BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Grain Brain: The Surprising Truth about Wheat, Carbs, and Sugar—Your Brain's Silent Killers

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Are you experiencing any of the following signs: Being overwei

Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

Being overweight?

Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

Fatigue after meals?

Feel...
Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

Being overweight?

Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

Fatigue after meals?

Feeling consistently anxious or stressed-out?

Feeling hungry all the time or at odd hours of the night?

Having a tendency to snack after meals?

Having high fasting triglycerides, over 100 mg/dL - particularly when equal to or exceeding cholesterol levels?

Having osteoporosis?

Having problems falling or staying asleep?

High Blood Pressure?

Regularly craving sugar or stimulants like caffeine?

The presence of "love handles"?

If you're like me, you probably answered yes to almost all of these. But there is a common answer that can alleviate these symptoms simply without medication and by what we eat and what is in what we eat. Funny how the food pyramid is where most of us gain our information on what's good for us, but you'd be surprised at how wrong the information has been that has enabled our society not only to gain larger waistlines, but also smaller brains.

Did you know that the larger your waistline is, the smaller your brain really is? Not to mention that the risks of diabetes, obesity, dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, auto immune disorders and even brain disease is all being elevated now but what is in our food and what we are consuming? Evidence now points to those with risks of diabetes and are also overweight, studies have shown that degenerative brain cognition is now being proven that link the two together? If that doesn't shock you into awareness, I don't know what will.

In the latest book, Grain Brain, Dr. David Perlmutter takes readers into the heart of what our diets and eating habits are doing to our health. Now science is proving that gluten is linked to increasing the risks of common neurological ailments such as ADHD, anxiety disorder, Tourette's syndrome, mental illness, migraines and even autism. He discusses gluten's role in behavioral and movement disorders and shows you how simple dietary changes may make significant improvements in our overall neurological health.

He teaches you what's been happening and what we are doing that is literally killing us slowly. But there is hope, he shows you how to begin turning back the clock on some of these old habits and bring us closer to a healthier lifestyle without the need for medication or crazy fad diets. Learn the real secret behind high fructose corn syrup and even why eating fruit may be bad for you. He'll show you what supplements are worth taking, when and why, along with a great beginning exercise and healthy eating plan. He shows you what to eliminate from your kitchen and how to avoid those seemingly innocent food labels that fool you into thinking what you're buying is really healthy when its not.

There is simply so much great information that even Dr. Mehmet Oz has commented that this is"An innovative approach to our most fragile organ." This book is packed with easy-to-follow strategies, delicious recipes, and weekly goals to help you put the plan into action, along with real life stories of transformation to gain control of your life, regain wellness and enjoy lifelong health and vitality.

I received Grain Brain by Dr. David Perlmutter compliments of Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I've been working on my own healthier eating plan for three weeks and found the information in this book instrumental to aid me in my way to a stronger more well balance lifestyle. I already knew that grains were something most farmers feed their stock to fatten them up so it made sense that it would work on us as well. It's great to know that some of the things I was doing was great, but also the reduction of how much fruit I was eating didn't make sense until I read through the chapter on sugar, Chapter 4, Not a Fruitful Union -This is Your Brain on Sugar (Natural or Not). What I read literally shocked me and made complete sense. I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and plan on changing what I buy and what my family eats to ensure a healthier lifestyle for all of us.

posted by Heart2Heart on September 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel

I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel and appreciable in it, but now after having wasted my time with it, I feel too disinterested to even write a proper review. But as a physician, I feel compelled to write something here to caution others a...
I was excited about this book and wanted to find something novel and appreciable in it, but now after having wasted my time with it, I feel too disinterested to even write a proper review. But as a physician, I feel compelled to write something here to caution others about this nonsense. This book can mislead people into harmful approaches to their diet and health. The author makes fantastic claims in his title and synopsis to grab your attention, but utterly fails to make his case with quality, peer reviewed, scientific bases for his dramatic assertions.

