Customer Reviews for

Grain Brain: The Surprising Truth about Wheat, Carbs, and Sugar—Your Brain's Silent Killers

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Are you experiencing any of the following signs: Being overwei

Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

Being overweight?

Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

Fatigue after meals?

Feel...
Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

Being overweight?

Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

Fatigue after meals?

Feeling consistently anxious or stressed-out?

Feeling hungry all the time or at odd hours of the night?

Having a tendency to snack after meals?

Having high fasting triglycerides, over 100 mg/dL - particularly when equal to or exceeding cholesterol levels?

Having osteoporosis?

Having problems falling or staying asleep?

High Blood Pressure?

Regularly craving sugar or stimulants like caffeine?

The presence of "love handles"?

If you're like me, you probably answered yes to almost all of these. But there is a common answer that can alleviate these symptoms simply without medication and by what we eat and what is in what we eat. Funny how the food pyramid is where most of us gain our information on what's good for us, but you'd be surprised at how wrong the information has been that has enabled our society not only to gain larger waistlines, but also smaller brains.

Did you know that the larger your waistline is, the smaller your brain really is? Not to mention that the risks of diabetes, obesity, dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, auto immune disorders and even brain disease is all being elevated now but what is in our food and what we are consuming? Evidence now points to those with risks of diabetes and are also overweight, studies have shown that degenerative brain cognition is now being proven that link the two together? If that doesn't shock you into awareness, I don't know what will.

In the latest book, Grain Brain, Dr. David Perlmutter takes readers into the heart of what our diets and eating habits are doing to our health. Now science is proving that gluten is linked to increasing the risks of common neurological ailments such as ADHD, anxiety disorder, Tourette's syndrome, mental illness, migraines and even autism. He discusses gluten's role in behavioral and movement disorders and shows you how simple dietary changes may make significant improvements in our overall neurological health.

He teaches you what's been happening and what we are doing that is literally killing us slowly. But there is hope, he shows you how to begin turning back the clock on some of these old habits and bring us closer to a healthier lifestyle without the need for medication or crazy fad diets. Learn the real secret behind high fructose corn syrup and even why eating fruit may be bad for you. He'll show you what supplements are worth taking, when and why, along with a great beginning exercise and healthy eating plan. He shows you what to eliminate from your kitchen and how to avoid those seemingly innocent food labels that fool you into thinking what you're buying is really healthy when its not.

There is simply so much great information that even Dr. Mehmet Oz has commented that this is"An innovative approach to our most fragile organ." This book is packed with easy-to-follow strategies, delicious recipes, and weekly goals to help you put the plan into action, along with real life stories of transformation to gain control of your life, regain wellness and enjoy lifelong health and vitality.

I received Grain Brain by Dr. David Perlmutter compliments of Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I've been working on my own healthier eating plan for three weeks and found the information in this book instrumental to aid me in my way to a stronger more well balance lifestyle. I already knew that grains were something most farmers feed their stock to fatten them up so it made sense that it would work on us as well. It's great to know that some of the things I was doing was great, but also the reduction of how much fruit I was eating didn't make sense until I read through the chapter on sugar, Chapter 4, Not a Fruitful Union -This is Your Brain on Sugar (Natural or Not). What I read literally shocked me and made complete sense. I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and plan on changing what I buy and what my family eats to ensure a healthier lifestyle for all of us.

posted by Heart2Heart on September 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

45 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel

I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel and appreciable in it, but now after having wasted my time with it, I feel too disinterested to even write a proper review. But as a physician, I feel compelled to write something here to caution others a...
I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel and appreciable in it, but now after having wasted my time with it, I feel too disinterested to even write a proper review. But as a physician, I feel compelled to write something here to caution others about this nonsense. This book can mislead people into harmful approaches to their diet and health. The author makes fantastic claims in his title and synopsis to grab your attention, but utterly fails to make his case with quality, peer reviewed, scientific bases for his dramatic assertions.

Consider: ridiculous pages filled with promises and rants supported by things like a sciencey looking pie chart that purports to compare the fat, protein, and carb content of our modern diet (whatever that means) with out ancestors' diets. Of course, they ate almost half fat and half protein, with a smittering of carbs, etc. Nevermind that he doesn't tell us how he knows that, or more about the so called ancestors (who, btw, didn't the cavemen supposedly die in early age?) Laughable garbage like this through and through. Bad plagiarism of Atkins and others' theories mixed with pseudoscience and fad mania.

