. 

    In this book a young girl is in love with a man. He's tall. He has dark hair. And he paints just amazing murals.
    He goes by the name Shadow. And she's in love.

    Except Shadow doesn't know that....yet.

    Plus she has never met Shadow.

    Well, that she knows of.

    If you are a lover of art, romance, and meaning this is a book for you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Graffiti Moon was such a surprise! It is an Australian, young ad

    Graffiti Moon was such a surprise! It is an Australian, young adult, contemporary story about a group of teens and art. Oh, the art! Who would have thought you could read about visual pieces of work and envision them in such detail that there is no need to actually see them with your eyes. I never gave graffiti art a second glance before reading this book, but afterwards I found myself on google searching images and was amazed by some of the creativity and talent out there. The reader follows the two main characters Lucy and Ed while they search for Shadow, an anonymous youth who leaves his graffiti art all over town wherever he can find a wall and no cops. I really liked that the plot was set over the course of one night. It was fast-paced, funny, sensitive, and held plenty of surprises. Lucy is determined to find Shadow and meet him. "The guy who paints in the dark. Paints birds trapped on brick walls and people lost in ghost forests. Paints guys with grass growing from their hearts and girls with buzzing lawn mowers. A guy who paints things like that is a guy I could fall for. Really fall for." The author's writing style is poetic and lyrical and the book features sections of free verse poetry from one of the side characters, Poet. I listened to the audiobook and adored the deep Australian accents. Three narrators were used for the audio and it worked beautifully. I just adored Graffiti Moon and would recommend it to any age group.

    My favorite quote:
    "I like that about art, that what you see is sometimes more about who you are than what's on the wall."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    I adore this book. I couldn’t put it down once I start


    I adore this book. I couldn’t put it down once I started. Very addictive. The story takes place in the span of one night and it flowed wonderfully always something going on keeping the reader entertained and intrigued. The book takes place in Australia, and aside from a couple of phrases and things I didn’t know or understand right away but easily could understand through the rest of the story, it was great.
    The characters are all flushed out and really solid. I could see them in my mind, see this adventure unfolding before my eyes. I as a reader felt like I knew these characters and I became invested in them. The description is beyond my words, they wouldn’t be able to do it justice. As you can tell by the title there is art involved and the way the art and scenes are described visually is so beautiful and vivid.
    I highly recommend this book. It was a treasure that I look forward to re-reading again in the future. It was a really kick arse book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    I swear, Australia must be dubbed the LAND OF LOST TALENTED AUTH

    I swear, Australia must be dubbed the LAND OF LOST TALENTED AUTHORS
    HOW did I not discover Aussie authors before last year?!
    Ever since reading Melina Marchetta's books, I have developed a new perspective about Aussie authors--that they are amazing!--and Cath Crowley has only further proved this!

    I'll be honest, I did NOT have high expectations for this book when I first started. was actually quite hesitant to start this novel because I thought I was going to be subjecting my brain to literary mediocrity. After reading the blurb, I thought I knew what was going to happen. And because of that, I thought the book was going to be meh at best.

    I am now eating those words.

    This book was written in alternating the alternating POVs of Lucy and Ed--which I normally detest, but in this case, it made me like connect with each character so much more. It was made crystal clear from the very first chapter (I think) just who Shadow was. My initial thought was that this would make the book dreadfully dull because the big secret was already out in the open for readers, but DO NOT THINK THIS.

    This book was had surprising depth and emotion--mainly on Ed's part--and the story captivated me. The characters too. The story follows Ed and Lucy (obviously) but also as their respective friends Leo (who is "Poet"--another graffiti artist) and Jazz, as well as Dylan and Daisy. These characters were so.... fantabulously amazing in every. Single. Way.
    Ed and Lucy were absolutely perfect for each other, despite how different they are, and I loved the fact that their love story happened despite the misunderstanding at their very first date (before the events of That Night take place) that resulted in a broken nose. I also LOVE the fact that they're both super funny. And no, I'm not talking about that dry sarcasm that most YA characters use to be Oh So Cool. Their humor was so real, not trying to be all obvious--it was kind of understated, but I thought some of the dialogue was absolutely hilarious.

    Even the minor characters were amazing. They all had amazing depth and complexity and realness. Words cannot describe how much I adored them. Even though the story mainly focuses on Ed and Lucy, it actually ended up giving me three different stories about each couple--without taking away from the main protagonists of course.