Consider: ridiculous pages filled with promises and rants supported by things like a sciencey looking pie chart that purports to compare the fat, protein, and carb content of our modern diet (whatever that means) with out ancestors' diets. Of course, they ate almost half fat and half protein, with a smittering of carbs, etc. Nevermind that he doesn't tell us how he knows that, or more about the so called ancestors (who, btw, didn't the cavemen supposedly die in early age?) Laughable garbage like this through and through. Bad plagiarism of Atkins and others' theories mixed with pseudoscience and fad mania.

It seems to be fashionable these days for everyone and anyone to write a book. Mediocre contributions to literature that lack virtue is bad enough, but disseminating unproven hypotheses with such conviction is just wrong. He pulls dubious 'facts' out of his hoohaw and expects us to accept it because of his credentials. What an abuse of trust.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Are you experiencing any of the following signs: Being overwei

    Are you experiencing any of the following signs:

    Being overweight?

    Being unable to change how your body looks, no matter how much you exercise?

    Being unable to lose weight or keep weight off?

    Constantly craving "comfort foods"?

    Fatigue after meals?

    Feeling consistently anxious or stressed-out?

    Feeling hungry all the time or at odd hours of the night?

    Having a tendency to snack after meals?

    Having high fasting triglycerides, over 100 mg/dL - particularly when equal to or exceeding cholesterol levels?

    Having osteoporosis?

    Having problems falling or staying asleep?

    High Blood Pressure?

    Regularly craving sugar or stimulants like caffeine?

    The presence of "love handles"?

    If you're like me, you probably answered yes to almost all of these. But there is a common answer that can alleviate these symptoms simply without medication and by what we eat and what is in what we eat. Funny how the food pyramid is where most of us gain our information on what's good for us, but you'd be surprised at how wrong the information has been that has enabled our society not only to gain larger waistlines, but also smaller brains.

    Did you know that the larger your waistline is, the smaller your brain really is? Not to mention that the risks of diabetes, obesity, dementia, cardiovascular disease, cancer, auto immune disorders and even brain disease is all being elevated now but what is in our food and what we are consuming? Evidence now points to those with risks of diabetes and are also overweight, studies have shown that degenerative brain cognition is now being proven that link the two together? If that doesn't shock you into awareness, I don't know what will.

    In the latest book, Grain Brain, Dr. David Perlmutter takes readers into the heart of what our diets and eating habits are doing to our health. Now science is proving that gluten is linked to increasing the risks of common neurological ailments such as ADHD, anxiety disorder, Tourette's syndrome, mental illness, migraines and even autism. He discusses gluten's role in behavioral and movement disorders and shows you how simple dietary changes may make significant improvements in our overall neurological health.

    He teaches you what's been happening and what we are doing that is literally killing us slowly. But there is hope, he shows you how to begin turning back the clock on some of these old habits and bring us closer to a healthier lifestyle without the need for medication or crazy fad diets. Learn the real secret behind high fructose corn syrup and even why eating fruit may be bad for you. He'll show you what supplements are worth taking, when and why, along with a great beginning exercise and healthy eating plan. He shows you what to eliminate from your kitchen and how to avoid those seemingly innocent food labels that fool you into thinking what you're buying is really healthy when its not.

    There is simply so much great information that even Dr. Mehmet Oz has commented that this is"An innovative approach to our most fragile organ." This book is packed with easy-to-follow strategies, delicious recipes, and weekly goals to help you put the plan into action, along with real life stories of transformation to gain control of your life, regain wellness and enjoy lifelong health and vitality.