It seems to be fashionable these days for everyone and anyone to write a book. Mediocre contributions to literature that lack virtue is bad enough, but disseminating unproven hypotheses with such conviction is just wrong. He pulls dubious 'facts' out of his hoohaw and expects us to accept it because of his credentials. What an abuse of trust.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Are you experiencing any of the following signs: Being overwei

    Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

    Being overweight?

    Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

    Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

    Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

    Fatigue after meals?

    Feeling consistently anxious or stressed-out?

    Feeling hungry all the time or at odd hours of the night?

    Having a tendency to snack after meals?

    Having high fasting triglycerides, over 100 mg/dL - particularly when equal to or exceeding cholesterol levels?

    Having osteoporosis?

    Having problems falling or staying asleep?

    High Blood Pressure?

    Regularly craving sugar or stimulants like caffeine?

    The presence of "love handles"?

    If you're like me, you probably answered yes to almost all of these. But there is a common answer that can alleviate these symptoms simply without medication and by what we eat and what is in what we eat. Funny how the food pyramid is where most of us gain our information on what's good for us, but you'd be surprised at how wrong the information has been that has enabled our society not only to gain larger waistlines, but also smaller brains.

    Did you know that the larger your waistline is, the smaller your brain really is? Not to mention that the risks of diabetes, obesity, dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, auto immune disorders and even brain disease is all being elevated now but what is in our food and what we are consuming? Evidence now points to those with risks of diabetes and are also overweight, studies have shown that degenerative brain cognition is now being proven that link the two together? If that doesn't shock you into awareness, I don't know what will.

    In the latest book, Grain Brain, Dr. David Perlmutter takes readers into the heart of what our diets and eating habits are doing to our health. Now science is proving that gluten is linked to increasing the risks of common neurological ailments such as ADHD, anxiety disorder, Tourette's syndrome, mental illness, migraines and even autism. He discusses gluten's role in behavioral and movement disorders and shows you how simple dietary changes may make significant improvements in our overall neurological health.

    He teaches you what's been happening and what we are doing that is literally killing us slowly. But there is hope, he shows you how to begin turning back the clock on some of these old habits and bring us closer to a healthier lifestyle without the need for medication or crazy fad diets. Learn the real secret behind high fructose corn syrup and even why eating fruit may be bad for you. He'll show you what supplements are worth taking, when and why, along with a great beginning exercise and healthy eating plan. He shows you what to eliminate from your kitchen and how to avoid those seemingly innocent food labels that fool you into thinking what you're buying is really healthy when its not.

    There is simply so much great information that even Dr. Mehmet Oz has commented that this is"An innovative approach to our most fragile organ." This book is packed with easy-to-follow strategies, delicious recipes, and weekly goals to help you put the plan into action, along with real life stories of transformation to gain control of your life, regain wellness and enjoy lifelong health and vitality.

    I received Grain Brain by Dr. David Perlmutter compliments of Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I've been working on my own healthier eating plan for three weeks and found the information in this book instrumental to aid me in my way to a stronger more well balance lifestyle. I already knew that grains were something most farmers feed their stock to fatten them up so it made sense that it would work on us as well. It's great to know that some of the things I was doing was great, but also the reduction of how much fruit I was eating didn't make sense until I read through the chapter on sugar, Chapter 4, Not a Fruitful Union -This is Your Brain on Sugar (Natural or Not). What I read literally shocked me and made complete sense. I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and plan on changing what I buy and what my family eats to ensure a healthier lifestyle for all of us.

    61 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel

    I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel and appreciable in it, but now after having wasted my time with it, I feel too disinterested to even write a proper review. But as a physician, I feel compelled to write something here to caution others about this nonsense. This book can mislead people into harmful approaches to their diet and health. The author makes fantastic claims in his title and synopsis to grab your attention, but utterly fails to make his case with quality, peer reviewed, scientific bases for his dramatic assertions.

    Consider: ridiculous pages filled with promises and rants supported by things like a sciencey looking pie chart that purports to compare the fat, protein, and carb content of our modern diet (whatever that means) with out ancestors' diets. Of course, they ate almost half fat and half protein, with a smittering of carbs, etc. Nevermind that he doesn't tell us how he knows that, or more about the so called ancestors (who, btw, didn't the cavemen supposedly die in early age?) Laughable garbage like this through and through. Bad plagiarism of Atkins and others' theories mixed with pseudoscience and fad mania.

