Customer Reviews for

Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    More Than Mere Grammar

    Who needs another book on grammar? Well, to be candid, most of us. We all struggle with the usual problems like lie vs. lay, affect vs. effect, and where to insert commas. In terms of these basic grammar questions, Mignon delivers the goods. In the guise of Grammar Girl she provides simple, memorable lessons in ... well ... grammar. The book is more than just a grammar guide. Go back and read the full title. Go ahead. I¿ll wait. You see the part that says ¿For Better Writing¿? That¿s the real meat of this book. Mignon isn¿t some dusty academic who wants to put you in your place and make you feel inferior when you misuse a semi-colon. She¿s a talented writer who wants to help you improve your writing. Tucked in among the tips are dozens of ways to make your writing stronger and more engaging. She even covers writing for blogs and Twitter. Last century we had Strunk and White as guides. This century was have Mignon.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Grammar Girl is great

    I used this book to do research for a graduate class in education. It was extremely helpful and clear.Used with other resources, it helped me earn an A. I have also used it to assist elementary school students, and, again, it was extremely helpful. The older student enjoyed looking up the information for themselves. I would highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    This is one grammar book at which no one will roll their eyes.

    I love GG's podcast and have listened to every one of them--some of them twice! I always learn something in each podcast, or else she confirms something I thought I knew and I get to say "I was right!" I expected her book to deliver no less, and I was not disappointed.

    While some of the information in the book is also on the podcast, I enjoy having the book next to my computer so if I have a question, I can quickly refer to the print version instead of having to locate the podcast on her Web site... or is that website? I'd better see if that is in the book. If not, I'll write to Mignon and ask her to explain. Ah, there it is; take a look at page 150. See how easy it is to use?

    This is one grammar book at which no one will roll their eyes. It's a fun way to learn something useful. Keep up the good work, Grammar Girl.

    A devoted fan,
    Yvonne

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You Probably Need to Read This!

    This is the first time I have been intimidated writing a book review. One would think that if I read the book this review would be 100% grammatically correct, that just isn't going to happen (I suffer from grammar allergies). Whenever someone starts talking or I start reading about adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, and modifiers all I hear is what sounds to me like Charlie Brown?'s teacher (wah wah wah). I found myself having to reread paragraphs to get some of the information sink in (phrasal verb). This book might actually be a cure for those, like me, who suffer from grammar allergies; if taken in enough doses.

    Reading the book not only helped me learn if what I was doing was right or wrong but also explained what made it right or wrong. The "Quick and Dirty Tips" are great and easy to remember. If your memory isn't the best, the tips are listed in the back of the book "Quick and Dirty Grammar at a Glance". Knowing this could have saved me from reading the first 200+ pages (I kid). I recommend reading the entire book. I will have to reread this book several times and keep it on hand for reference. I'm not a professional or "serious" writer, I just post some book reviews and random thoughts on my Blog. I'm not too worried about my grammar. I just want my posts to not be horrendous.

    I highly recommend this book to everyone and think it should be mandatory reading for students.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    For the first time in my life I know how to properly use affect

    For the first time in my life I know how to properly use affect and effect. Why? Because I can clearly picture Poor Aardvark in my mind's eye. Grammar Girl has done an excellent job in helping me to remember the trickiest grammar rules and in an entertaining way. This book is anything but dry and uninteresting. Even the grammatically challenged will enjoy this easy but extremely educational read! Everyone should own a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I think for most people, reading a grammar book is right up ther

    I think for most people, reading a grammar book is right up there on their to-do list with having a colonoscopy - Do I HAVE to?

    Or maybe that's just my own association, since I kept my own book in the bathroom and read it in bits and pieces. (It does lend itself well to that.)

    Fogarty not only offers the grammar rules, but clear and "sticky" examples that should help anyone but the most boneheaded imprint these rules and guidelines into her brain. Her own writing style in this is light, witty, and thoroughly enjoyable.

    I can (and probably will) spend much more time in the bathroom, perusing this book. Maybe some of it will even imprint in MY bonehead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended.

    Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    A great tool for better writing.

    In the the interest of honesty, I was already a fan of Fogarty's 'Grammar Girl' podcast long before I got this book. This is not only a good informative read, it makes a great reference book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    very great book!!!!

    i been looking for a grammer book for creativie writing and this helped me write like a pro

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very useful and practical.

    You can use anytime, is a quick reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3