Customer Reviews for

A Grandfather's Legacy

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Short but filled.

Short, but I liked it. It was very thoughtful and lovely. Honestly, I would be interested in reading a full length book of this.

posted by 9365398 on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good read

About people who helped slaves escapes.

posted by BannieB on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    love

    Love is something most only say about family. But, to open your heart to help others in hard times is a value of love that can't be measured. I loved this book. I wish more people had thought withh their heart instead of their wallets.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Short but filled.

    Short, but I liked it. It was very thoughtful and lovely. Honestly, I would be interested in reading a full length book of this.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Great story

    I only wish it were a full book. Reading about the chances others are willing to take to help his fellow man is always touching. This is very short but I highly recomend it. I will be looking for this authors other works to find out what else is a family thing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Recommend

    A good insight as to the "days of ol'"... stories from our grandparents. It made me remember some of the stories I was told while growing up; some were not as impressive, but good memories just the same.

    It was also a bit of a history lesson on slavery and what happened "back in the day". Makes you appreciate what freedom is all about.

    An easy read and I will probably re-read it again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Short story

    Excellent and concise

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Good read

    About people who helped slaves escapes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Anyone that would give 1-3 stars because of the Length of a book

    Anyone that would give 1-3 stars because of the Length of a book is not being a true critic, nor helping others to decide whether or not to read it for themselves. Please, for the ones of us who check out star ratings under the books, please rate the writing ability of authors only. Thanks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Good story

    God will bless Joe for writing this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    not worth it

    11 pages long

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good short story

    Glad the author shared, more family stories should be shared,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Neat

    Liked it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    good short read

    interesting insight to old times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    good short story

    Good short story. Brings back good memories of sitting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    No

    Poorly written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Enjoyable short story

    A refreshing short story, one that will leave you thinking there really are good people in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    good story

    This is an interesting short story with lots of meaning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    interesting

    There wasn't much to it but what there was it was interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Unsure

    Topic good but not interestingly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Good

    I liked this short story. J... :-@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Short read

    Good story, very very short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3