    Oh lordy, I could just gush about this book endlessly because it was literally all that and a chicken salad... but I'm afraid that if I continued, my words would just turn into incoherent babble punctuated by girlish squeals.
    Yeah. It's THAT good.

    If you haven't discovered Aussie authors yet or just haven't read this book.... what they FRAK are you still doing here?! Go and get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Immediately inspiring and refreshingly hopeful

    Lucy has been chasing Shadow for years. An elusive graffiti artist, he's left his mark all across the city and all across Lucy's life. She knows Shadow is someone she could fall for. Hard. She knows, finally, she is close to finding him.

    At the end of Senior Year Lucy's friends Jazz and Daisy want an adventure. Lucy doesn't. She wants to find Shadow and tell him how she feels. She doesn't want to spend the night with Ed--not after she has finally escaped the gossip and rumors surrounding their first and last disastrous date two years ago.

    But when the adventure Jazz wants turns into what Lucy wants, she knows she has to go along. Even if Ed is the person who might finally bring her to Shadow.

    Ed thought his life was finally coming together after he left school. Instead it's all falling apart. No job. No girl. And definitely no prospects. Haunted by all of the places he isn't going, Ed leaves his mark across the city walls as Shadow saying with pictures what no one seems to hear in his words. Doesn't matter anyway. His best friend Leo is the perfect Poet to his Shadow.

    Too bad Leo with words than with life choices. Instead of a night spent working on another wall, Ed is drawn into Leo's horrible plan to hang out with girls from school before making yet another terrible decision that could get them both in big trouble.

    The prospect of spending a night with the girl who broke his nose is bad enough. When Leo offers to help that girl find Shadow and Poet, he knows it's going to be trouble. But he goes along anyway.

    As Ed walks Lucy through Shadow's art, the night that promised to be a disaster turns into something else. In a city filled with missed connections and opportunity, Ed and Lucy are right where they're supposed to be in Graffiti Moon (2012) by Cath Crowley.

    Set over the course of one night, Crowley takes readers on a journey through Shadow's art and also through each character's background. At 257 pages, Graffiti Moon is a deceptively short book. Its length belies the broad range of things Crowley packs into this one marvelous novel.

    Crowley uses a dual narrative structure to great effect here (as she did previously in A Little Wanting Song). Chapters alternate between Lucy and Ed's narrations. Poets from Leo are also scattered throughout. With voices all their own, Lucy and Ed's narratives sometimes overlap to show both of their interpretations of events and each other.

    Filled with art, poetry, and humor Graffiti Moon is an evocative story filled with beautiful writing and characters that are achingly real. Immediately inspiring and refreshingly hopeful, Graffiti Moon is completely engrossing and a brilliant reminder that everyone has time to become exactly who they're meant to be.

    Possible Pairings: Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, When It Happens by Susane Colasanti, Paper Towns by John Green, Before I Die by Jenny Downham, The Piper's Son by Melina Marchetta, After the Kiss by Terra Elan McVoy, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins, A Map of the Known World by Lisa Ann Sandell, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful. Real. Heart-wrenching. I absolutely loved, loved, LO

    Beautiful. Real. Heart-wrenching.

    I absolutely loved, loved, LOVED this book! Graffiti Moon spans just one night and is a beautiful story about friendship, trust, and love… and a second chance.

    Graffiti Moon follows six teenagers through the night after their graduation from high school (or year 12 as it’s called in Australia). Lucy and her best friends decide to go out for a night of fun to celebrate. However, Lucy is on a mission to find Shadow, the famous graffiti artist that she feels connected to through his art. Even though she has no idea who he is, she feels like he is the only one who can understand her, and she is determined to find him. Instead, thanks to her friends Jazz and Daisy, they end up hanging out with Ed, Dylan, and Leo. Which is awkward since years before she had a disastrous date with Ed that ended with her breaking his nose.

    Lucy is disappointed, and trying to figure out how she’s going to get away to search for Shadow… until Ed says he knows him and can help her find him. The night becomes a course of misadventures, as they all search for the graffiti artist team Shadow and Poet.