    I received Grain Brain by Dr. David Perlmutter compliments of Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I've been working on my own healthier eating plan for three weeks and found the information in this book instrumental to aid me in my way to a stronger more well balance lifestyle. I already knew that grains were something most farmers feed their stock to fatten them up so it made sense that it would work on us as well. It's great to know that some of the things I was doing was great, but also the reduction of how much fruit I was eating didn't make sense until I read through the chapter on sugar, Chapter 4, Not a Fruitful Union -This is Your Brain on Sugar (Natural or Not). What I read literally shocked me and made complete sense. I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and plan on changing what I buy and what my family eats to ensure a healthier lifestyle for all of us.

    62 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    This book blew me away.  It was such an easy read, but yet was f

    This book blew me away.  It was such an easy read, but yet was full of great detail and science backing up all of the claims.  I highly recommend!  You cannot read this book and not be motivated to change your lifestyle for the better!

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended fully researched!!!

    As a healthcare professional working with cardiopulmonary patients with diabetes, "early" alzheimers, obesity, "dyslipidemia" (diagnosed by allopathic providers) among many other comorbities the information in this book is groundbreaking, It's well researched which allows me to share with my colleagues and excellently presented so that I can share it with my patients as well. Consequently I bought several books to share.

    From Behind "Enemy Lines"

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is an excellent book, with cutting-edge research on brain health. While it focuses on Alzheimer's, there are many other topics of brain health being affected by diet - depression, etc. And while the cover makes you think that gluten is the main problem, it is certainly not the only nutrient to blame.

    The book is also highly readable, being very well-written.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite Grain Brai

    Reviewed by Mary DeKok Blowers for Readers' Favorite

    Grain Brain, by Dr. David Perlmutter, is a breath of fresh air. Great detail is given about how gluten, sugar, and other carbs cause inflammation, wreaking havoc on your hormones, blood sugar, brain, and waistline. Numerous examples are given of patients he treated with this program and they lost weight, or improved their abs dramatically, or overcame diagnoses like ADHD. Sleep habits and exercise are also covered as they have an effect on the brain and how it functions. I was not aware that leptin is directly tied to the amount and quality of sleep a person gets, but it is the hormone that sends the signal from the full stomach, to the brain, to stop eating. If you don’t sleep properly, this hormone malfunctions, causing a person to eat more than necessary. Perlmutter’s theories are backed up by a multitude of studies cited in different publications, including top medical journals. 

    I learned so much about metabolism and have already started his diet plan. I plan to buy the hard copy book as well, since it is easier to work through than the audio version and I will want to refer often to the instructions in chapter 10. Since there are 3 Parkinson’s diagnoses in my immediate family, and diabetes as well, I am vitally interested in preserving my brain and body and will give the Grain Brain diet a try. Having tried many different diets in the past, I do know that I tend to lose weight only on lower carb diets. I have always enjoyed butter and real fats, so I am looking forward to the emphasis on these healthy fats as well as the salmon and avocados!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Life changing!!

    From the first page to the last, it all came together for me and after only a few weeks of following the plan, i feel better than i have in years! Highly recommended!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Finally, the truth will-out At last the world is starting to wak

    Finally, the truth will-out
    At last the world is starting to wake-up! [Even Dr. Oz gets it.] For so long the cause of body-wide inflammation has been misidentified/ignored, in spite of the research showing the damage done. Now, maybe, we [the human race, especially "western civilization"] can begin to make the changes- start the long clime out of the man-made hole we've put our food-chain into. I've no doubt that the creative and motivated individuals can help find a path out of this food "dark-age".      Kentu

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Finally! An easy-to-read and understand nutritional book, full o

    Finally! An easy-to-read and understand nutritional book, full of vital information and practical everyday recipes and menus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Read only if you want to live a longer, healthier life!

    There is some scary stuff about my health I did not know and in this book what I thought might be happening inside me is well documented. It would seem I've spent most of my life killing myself, but see how to stop and what to do to heal and live longer and healthier. You may be shocked and you may have a hard time believing it, but the test to see if Dr. Perlmutter and his assertions are right takes about three months of skipping bagels, toast and buns, and using Stevia in place of sugar any and everywhere you can. I've started and I sense changes happening already.
    You only have your life to lose by not learning about the effects of gluten and sugar on your body.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Outstanding, easy to read - limited scientific vocabulary - fully detailed explanations that make sense.
    Lost 14 lbs in two weeks

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Highly recommend.