    It seems to be fashionable these days for everyone and anyone to write a book. Mediocre contributions to literature that lack virtue is bad enough, but disseminating unproven hypotheses with such conviction is just wrong. He pulls dubious 'facts' out of his hoohaw and expects us to accept it because of his credentials. What an abuse of trust.

    45 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    This book blew me away.  It was such an easy read, but yet was f

    This book blew me away.  It was such an easy read, but yet was full of great detail and science backing up all of the claims.  I highly recommend!  You cannot read this book and not be motivated to change your lifestyle for the better!

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Seriously

    Eveey decade Americans decide they must eliminate some evil food entirely. Silly, dramatic, unnecessary. Just eat more veggies and save your $ and brain from extreme crackpot regimes!

    23 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended fully researched!!!

    As a healthcare professional working with cardiopulmonary patients with diabetes, "early" alzheimers, obesity, "dyslipidemia" (diagnosed by allopathic providers) among many other comorbities the information in this book is groundbreaking, It's well researched which allows me to share with my colleagues and excellently presented so that I can share it with my patients as well. Consequently I bought several books to share.

    From Behind "Enemy Lines"

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is an excellent book, with cutting-edge research on brain health. While it focuses on Alzheimer's, there are many other topics of brain health being affected by diet - depression, etc. And while the cover makes you think that gluten is the main problem, it is certainly not the only nutrient to blame.

    The book is also highly readable, being very well-written.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite Grain Brai

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite

    Grain Brain, by Dr. David Perlmutter, is a breath of fresh air. Great detail is given about how gluten, sugar, and other carbs cause inflammation, wreaking havoc on your hormones, blood sugar, brain, and waistline. Numerous examples are given of patients he treated with this program and they lost weight, or improved their abs dramatically, or overcame diagnoses like ADHD. Sleep habits and exercise are also covered as they have an effect on the brain and how it functions. I was not aware that leptin is directly tied to the amount and quality of sleep a person gets, but it is the hormone that sends the signal from the full stomach, to the brain, to stop eating. If you don’t sleep properly, this hormone malfunctions, causing a person to eat more than necessary. Perlmutter’s theories are backed up by a multitude of studies cited in different publications, including top medical journals. 

    I learned so much about metabolism and have already started his diet plan. I plan to buy the hard copy book as well, since it is easier to work through than the audio version and I will want to refer often to the instructions in chapter 10. Since there are 3 Parkinson’s diagnoses in my immediate family, and diabetes as well, I am vitally interested in preserving my brain and body and will give the Grain Brain diet a try. Having tried many different diets in the past, I do know that I tend to lose weight only on lower carb diets. I have always enjoyed butter and real fats, so I am looking forward to the emphasis on these healthy fats as well as the salmon and avocados!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Crack-pot nonsense from the world of Oz and other nutters. Not a

    Crack-pot nonsense from the world of Oz and other nutters. Not a single unadulterated fact in the book, I read it holding my sides with ROTF laughter. Because this stuff tells us what we want to hear (life is easy, one size fits all, etc.),  it sells. Please don't be taken in by this silly snake oil.

    13 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Life changing!!

    From the first page to the last, it all came together for me and after only a few weeks of following the plan, i feel better than i have in years! Highly recommended!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Within the last 20 years I have been increasingly gaining weight even though I ate what I was told is healthy and I always work out. This book explains why I am gaining so much weight. At 52 I still can't lose weight quickly but after following this plan I feel better, my brain fogs are gone and my arthritis is not as painful.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Finally, the truth will-out At last the world is starting to wak

    Finally, the truth will-out
    At last the world is starting to wake-up! [Even Dr. Oz gets it.] For so long the cause of body-wide inflammation has been misidentified/ignored, in spite of the research showing the damage done. Now, maybe, we [the human race, especially "western civilization"] can begin to make the changes- start the long clime out of the man-made hole we've put our food-chain into. I've no doubt that the creative and motivated individuals can help find a path out of this food "dark-age".      Kentu

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    This book presents a major challenge to conventional thinking ab

