Customer Reviews for

Grandfather's Journey

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Great book for a classroom

    This book is written with a lot of voice and it tells a story with vivid language. An amazing book for elementary age children

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Torn Between Two Places

    Grandfather's Journey is a Caldecott Medal Winner with very good reason. The story is told by the author, Allen Say. Say tells the story of his grandfather's journey from Japan to America. His grandfather loved America but missed his homeland of Japan. He returned to Japan to marry his first love. However, he begins to miss America and returns, where he and his wife raise their daughter. Grandfather begins to miss Japan once more and returns. When Say is born his favorite memories are those spent with his grandfather and hearing tales of California. When Say is old enough he travels to America and realizes why his father was so torn between which country he would like to call home. Will Say make his home in Japan or America? You must read to find out. This is a great story to teach children about history. It is very discriptive and the illustrations are wonderful. This book is recommended for 3rd and 4th grade levels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    This is the story of a young Japanese man that leaves Japan prio

    This is the story of a young Japanese man that leaves Japan prior to WWII to see the United States. He fell in love with the country and the people. He lived in both countries, loving each, as does his son the writer of the book. 
    This poignant story of how a man loves two countries is an excellent presentation of how cultures mix throughout the years. The pictures are beautiful and convey the story, showing the changes through the years. The words and the pictures convey the longing of the storyteller to be in both countries. The story is beautiful and, for those who have lived in more than one country, may help verbalize feelings of longing for both homes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    A wonderful story of home is where the heart is.

    In the book grandfather's Journey by Allen Say, the grandson tells of his grandfather's journey to the new world. In the book he is originally from Japan and travels to California, where he falls in love with the land. He is torn and homesick for each place California and Japan when not there. The grandson later in the story grows up to understand how his grandfather felt. Allen say did a wonderful job with the text as well as the illustrations in the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Very Encouraging through the words and beautiful illustrations.

    ¿A good story should alter you in some way it should change your thinking, your feeling, your psyche, or the way you look at things. A story is an abstract experience it's rather like venturing through a maze. When you come out of it, you should feel slightly changed¿ as Allen Say would reply. Allen is well known because of the book, Grandfather¿s Journey. He received the Caldecott Award for this book 1994. Many of his books have autobiographical features to them, and he concentrates mainly on the Japan-American and Japanese characters in his stories. Grandfather¿s Journey is a story about Allen Say¿s grandfather¿s life trying to live in America and Japan. He loves both countries and he desires to be at both places at once. In the book, it says ¿The funny thing is, the moment I am in one country, I am homesick for the other. I think I know my grandfather now. I miss him very much.¿ This story shows people how relationships can be important and how a person can affect our life. It is a very encouraging story and the illustrations are wonderful. The level of the book is third grade. I encourage to people to read this book because I absolutely loved it. It moved me through the encouraging words and beautiful illustrations. Say, Allen. Grandfather¿s Journey. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1993.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Very little

    There are very little words on the pages but it is avery good book it talks about allin says conetion with his grandfather and how they both admiered california and japain and they return to home and he says that his grandfather wants to see california again but he never did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Jnmnj,/;:/@''"?!+-)&,;

    L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Gradfather's journeyy Read this book!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is very moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    READDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+

    Omg this is such a good book i read it in my reading class last week so good and itjust so happens that the forien exchange student from south korea in my fourth gr class has been to the place in japan he was born

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Have you ever felt like you just didn┬┐t fit in....that you belonged somewhere else?

    This is exactly how the characters felt in this story. Grandfather¿s Journey is the story of a man who struggles to determine where his true home is the United States or Japan. The story is told from the perspective of his grandson. After leaving his homeland in Japan, the grandfather travels to the United States and establishes a new home in San Francisco, California. He loves his new home but he still longs for his old homeland. He becomes homesick for the mountains, rivers and old friends in Japan. He eventually returns to Japan He laughs with his friends in his home village and for a time is happy. But in time he finds that he then misses San Francisco. The grandson grows up to find himself in a similar situation, ¿ The moment I am in on country, I am homesick for the other.¿ Because of this, whenever he thinks of his grandfather he understands him more than ever. I enjoyed reading this book immensely and as a future educator, I feel that children can discover emotions that are experienced by immigrants as they move to different countries. Grandfather's Journey is a beautifully illustrated story which deserves to be read by people of all ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Grandfather's Journey