    Eye opening. Would also recommend that people add iodine (kelp) and either coconut oil or good quality olive oil to their daily diet. Since switching to gluten free diet ,adding the iodine and coconut oil, I can feel the clarity in thinking and quickness in response. Love it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    I was skeptical. The only MD who disagrees with this book may be

    I was skeptical.
    The only MD who disagrees with this book may be one of the old-school thinkers who may be in fear of losing business if the world becomes healthier.  Of course this book and others like it are here for the information to be absorbed and incorporated into helping us understand how our bodies function better.  I have made slight changes to my diet over the past year and have honestly noticed a positive difference in my health due to the information from this book in particular, and I was VERY skeptical at first.  Now I have added bits and pieces that work best for me from other books as well and my health improvements are undeniable.  That's just my personal opinion of course.  Good luck to everyone on discovering what works best for you!
    Now, go out and get some exercise!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    My husbands Dr. recommended this book in an effort to lose weigh

    My husbands Dr. recommended this book in an effort to lose weight and arthritic inflammation. We have been strictly following his guidelines for three weeks and have seen remarkable results. My husband has lost 22 lbs and I have lost 13lbs, we both have much more energy and sleep better. This is a lifestyle change not a diet and as a self proclaimed carb addict it has taken some adjustment, however it has been well worth it. Give this book a look, it will be worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Everyone needs to read this book!

    Stumbled on this book by accident after my doctor told me my many health issues (migraines, GI distress, fatigue, etc) were grain/gluten driven. I immediately started reading & educating myself and saw myself in his book. How ill I have been without a cause, how many years I wasted sick, how many doctors I saw without an answer. I have been wheat/gluten free for two months and only eat naturally occurring sugar in fruit. Headaches almost totally gone as well as stomach distress. When I accidentally eat gluten I can immediately tell by how I feel. As this book explains it isn't just the gluten-sensitive that are suffering adverse health effects, we all are but the adverse effects are exhibited differently from person to person. I hate to sound like a conspiracy theorist, but if one looks at what the food industry has done to our food supply to grow it faster by altering it with additives like gluten (unnecessary to add to food) genetically engineering the wheat to grow faster and hardier & feeding antibiotics and hormones to our milking cows and poultry that gets passed directly on to us, it is no wonder there is so much illness, diabetes, autoimmune disorders, autism, etc. People need to stand up and demand pure, unaltered products from the farmers and the food industry. Educate yourself with this excellent book. I have bought many for friends and family as I want to share this important book from Dr. Perlmutter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    A must read.......

    The truth is finally being told and proof of its validity. Dr. Perlmutter tells us we have had it all wrong....Read it and you too will get pissed off at your doctors, your government, your education system and anyone else who might have influenced your shaping as a human being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    Brought to you by the International Rice Growers Association in

    Brought to you by the International Rice Growers Association in conjunction with the World Soybean Alliance..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly Recommended-WHAT AN EYE OPENER!!!

    An acquaintance of mine ( who has MS) went on the authors diet and within months,had much improved mobility.The book brings to light the role of the harmful effects of inflammation (present in many conditions and diseases). A MUST READ FOR THE HEALTH MINDED !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    A "Must Read"

    Just when I thought I knew it all about nutrition, here comes this amazing and informative book by Dr. Perlmutter. My doctor recommended that I read it, and I am so glad I did. Anyone interesteed in improving their health or starting their children out with healthy eating habits should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Every effective...only half way through and already noticing a d

    Every effective...only half way through and already noticing a difference.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    highly recommend

    This book was very eye opening! I have switched my family to be gluten free and the health issues are dramatically improving!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3