    Graffiti Moon is beautifully written – lyrical with witty dialogue, an excellent plot, and fantastic characters! The story is told by alternating perspectives between Lucy, Ed, and Poet, which I felt was done perfectly. Here’s one of my favorite quotes:

    “I liked that he had hair that was growing without a plan. A grin that came out of nowhere and left the same way.” — Cath Crowley
    Reading Graffiti Moon, for me, was like reading a piece of art. Lucy’s passion is glass blowing, while Shadow paints, and Poet writes poetry, so art has a huge role in this novel. Yet, the story remains grounded by their very real life problems that all teenagers can relate to in some way.

    Graffiti Moon is easily one of my favorite reads of 2011, and I’m so grateful that it was released in the US! I want to read more from Cath Crowley so I hope Knopf Books continues to publish her work here! -- orginally posted on bookandlatte (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GRAFFITI MOON ¿ An outstanding adventure to the heights of art that adds so much more colour to the YA genre

    YA Aussie authors, that’s the new magic word! I’ve read a lot of Aussie books lately and I must say that they’ve indeed got something special down under. Cath Crowley is one ot the authors that have a strong signature. Her words seem to flow easily and I devoured them in a rapid pace. She’s got so many artistical elements incorporated into her newest book out in the US, GRAFFITI MOON. Great!

    Main topic or motif in GRAFFITI MOON? Definitely arts. Lucy, Ed & co. Have a strong connection to arts in general, various artists and to their preferred working material which could be glass, words or walls and colours.
    We are involved in the discussion and thoughts about the meaning of art in life, for your personality and relationships. I am a huge fan of art, I like to paint so I could easily identify with this very dominant aspect.

    There’s glass, memories, dares, paintings on walls. The description of every single graffiti sounded so stunning, I wished they were all painted in my town so I could gaze at them on my way home.

    The chapters are told from Ed’s, Lucy’s and Poet’s point of view. Ed and Lucy are great together. He is such a thoughtful boy. His own thoughts and actions stand in huge contrast to the way other people might see him. Lucy is this very casual art chick. I would definitely want to chat with her about all the awesome paintings and pieces of art out there.
    Chapters of Ed and Lucy often overlap in course of action so that the reader gets the chance to read both perspectives on significant moments. These are only short parts that you listen to twice and it didn’t bother me at all. Cath Crowley applied an efficient technique to offer the reader a double portion of experiencing her characters’ story.

    I was so engaged in Lucy and Ed’s night they’re spending together with their friends who we get to know a bit about, too. The difference between Lucy’s and Ed’s growing relationship, their past and their mutual task of finding someone who’s with them all the time is the most interesting plot string in GRAFFITI MOON. The brooding romance between Lucy and Ed held me captivated throughout the entire read. I loved and enjoyed GRAFFITI MOON pretty much.

    THE VERDICT

    GRAFFITI MOON is an artsy and melancholic, but mostly a very thoughtful read. Read Cath Crowley’s newest US release and follow the pretty lively and colourfully painted story around Ed and Lucy, their friends, lives and the beautiful and mysterious moments of an exceptional night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    This is by far one of the best books I've read all year. Simply

    This is by far one of the best books I've read all year. Simply beautiful. If I could give this more than 5 stars I would!

    There is no way this review will do justice to how amazing this story is. It's gorgeous prose. Line after line poetry. As I was reading I highlighted lines I loved. I began to realize that the pages were more yellow than white.

    There were so many things I loved about this book. I absolutely loved the main characters. I loved the friends and the adults as well. There were no characters here left underdeveloped or weak. The main characters Lucy and Ed were written perfectly. Crowley writes in a way that just wraps you up tighter into the story, makes you completely emotionally invested.

    I loved the different points of view and even when the story line overlapped a bit I was grateful for the other side of the same event. I wanted to know everything Lucy and Ed were thinking and feeling. I could not get enough of Poet's words either. Between the art descriptions (Amazing imagery that is so perfectly described you can feel every thing Ed conveyed in those pieces), the depth of feeling and meaning in Poet's words (even though they were simple), and Lucy's glass experiences, you felt you were truly looking into this world.

    You know you are drawn into a story when you begin to panic about it ending when you're on page 25.

