Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath

Average Rating 4
( 542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I got bord after the first paragraph...

    I got bord after the first paragraph worst book ever id rather wath dry paint dry thats how bord i was.:(

    6 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Uuuugh....

    I got halfway through this book and thought my eyes were going to fall out of their sockets. This book SUCKS!!!! I read it at night to put me to sleep.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ew

    I HATE this book with a passion.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    The First Classic That I Ultimately Deplored!!!!

    First off, I would like to state that I have a love for classic reads; I have read many great literary works such as Moby Dick, the Hunchback of Notre Dame, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Les Miserables, and Oliver Twist, just to name a few. This was the first classic that I found myself utterly despising. Steinbeck's writing style in this novel was just. . . not good. All of his characters were the same, with no psychological means of motivation, and all of the "villains" were similar and stereotypical. The author has awful grammar, in areas in which he wasn't using the literary technique of vernacular, he would make up words (again, not in the dialogue), such a case his inventing the term "firelighted". In addition, he would forget what was occurring throughout the novel, such a case being where Tom asks where he can wash in the peach farm, at which point the officials answer shrewdly, then, a page later, Tom goes and asks his mother the same exact question! In addition, I didn't find that the author used too much description throughout the novel, as was said in numerous other reviews, but, rather, he used too little, people having to rely instead on dialogue. I'm fine with realism, I have read many nonfiction-based books, but without the backing of psychological cause there lies very little literary gratification. A terrible book, I thought, biased, with little character development, and depth that matches that of a tidal pool. Do not stereotype all classics on the basis of this book!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Most Boring Book I've EVER Read!

    I read this book solely because I was told to by one of my teachers. I tried very hard to keep an open mind on how this book was going to be, after all, it is a clasic. Soon after opening this book, however, I started to question why anyone would want to read this. I was warned in the beginning that this book was very dull, though it was required to read. I seriously took a month to read three chapters. I had desperatly hoped that my teacher would be wrong, but to my disheartening, I found that he was absolutly correct.
    This book is a about Tom Joad, though about half way through the first 100 pages, you start to question that because John Steinbeck starts refering to him as 'Tom' as aposed to what he had previously been calling him, 'Joad'. That confused me tremendusly and made me start to question if he just did that because half way through he realized he was writing about four Joads. On the actual character of Joad, he was self-centered, rude, and very immpolite. Gradually he got better as the story progressed, but he still made it very hard to want to read about him. The other characters aren't really someone who I would want to read about either, especally his sister, she gets unbareable at times. The characters, however, are only one small part as to why I did not enjoy this book.
    The writing style I did not enjoy for two reasons: it seemed very pointless to put in the exact way they spoke, and because he had chapters on nothing, basicly. Steinbeck actually included how the different characters spoke so you would only get half of the word and like ten commas saying 'we don't say this letter so you shouldn't read it'. It drove me absoultly bonkers trying to figure out what it was that the characters were saying. I also didn't like the writing style because what Steinbeck's style of writing is that you have a chapter of story and a chapter of backround information that only partly relates to the story and for the most part has no relevance to it. Quite honestly, if I wasn't going to be quizzed on what those chapters said, I wouldn't of bothered to read them, they really didn't add anything to the story for me.
    Steinbeck's world choice was very mature and very crude. What he would do is string out an intire sentence of swear words, and then make a comment on absoutly nothing. If you have a problem with swearing, don't go anywhere near this book. Steinbeck's word choice rivals both Stephen King and J.D. Stalinger. The word choice, when it isn't all cussing, is very simple and very downward on education which did capture the characters. He didn't make a man that just spent four years in jail sound like an Ivy Leauge Scholar, which was very good in that aspect.
    In all, would much rather have not read this book. It was absolutly terrible and it made you want to throw the book at John Steinbeck. The book was boring, but it gave you a glimpse into the 1930's. This book is good for history people with a very good attention span, not so good for students.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Not the best book in the world

    I had to read this book for a summer assignment and it bored me to tears. Steinbeck uses so much description and detail that you get lost and forget what is happening in the story. I am not kidding you when i say that there is an ENTIRE chapter devoted to a box turtle crossing the street. I also did not like the end, because I felt like there was no real conclusion of the story (maybe there was closure for Rose of Sharon, but what about the other characters?). All in all, i would not recommend this book if you are looking for a quick, satisfying, and easy read because it is the exact opposite of this.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    complete crap!

    I had to read this book for a summer reading assignment and it is actually MORE entertaining to watch grass grow. One of the worst books I have ever had to read.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Grapes of wrath

    This book is so boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Hard. Dont like it

    If u have a hard time reading you will not like this book. It is hard to understand. I recomend spark nots fore this book. I have to read this for 9th grand summer reanding and a nother book like this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    The grapes of wrath

    Which may sound like a book about a bunch of angry grapes.
    Its not.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No.

    This book is awful

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    worst book ever

    So boring

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    I'd rather watch paint dry...

    This was the worst book I have ever read, it was boring and there were chapters on basically nothing. I could not even finish the book because it was so boring. I would honestly rather watch paint dry.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    um.. ew?

    oh, my, gosh.. help me. i had to read this book for my honors english class, and.. i'm going there tomorrow.. and.. i couldn't get past the first chapter. it's about a giant dust ball. what's wrong with these people? how can this book be awesome? it's just plain boring. i mean, the IDEA of it is cool, because i know what the story is basically about.. but i just couldn't get into it, it wasn't of any interest to me. now give me catcher in the rye, and i'll read it three times. a seperate peace, i'll read it six. the outsiders.. don't even start, i think i read that three thousand times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Stupid

    Stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Question

    How many pages are there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Sghjhgyjhg

    It's sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo boring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    What is it about?

    Could anyone give me a short summary of exactly what this book is about? I am looking for new books to read and found this one in the "Classics" section in my NOOK Shop. B&N (or whover wrote the review/summary) is not very clear on the plot of the book; just the author. Thanks to whoever could do that for me!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Is it good ?

    My sis read the grapes of wrath but i dont know if its actually good bcause my sister likes wierd things sometimes.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    lengthy

    I appreciate the historical accuracy of this book and many biblical allusions, extended metaphors, and dynamic characters, but I didn't like it all at once. It's a classic, so I had to read it, and it sure did take a while. I'm torn on the ending... in one way it was brave for Steinbeck to write such a depiction, but I still felt unclosed after reading it. and, it's not a good idea to read the intro in this version because it gives away the ending! grrr.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3