Customer Reviews for

Grant

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    An Historical Treasure

    While I have read many texts on the subject of Hiram Ulyses (later Ulyses Simpson) Grant, this work outshines them all. By every measure this most readable account of our nation's greatest Civil War general is the best work to date and will be hard to surpass. An entertaining, enlightening and honest account of the man most responsible for the success of federal arms and the preservation of the Union. It is a story of a man who rose from failure and misfortune to greatness and of one who deserves far more credit than he is often given. I hesitate to use the term masterpiece, but in the case of Smith's work it applies.
    This is a MUST read for every serious student, professional or amateur, of American history and the Civil War

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    The complete picture on Gant.

    I've read just about everything out there on Grant. This book is masterful, complete in scope and detail thus putting this great general and president in clear perspective. Written like Grant fought, focused and clear.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I am familiar with the writings of Jean Edward Smith from having read his biography of Chief Justice John Marshal. That book was terrific, and I remember reading it more than once or twice. So, when I ran across a review of his latest book about Eisenhower in the NYTimes book review section, I noticed that Mr. Smith had written "Grant." And that was enough for me. I subsequently learned that this biography was a finalist for the Pulitzer prize as well.)
    Anyway, "Grant" is terrific and illuminating. It completely revises the standard historical sound bites about Grant. I am so glad to have 2 more books about a major American historical figure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Interesting Read

    By reading this biography of Ulysses S. Grant, I believe people will learn new things about America, the Civil War, Reconstruction and the Grant Presidency, all of which I found interesting.

    The book has 3 main parts. The first focuses on the American Civil War. In this section, Grant presented as a somewhat lucky general (at least at first) who won the war because he was more willing to sacrifice his own troops for the greater good than his Union predecessors. In addition, he seemed to be the first general to realize (and use the fact) that he had greater resources than the Confederacy. I'm not always sure that this was always a good thing, but at least African-Americans had some rights they didn't have before because of it.

    The second part of the book focuses on Reconstruction. Prior to the war, it seems that Grant was like most Americans in his view of African-Americans. He seems to have been able to take them or leave them. He lived in a non-slave state, but if he had, he wouldn't have placed slavery as the primary concern for him.

    The war, however, seems to have really changed Grant. he became a lot more pro African-American than Johnson, his predecessor (as president), and Hayes, his successor. Johnson comes across as an all-out white-supremacist, and Hayes comes across as someone who would have done whatever he needed to calm things down in the South. Grant, in comparison is presented as the guy who acted when people did things wrong to the African-American community.

    Finally, the remainder of the book focuses on the rest of his Presidency. This is the warts and all section of he book. As an example, Grant was the President who redefined the Republicans as the "strong money" rather than the "anti-slavery" party, thus ensuring their long term survival. Grant, however, is also presented as the head of a fairly corrupt government. So I guess it could be said that "You pays your money you takes your choice" when it comes to this section of the book and your view of him as President.

    In short, this is a pretty easy read that will help people understand today's America (if they're willing to understand its' past).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    A welcome new look at an American hero.

    No public figure is pure black or pure white. This book goes a considerable distance in rebalancing Grant's place in US history. And it is a crackling read besides. Heartily recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Daddybaby@yhaoo.com

    Adde

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Firestorm

    No why

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Grant

    * kisses*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Nikki

    Lets go in ur hot tub

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Tony

    Next res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Nothing new here

    Smith does a fine job, but there is nothing new here.

    The author may connect a few new dots and he does a better than fair review of USG's presidency.
    Not so much an indictment as an explanation of how events during his presidency were popularized at the time.
    Well worth your time if you are on a plane.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    A Fantastic Book

    Jean Edward Smith is a masterful writer who, like Grant, wastes little time making his point. This is one of the most easily flowing biographies of a 18th or 19th century figure I have ever read. If you have an unfavorable opinion about Grant, this book will in all likelihood dramatically change that opinion. It is a must read for American History buffs, and even for the casual reader of biographies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    Excellent

    This truly is a fascinating read from start to finish. The descriptions of the key battles of the war are thrilling, the attention to detail excellent, the understanding of all the affecting conditions mesmerising. Grant's faults are down played somewhat, but the greatness of the man and his achievements come clearly through. Unusually for a historical biography, this is a truly entertaining experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    A must read!

    The account of Grant seems to be the most complete around. Places Gen Grant in context. I couldn't put it down...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    A new look at Grant

    This is a well written biography of US Grant. It provides a refresh look at his military and political career which was much maligned due to the corruption that existed within his administration. If you enjoy historical biographies, this is a must read... Cigars optional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    A Great Leader as General and President

    At last a truly excellent, all-encompassing bio on Grant that shows his excellence as General and President. Informative, sometimes too laudatory, but a wonderful read. Should be read by every American as it shows the greatness of Grant and what America can produce. I have revered Grant since my first reading of him when I was seven years old. He gets greater as the years and books roll on. The author included wonderful footnotes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2