Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath

Average Rating 4
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Save Yourselves

    I have to say right now that I really hate being the negative reviewer, but in no better words, this book totally stunk. I had to read it for junior English and thought that all 544 pages (in the copy we got stuck with, 619 (I remember every awful page)) were about as interesting as sitting in the grass and letting ants bite your toes. I should not have to read a sentence, replace the horrendous verbage with real-people words, and then reread the sentence I construct in my head. Yes, I know, it's literature and he wrote how the people spoke. So? Had the story had a little more real meat to it, I might have been able to overlook it. Might. The characters were irritating - I wanted to throttle most of them. I swore that if the turtle in the early chapters got run over that I would throw the book down and stoop to reading SparkNotes. Sadly for my sanity, the turtle was delivered. And, seriously, the end was just creepy. Really creepy. They teach this in schools, and then they wonder why so many teens have suicidal thoughts. This is why - depressing books that glorify things people are usually taught to avoid, but I probably shouldn't get into philosophy or psychology.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Unpopular Point of View

    Maybe my love of The Great Gatsby plays too big a role here, but I can not think of this as the quintessential American novel. The idea is too depressing. Also, I spent entirely too much time waiting for something, anything to happen. It never did. I am not a fan.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Omg

    Haha my favorite tv show was talking about this book i didnt think it was a real book! Lol that is funny.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Just Not a Book for Me. And the Ending Was All Too Strange

    The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, is the story of a young man's family trying to travel to California from Oklahoma during the dust bowl. Along the way they are faced with tragedy and death at every turn. Overall, this book wasn't terrible, and it had many good qualities, but after a while, you get sick of Steinbeck's use of the dialect. At some points it is just too hard to understand due to all of the apostrophes. All of that aside, the ending is scarring, and I will never be the same person for reading it. I wish that he would have just ended the book right before that, and not had such a truly revolting ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical perspective, slow read.

    Provides a great proletariat point of view during the great depression in the United States. In this way, the book is interesting, yet it lacks momentum and entertainment value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Pretty good, but not great

    this had an interesting plot but it was ultimately a slow-mover. i was trying to get into the classics and turned to this book, but found it very unsatisfying. additionally, the ending confused me. definately not for twenty-first centuury readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What's Old is New

    I think The Grapes of Wrath is worth a read simply because of how history is repeating itself. It is almost frightening how much what is happening to our country (USA) now is what happened in this book, which is based on fact. In a lot of ways I think we are going to be worse off now, because unlike the characters in this book, we are not that strong and have lost our sense of family. To those people who say this book makes stealing and stuff look okay... just wait till it is you starving to death.
    This book is kind of slow at times. Steinbeck is not one to 'get to the point'. He is a great writer though, and all of his words mean something. Every other chapter is a kind of 'flash around' of what is going on outside of the Joads. The Joads being the main family. All of the characters are brilliant and you know them well.
    Some people complain about the ending. I personally think it is great. It could not have ended in any other way and still flow. If you are reading this for high school, read it when you get out. You will take more from it. I doubt many high schoolers would get the real meaning of this book. It is deep and at this point in time, frightening.
    I gave it two stars because I thought it was kind of slow and not really my type of book. But I did like it a lot and this you should give it a chance! Don't let the length discourage you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    It's Not My Type of Book

    I thought this book had some good topics but then again some of the other chapters had some unplesant ideas in this book. Then again I really enjoyed reading it in class. It gave me a better understanding about the 1930s.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    No ending

    I liked the book for the author's ability to give you a mental picture of the people and the setting. The author could have written such a wonderful story had he finished it. It did not have to be a fairy tale ending but something other then it was. It left you, the reader out there wondering what happened next. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    The Grapes of Wrath

    I was very interested to read this book. I had heard many good things about it and yet to my dismay was upset upon reaching the end. I am more intersted in books such as 'One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest' and 'The Bell Jar' so clearly I was going on a recommendation and not so much my own.I would recommend it to those who enjoy other Steinbeck novels or even intrest in 30's genre novels but if your looking for laughs ...I would stay clear of this one.Tragedy hits more times than one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2002

    Rated R

    We had to read this book in school (im in 9th grade English !! honors/ teir 4) and oh my goodness! all the cussing and sxual terms with the preacher at the beginning totally made me want to never look at the book again! however, as you go on, their journey and problem let you realte the characters to yourslef and people you know. so its a pretty good book. rated R! oh my goodness they MAKE us read this in school but were not ALLOWED to read Bibles in school?!?! whats the deal??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    Grapes tast bad

    I really did not like the book at all. It was long and boring and not too much fun at all. It seemed like it took me forever to get through the book. I do not know why I read it or what I was supposed to get out of it. Read this book only if you really really want to kill some time and wast yuour life. Maybe if i was in prison i might like to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    Grapes of Wrath

    I did not enjoy the book, Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck. I felt the characters were not fully developed individuals, but shells of characters. The dialogue in the novel was more a decoratory gesture than discriptive, meaningful conversation. Some of the potentialally poignent events in the book were not well orchestrated. Steinbeck did not follow through and fully develope the events leaving the reader high and dry, totally unsatisfied. I found myself turning the pages, thinking, 'This has to get better,' but in the end I felt my time would have been better spent reading the dictionary. I needed a little mental stimulation after that novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2