    This book presents a major challenge to conventional thinking about sugar, gluten, and carbohydrates in general. The author musters an impressive amount of evidence that suggests we have not been told the truth about what our diets are really doing to us. It's not simply a matter of obesity, but herein lies a path to better brain health without drugs in our advancing years. In the 3 weeks or so since my wife and I bought and read Grain Brain I've seen 2 articles in major media claiming Dr. Perlmutter doesn't know what he's talking about. The nutritional Establishment is circling the wagons. All I can say is read it, and do an honest assessment of your health and how you feel. As a long time proponent of the Atkins diet I found vindication for my feeling that carbs were screwing with my metabolism in several ways. The proof is in how I feel, and what my doctor says when he sees my blood work improving. But be advised: Dr. Perlmutter's prescription will rock your world as well as change your habits and life. It is going to require a new way of thinking about what you eat, and a commitment to your improved health.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    highly recommend

    definitely got more than I expected. Gave a compelling argument against GMOs and emphasized just how far we have been removed from our food sources. I was impressed enough to follow the authors guidelines as much as I can. Avoid wheat products, pay more attention to the Glycemic Index of my food choices, & buy organic as much as I am able. I will recommend this book to my family & friends.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    His recommendations are a complete 180 from the traditional trai

    His recommendations are a complete 180 from the traditional training I received as a registered dietitian.  However, I stumbled on this book in researching ways to help my daughter with narcolepsy.  The science makes sense and for her, this has been a dramatic improvement in what we thought was a hopeless quest.
    I am extremely grateful that we found this book.  My only reservation is that it seems to focus more on gluten, and does not go into other factors in leaky gut  such as oxylates.   Even though it has only been a little over a month, we see dramatic improvements.  Narcolepsy is not specifically one of the brain disorders addressed, but it is a brain disorder.  The explanations of the science behind this very different approach has helped me to interpret and support her.  The changes in her behavior, mood, and symptoms speak for themselves.  
    Thank you Dr. Perlmutter.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read, must try....

    Excellent book, although sometimes long in the tooth.. Great advice, I picked it up because my daughter has celiac disease, of which my wife and I tested negative. But I've cut out gluten since I bought this book and am sleeping better, and have more energy within a week. I've also noticed when I splurged/cheat with gluten, I have a darker outlook, feel more stressed over minor things... I'm going to try more Dr Perlmutter has suggested in this book, because the small stride I've taken are remarkable

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Do you know that all of us are gluten sensitive to some degree?

    Do you know that all of us are gluten sensitive to some degree?  And the thing that our health system is trying to keep 
    from us is that many of our diseases/disorders are actually misdiagnosed.  All you need to do is change your diet, 
    and you may no longer have the symptoms of ADHD, MS, and Cervical Dystonia, to name only a few.  Of course,
    this is why our health system doesn't want you to know the power of your diet because then you wouldn't be relying on
    medications and your doctors anymore.

    The author of this book is both a licensed nutritionist and neurologist, and the research he presents is astounding.
    Everything he wrote made perfect sense.  Personally, I have Cervical Dystonia, and 3 months I went gluten free.  While the author points out it can take 3-6 months to get all of the gluten out of your system, I have already felt a change in energy and stomach problems.  Now I just hope it helps the neurological disorder I was diagnosed with 3 1/2 years ago.  As a vegan, I have been taking his suggestions to heart and have been adding different foods to my diet to improve the health of my brain.  I have recommended this book to everyone I've seen in the past couple weeks.  Please read it!  It will do you and/or your family a world of good!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Recommended!

    This book was recommended to me by my GYN due to my complaints about trying to eat healthy with no apparent results, my bloated belly, poor sleep, brain fog, and continued weight gain even though I was upping my walking and exercise. Reading this book was difficult because it is reading to learn and obviously written by a doctor. I had to read and put it down and then keep coming back to it until I had finished it. I was very impressed by most of his data and his credentials. It provided me with motivation to try at the very least decreasing my carbs which I found pretty easy. I also was able to add things I actually wanted and continue some things I was already doing. Over the past 3 weeks I've lost 6 lbs, am sleeping better, have clearer thinking, reduced bloating, and more energy! I feel that it is important information that needs to be shared.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Honestly I am beyond disappointed in this book, which I admit I

    Honestly I am beyond disappointed in this book, which I admit I was more than eager to read. Let me tell you why:




    1. His offensive over-simplification of complex diseases. Personally, I have Type I Diabetes. During his entire introduction, he only makes a distinction between the two variations of diabetes ONCE. Otherwise, he lumps them together with the ambiguous umbrella term “diabetes”, never once going into depth of what the disease entails. Instead, he generalizes, writing that diabetes is a preventable disease and that it is attributed to obesity. While these conditions are true for those suffering from Type II Diabetes, it is not true for Type I, which is largely attributed to epigenetic factors. This lack of distinction seems to undermine the complexity of this disease and the importance of Type I diabetes as a disease in coexistence with the Type II variety.
    2. Additionally, in the very opening statement, he claims that cancer, diabetes, and a variety of other diseases were not a common cause of death among members of the previous generation. As I have already pointed out, diabetes is a fairly broad term to be throwing around. For this reason, it is important to point out that he is implying that Type II diabetes was not a common cause of death in previous generations. But I must also point out that it is not common now either. While T2 Diabetes is a contributing factor to premature death, it is often not the cause. Instead, complications related to T2 Diabetes often causes mortality, such as kidney failure, heart disease, among other serious complications. That alone is another over-simplification of this complicated issue. But beyond the diabetes portion, Perlmutter also fails to draw a distinction between correlation and causation. For instance, cancer was not as profoundly deemed caused of death in previous generations, not because of its lack of existence, but more because of its lack of diagnosis. This is because the diseases listed (cancer, diabetes, etc.) often do not have profoundly immediate symptoms such as is the case with tuberculosis, which is quite easily diagnosed by the manifestation of physical symptoms.
    3. In one sentence of the introduction, Perlmutter claims that the carbohydrates in fruit can be equally as damaging as those found in gluten-ridden products. While it is true that fruits are often saturated with carbohydrates, they are not nutritionally equal to gluten products such as a slice of bread. This is because, while high in carbs, fruit also happens to be calorically sparse while being nutritionally dense, unlike bread and grain products. Because this book can easily be portrayed as the pro-gluten-free-diet type, some may draw the conclusion that by including fruit-based carbohydrates into the argument, he is promoting a less fruitful diet as well. Any other doctor will tell you that this leap in logic is irresponsible and unhealthy.
    4. Perlmutter disenfranchises genes as part of human development by attributing most of brain development and health to food consumption and lifestyle choices.  First off, genes play an important role in brain and mental health. For instance, depression (and other brain/behavioral abnormalities) often carries a genetic predisposition factor. One who is not predisposed to develop clinical depression is unlikely to develop such a serious disorder through the high intake of gluten and carbohydrates alone. This argument simply disqualifies decades of research that have linked genetic factors to mental health and the production of specific hormones within the brain (by the way, hormone production is regulated by GENES, not your stomach).
    5. Not only does he undermine decades of gene-based research, Perlmutter also admits that there is sparse evidence to suggest a correlation between lifestyle choices (such as diet) and brain/mental health. So, really, he is combatting his own argument. While there is no direct link between correlation and causation, it seems unlikely for causation to exist without any sort of correlation between two factors. Anyone who knows anything about statistically significant research knows this to be true.
    6. Lastly, he falsely summarizes major diet changes among homo sapiens over the past hundreds (or even thousands) of years. He mentions that past diets were high-fat low-carb whereas today’s diet is apparently low-fat high-carb. This information is false and can be disproven with any simple analysis of the nation’s average daily intake. People today consume more calories than they did previously; most of these calories are from fat. How is that part of a low-fat diet? Also, the majority of American’s have a diet primarily consisting of processed and pre-prepared food which have also shown to be high in fat: polyunsaturated, monounsaturated, and saturated.  All forms are “bad” fats. The only part of his simple explanation is that we do indeed eat a very high-carb diet, full of breads and grains. Overall, then, it could be suggested that we went from more of a plant-based and somewhat meat-based diet (aka high-protein, low-fat, low-carb diet) to one that is full of processed grained, fatty meats (rather than lean), and limited fruit/vegetables (due to over-subsidizing on processed foods compared to natural foods) in our diet (aka a high-fat, high-carb, low-protein, high-sugar diet). 




    So, while I was hoping for a more technical, well-documented and cited analysis of the connection between grains and brain/mental health, I was very disappointed by his dumbed down take on the issue. It would seem to me that he was more interested in appealing to the ill-educated masses than to be scientifically accurate with refutable, well-cited sources. I would never suggest this book to anyone, nor would I recommend this book be used as a source in an academic discussion of such a topic. All-in-all don't waste your money.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    While some of it makes since, the fact that your body runs off o

    While some of it makes since, the fact that your body runs off of Glucose, which are carbs, and what your brain uses for fuel, this is crazy. This book is leading for a heart attack and stroke. We would be starving ourselves, and our attitude if we followed this. A high carb, low fat diet is the way to go. NOT a high fat diet. 

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Finally! An easy-to-read and understand nutritional book, full o

    Finally! An easy-to-read and understand nutritional book, full of vital information and practical everyday recipes and menus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4