Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath: (Centennial Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    A favorite but the ending?

    If you read steinbeck you know how his words intertwine lushously to create characters we want to know and feel we do. Ive read this book twice now and yet i must ask what happened to the ending??? Its as if he just decided one day he didnt want to write about the joad family anymore. Like falling off a cliff the book just stops. As much as i wanted to see any sort of resolution to the many storylines and didnt get it, the book is that good. Still gets 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Grapes of wrath

    This book is so boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Hard. Dont like it

    If u have a hard time reading you will not like this book. It is hard to understand. I recomend spark nots fore this book. I have to read this for 9th grand summer reanding and a nother book like this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    The grapes of wrath

    Which may sound like a book about a bunch of angry grapes.
    Its not.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No.

    This book is awful

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    worst book ever

    So boring

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    I'd rather watch paint dry...

    This was the worst book I have ever read, it was boring and there were chapters on basically nothing. I could not even finish the book because it was so boring. I would honestly rather watch paint dry.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Unpopular Point of View

    Maybe my love of The Great Gatsby plays too big a role here, but I can not think of this as the quintessential American novel. The idea is too depressing. Also, I spent entirely too much time waiting for something, anything to happen. It never did. I am not a fan.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Recommended to Vocabulary built and Patient Readers!

    To be honest, the book was at first was hard to get through quickly, and the language at times was hard to understand or to stay interested in. But as far as the storyline went it become more surreal and imaginable, the life questions asked within the book can really get you thinking. The wonderful reading experience from this book was being able to analyze the characters and certain themes that Steinback purposefully put out there to catch with easy notice, I, personally like being able to grasp on to the themes and characteristics of the characters and plot. It gives me a better understanding of the essence of the book. Here are some things that struck me: The courage and stronghold of the Ma Joad impressed me quite a bit. Her character of being the ultimate anchor of the whole family and fulfilling her job as a wife, and mother of many children. Even though her own husband acts cowardly and always "turns away" in shame whenever confronted by her. Tom Joad you can also see a developing change in character throughout the book. He begins with a 'only today and no tomorrow' kind of outlook on life because of his experience in prison. But as he experiences the cruelty of possessiveness of the owners of the companies and jobs in California he begins to think more of the future and how to prepare and protect people and his family. Rose of Sharon also developed in her character, at the beginnning she was just a young pregnant and married lady,hopeful for a brand new happy life with her husband, but having to deal with extreme hardships of death, abandonment, and sorrow and overcoming them with a stronger hope, faith. Oh and by the way! Here's a hint! The true greatness of this book is not shown till the very last page, so I would still recommend to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Great American Classic!

    The Grapes of Wrath is a great American classic novel ,that was a quick read and I book that I loved, it shows the struggle that most families had to face during the 1930s, The Great Depression, and the Dust Bowl. The main characters Ma, Pa, Tom, Al, and Rose of Sharon, all struggle on the long and hard journey from Oklahoma to the big cities of California. They are forced to leave their home, when there all of their decedents grew up and made their home, to find work to try to stay alive. Soon they will all realize how hard this task will be. While their family struggled to stay alive their relationships grew stronger within their family as the time went on through out there long journey. I have found that this book is defiantly one of the best books that I have ever read. Although that it was written many years ago it is still around and popular and a great novel to this day. I believe that John Steinbeck is a wonderful author, and he wrote this book, as of many others, very well. To wrap it up I think that this is a very wonderful book to read. It is written with passion, love, and it interests almost everyone. I would recommend this book for all ages, no matter if you are thirteen or sixty five this is a magnificent book to curl up with on the couch and read. It is one of those books that when you start it you cannot stop and you will never want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A True Classic

    Yes read this book. If you watch the movie you will miss half of the book. I would say that this is excellent read and quick also. It is a little sad and it makes you think about history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book

    The dust bowl migration of the Joad family in the 1930's chronicles a thought provoking subject and is told in an amazing writing style. The simple nature of the characters is depicted without apology. Steinbeck's use of their Southern dialect is authentic and coarse, but it contrasts with their noble approach to life and living. I loved this book and will probably read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    A Must Read

    I read this book for Book Club as times are tough today but after reading the book we all realized that we still have it pretty easy. It took a while getting into the book as the first 100 pages are bit slow. But after that I could not put the book down.

    I heard that Steinbeck followed a family from Oklahoma to California and that is how he got his material for the book.

    The big takeaway for me is it made me think of how Hispanic Farm workers are treated today (2009) and it is a lot similar to how the Joad family and others were treated during the dust bowl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Grapes of Wrath

    I starting reading this novel for an American Literature class and ended up buying it to place in my library. An incredible story about a family's hardships during the Dust Bowl. Wonderful symbolisms and motifs. A brilliant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    WHAT THIS BOOK HAS DONE TO ME!

    THE WAY HE WRITES AND COMPOSES WORDS! THE WAY THE CHARACTORS IN THIS BOOK HAVE EFFECTED ME IS AMAZING! I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER HAVE SO MUCH PASSION AND HEART SINCE "EAST OF EDEN". THEY WAS THE STORY FLOWS AND THE WRITING GOES MAKES YOU WANT MORE! HOPE FOR THE FAMILY WILL FILL YOUR SOUL, AND MAKE YOU LOOK AT YOURSELF! LOOK AT YOURSELF AND WHAT THEY ARE GOING THROUGH AND WHAT YOU ARE. WHAT BAD THINGS ARE GOING ON IN YOUR LIFE? THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU SIT BACK AND SAY " HEY I KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT, AND MY LIFE ISN'T SO BAD". AT LEAST FOR ME! ANYBODY WHO HAS BEEN THROUGH ANY BIT OF STRUGGLE....OR ABYBODY WHO ENJOYS GREAT READING...THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read

    This book is amazing! I plan to read East of Eden and Of Mice and Men as a result of enjoying this book so much. It is truly a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    The Grapes of Wrath

    Great book and very timely in light of our economic and environmental challenges.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Confounding Parallels

    For years I heard about the Dust Bowl, and assumed it was another goofy football activity. When a librarian finally enlightened me and proceeded to tell me about "The Grapes of Wrath" I figured it was another American Literature, "how the west was won novel", and my skepticism continued when I bought the book at Goodwill and found that it's cover was an excellent source for dust cultivation. <BR/><BR/>Nonetheless, when I finally read the book it immediately leapt to the number one position of my favorite book list.<BR/><BR/>Wonderfully written, as is everything by Steinbeck. It is a tale of a family's struggle to survive drought and famine in the midwest and eventually look for prosperity in the vast fields of California. The suffering and persecution that the entire migration endures is heartwrenching and is comparable to the hardship the immigrants of Mexico must endure coming to America.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    A Favorite Novel

    Grapes of Wrath is the fourth book of Steinbeck's I have read, along with Tortilla Flat, The Pearl, and Travels with Charlie. This book is by far my favorite Steinbeck book and conceivably one of the top novels I have stumbled upon. I just picked up East of Eden and plan to start on it tomorrow. Grapes of Wrath has reinforced John Steinbeck as my preferred author and has surpassed all of my expectations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    um.. ew?

    oh, my, gosh.. help me. i had to read this book for my honors english class, and.. i'm going there tomorrow.. and.. i couldn't get past the first chapter. it's about a giant dust ball. what's wrong with these people? how can this book be awesome? it's just plain boring. i mean, the IDEA of it is cool, because i know what the story is basically about.. but i just couldn't get into it, it wasn't of any interest to me. now give me catcher in the rye, and i'll read it three times. a seperate peace, i'll read it six. the outsiders.. don't even start, i think i read that three thousand times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27