    The Caldecott Medal Award Winner titled Grandfather¿s Journey by Allen Say is undeniably creditable for a rating of a five. This story is factually filled with biographic, attention-grabbing details about Allen¿s family unit history which unsurprisingly draws the readers directly into the story. Also, the information given by Allen in the story, especially the ending, reaches out and touches the hearts of his readers in an extremely emotional approach. The protagonist of this unforgettable story is clearly the author of this book which is Allen Say. The setting of the story takes place both in Japan and in America. The illustrations in this book are truly remarkable paintings, some of which consist of Allen Say and his grandfather. Allen presents the viewers and listeners with genuine facts about his grandfather¿s fulfilling and adventurous journey from Japan to America. This book is classified in the Biography or Autobiography genre chiefly because it contains factual information about his grandfather¿s as well as his own life situations. The theme of this biography is observably clear consisting of his grandfather¿s various journey¿s going back and forth from Japan to America. Like Allen¿s grandfather Allen couldn¿t make up his mind whether he wanted to stay in America or Japan. For instance, the text reads ¿The funny thing is, the moment I am in one country, I am homesick for the other¿. This picture book is age appropriate for ages four to eight. Although, the plot in this biography may be too sophisticated for the younger audiences. This story is astonishingly well written to naturally capture the complete interest of the reader and audience without delays. Allen Say was initially born in Yokohama, Japan. His was sixteen years of age upon his first arrival to America. The author Allen Say has won numerous awards for his works including both the ALA Notable Children¿s Book award and Notable Children¿s Trade Book award for his latest work titled ¿Tree of Cranes¿ namely in the field of ¿social studies¿. Say, Allen. Grandfather¿s Journey. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company 1993.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    A Journey

    Have you ever wanted to be two places at one time? In this Caldecott Medal winning book the main character has this problem. An autobiographical story about a man who travels to the New World from his homeland, Japan, and it amazed by all the things he sees. The more he traveled the more he wanted to see. Finally he returns to his home country of Japan and marries but he does not stop traveling. He moves his new wife to San Francisco and starts a family. As he grows old he starts to miss his homeland, so once again he moves back to Japan. He often tells his grandchild about California and how he would like to see it again one day. Unfortunately he is not able to return so his grandson goes on the adventure for him. The Grandchild loves both countries, ¿The funny thing is, the moment I am in one country, I am homesick for the other.¿ Just like his grandfather, he too wanted to be two places at one time. Allen Say was born in Japan and came to the United States when he was sixteen. He lives in San Francisco like his grandfather once did. His written words and colorful illustrations make this Caldecott Medal winning book a treasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    High Historical and Cultural Value

    This is very good book that brings together two different cultures. The illustrations accurately show the different landscapes of America and how diverse it is. It¿s the story of a boy¿s grandfather journeying to America from Japan where he falls in love with California. Later his grandparents and mother return to Japan and the boy is born sometime later. It shows how you can love two different cultures and long to have both of them in your life. If his grandfather had never traveled to America, he might not have came to love California too. I highly recommend this book especially for its¿ cultural and historical value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    I liked reading Grandfather's Journey

    I really liked the book because it talked about overseas travels. I am very interested in travelling. The historical facts about WWII along with the adventures of their travels kept me very interested. What I really enjoyed were the pictures because the went along with the story. I read the book with my fellow roommates and we all liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Home is Where the Heart Is

    This book, written by Allen say, is a heartwrecnching story of emigrant life. The narrator tells of his grandfather's journey over the Pacific to the New World: America. Excited by the wonderous things he encounters, buildings and factories, farms and the Sierra Mountains, his grandfather settles in San Francisco California and raises a family. As his grandfather grows older, the desire to see his old friends and birthplace grows as well. Even the many songbirds he surrounds himself with, do not quell his homesickness. So, he plans a trip. He returns to his old village and there his daughter marries and has her own son. His grandfather often tells him stories of the mystical place he calls California. He, however, cannot forget the mountains and the life he once had. So once again he plans a trip. Unfortunately the outbreak of war prevents him from seeing California once again; grandfather dies shortly after. As his young grandchild struggles to understand his grandfather's journey, the reader begins to become intensely aware of the many difficults immigrants face, and the heartache that follows, when one has two beautiful, special, "homes."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    The Best Illustrations Ever Seen.

    I really enjoyed this book for the illustrations and the story line. I really was not interested in this book untill I did some research about the author and learned that most of his books have to deal with things that have happened to himself or his family. I also learned more about what Caldecott is. I would tell parents and teachers that this is a very good book to use in the classroom as well as at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1