    Cath Crowley is one of my new favorite authors and Graffiti Moon has fast become one of my all time favorite books. I want everyone to read this and feel the way she made me feel. She truly stirred my soul here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Sweet

    It's so amazing and sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Coming of Age Contemporary

    Once upon a time there was a girl who loved a mysterious guy she'd never met before. A guy that painted walls in the night with visions she could only imagine until she saw them and she thought she knew him from his paintings from his graffiti art and his name Shadow. Once upon a time there was a boy, who's father ran out on his pregnant sixteen year old mother and who quit school in the 10th year because he got caught cheating. So he quit and got a job and became a shadow, The Shadow, expressing himself through art saying what he couldn't say in words. And one girl could read what he said. This is their story. Everyone has their own issues they are dealing with, Jazz's parents have had her on lock down studying since midterms and they are away in Germany so she's out to have a good time. Daisy wants a new boyfriend after Dylan, her boyfriend of 3 yrs egged her Jazz and Lucy in the head after school today. And Lucy, she wants to find Shadow because she knows from his paintings they will have everything in common and she has stopped going out since that ill fated date with Ed in tenth year, shortly before he dropped out of school. It's obvious from the way Ed describes his problems in school that he has a learning disability but Leo has helped him get by until tenth year. He got a job at a paint store and worked for a man that was a pseudo father and bolstered his self esteem. But he died and Ed hasn't had a job since then and can't help his mom pay the rent. Even though the events happen over the course of a night, it seems like it is much longer. Not because the story lags or the pace is slow, but because Ed and Lucy get to know each other so well. The chapters are told alternating between Ed and Lucy and it works really well. Lucy's idea of love is romance and that's what she thinks Shadow represents, because he understands art and is sensitive according to what she sees. And for Ed, he sees himself through the eyes of others as a dropout with no future, going nowhere, painting on walls and he sees nothing. But he and Lucy share their thoughts on Shadow's paintings and art and life throughout the night ans some other adventures. There's just no other way to say that it's a completely addictive novel. It was a day and a half read for me but only because I started late in the day. I loved the writing style, the narration and the characters. I didn't say much about them. Leo is a man of words, a guy after my own heart, though after this novel, I'm not so sure. He writes poetry and he's really good. Again, his poems are spare, but to the point. And he's the best friend a guy like Ed could ever ask for. And vice versa. Dylan is a bit stupid. I think he's smart, he just acts before he thinks, like egging his girlfriend. But he's a bit more of a secondary character than the others are. Jazz is a good friend to Lucy. After all, she's the one that gets her into this night and helps her see it through. And its a night she'll always remember. And Daisy, well she's a bit like Dylan in the role she plays, just a bit character. There are parents! It runs the gamut from crap to very well meaning and meddlesome. And there are other adults involved in the lives of the characters lives. There is a very lit bit of swearing an some talk of doing it but that is it. Use you best judgement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Graffiti Moon is Fantastic!!!

    I love this book! Graffiti Moon is the first book I’ve read about Australian teenagers, but they’re no different from American teens, except their slang, which I loved. I thank you, Cath Crowley, for this amazing story of these six teenagers on their last night of their twelfth year, and for the word "wanker". Yes I know what it means, but I still love the way it sounds. Crowley has written a beautiful and funny story, with very serious time-to-grow-up moments for three of these six teens. Graffiti Moon is told from Lucy and Ed's (Shadow) POV, which makes this story prefect to see what's going on in their heads. This is a fantastic story with these teens' last night of high school. The only thing that would make this story more fantastic would be if Cath Crowley writes a second book continuing the story of Lucy and Ed going on with their plans of art school, and the love that started with these two. I would love more Cath Crowley’s awesome writing.

    Lucy is determined to meet Shadow, the graffiti artist who paints on the city walls. In her mind, this is the perfect guy and the love of her life. The last boy Lucy dated was in her year ten of school, who she thought was her Mr. Right until he grabs her arse and she in returns breaks his nose on their first date. So Lucy is on a mission to find Shadow on this last night before she’s off to start college. She meets up with her two best friends, Jezz and Daisy, at the coffee shop. Jezz has plans for this last night, too, and it’s to hook-up with the next guy who walks into the coffee shop. And next guy who walks in is Leo, but he’s not alone. Ed and Dylan are with him. This is where the fun begins with these six teens on their celebration night of year twelve.

    Graffiti Moon is hilarious, but it’s also very serious with teens making the right choices and with sweet, loving romance. The kind of romance that all us girls dream about having with a guy and not ending up with a wanker (just had to use that word again lol) I highly recommend Graffiti Moon as an awesome read.
    (less)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    I can't wait for this book!

    This book it's gonna be really good! The story is very original !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1