Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath

Average Rating 4
( 542 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    $13 for a 75 year old ebook! Come On! How can these publishers g

    $13 for a 75 year old ebook! Come On! How can these publishers get away with such a ripoff. Thanks, but no thanks, I'll get this one at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Moderately Interesting Book

    This book was assigned reading for my Junior Year English Class. The book was ok and I can see why it is noted as a classic novel. But overall the plot was somewhat boring and slow moving at some points. Would recommend for readers interested in the subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    The councel

    She looked at panther. " how can you suggest tht. Capricprn is weak and dimwitted."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    Pretty Good

    The Grapes of Wrath is a story about the struggles of the lives of lower class people trying to make a living. For this reason I think that the title is a good one because it basically sums up the entire book within itself. The Joads and many other families move to California where they think everything is going to be wonderful, and they dream about the grapes there and the vineyards, but the reality there is that life is no better than it was in California, and even tends to be a little worse. I think that Steinbeck wrote this for all of the people in America who were going through difficult times, to show that everyone has rough patches and has to try to find a way out of them. In the book Steinbeck often uses dialog without showing who the speaker is to show that the situation is true for many characters, not just a specific one. He also likes to parallel other things, like his own book Cannery Row, and also the Great Depression that occurred right before he wrote the book. I think the most exciting part of the book was when the Joads were making their way to California because there were so many events being waited for, and even though this was a harsh time too because of the deaths of the family pet, grandma, and grandpa, Steinbeck makes the reader wait to find out if the Joads will actually make it the California, and if they will have success once there. The most interesting part of the book was the very beginning. I liked how all of the background was given about Tom Joad and his past, and it was interesting to see how he dealt with coping with his situation, and also being reunited with his family after four years of being in prison. Although the book was pretty good overall, I did not like the ending. I thought that the Joads were going to end up successful after all of the pain and suffering they went through, but they really ended up worse than they ever were. They lost family members and they even have to steal in order to just be able to feed their family. Basically it showed that the family should have toughed it out in California and sent out a message to just be happy with what you have instead of trying to have something better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I didn't get where this was going.

    I thought I had 40 pages to the conclusion when suddenly it ended and there was 20 plus pages of definitions. Very abrupt ending that left me wondering what happened to the Joad family.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    A Bit Odd

    I read this book 15 years ago, and just recently read it again. I recalled, as I began the book, that I did not like it. After finishing it a second time, I see why. First of all, it is too descriptive. There are long-winded accounts of people - like head-to-toe details - that the reader has to trudge through. Secondly, the way people talk is annoying - the pronoun 'she' is used to describe every dang thing imagineable. I couldn't tell sometimes if 'she' was a person, place or thing. Thirdly, the ending was ridiculous. You can't end a book like that and impress me. I have no idea why The Grapes of Wrath seems to be hailed as Steinbeck's greatest book. I do like his other writings - I just don't see how this one is so great. There are ok parts to the book. I appreciated the smaller chapters that told about the natural surroundings, such as the animals and the land. Chapter 25 was the best part of the whole book. But I still can't say I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Great Book

    This book was great, if you like history then this is the book for you. it includes historical information about the dust bowl and the struggle of survival in the harsh era. this book was also easy to follow, and is a great book that is excellent for the intermediate level readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    It's an ok book

    I thought the story was really good, yet it was very long and detailed, which makes it boring. It was a good story though and worth reading. It tells a lot about the great depression in terms of how it really effected people. It's a sad story, so if you don't like to read about depressing things, I wouldn't recommend this book. Other than that, it's a great story about a family trying to survive. I enjoyed reading the story, although the ending disappoint me greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    grapes of wrath:a pleaser

    The book The Grapes of Wrath written by John Steinbeck is made to be as colorful as a kaleidoscope. The intricate design and the detail of this novel is astonishing. The book had much controversy over it. But to Steinbeck it was well worth it for what he meant people to get out of it. Many of the characters are extremely colorful and dynamic. The main conflict in this story is plainly money because the book was also essentially written as a plea for the land owners of California to be more tolerant. Told from a viewpoint of a migrant family, the Joads, who are forced off their land in Oklahoma and who seek employment in California. They are a beautifully caring family that starts off only taking care of themselves, to helping others as unfortunate as them that they meet on their strenuous journey to California. Steinbeck uses a style of writing in this novel that capture the basic elements of the story. He uses dialect ot capture the feelings and realism of the characters speech. Being extremely straightforward and blunt was Steinbecks style of writing and composing this amazing story. Everyone in the family of Joads plays and important role in the meaning of the story. The author is trying to portray a theme of love, family, unity, and a complete feeling togetherness. The hardships that the Joads triumph through are the enduring and strenuous signs of how strong their love for each other is. But the characters weren¿t the only strong things in the story. Another element that Steinbeck in renowned for in his writing style is his extremely descriptive writing. You could practically picture in your mind everything that was happening. It was just like watching an imaginary movie. Every setting that the author tried to portray was done with an amazing finesse to it. All the characters parts, strengths, weaknesses, and places were very well rounded. Even though some parts of the books droned a little too much with picture it could have had a little more action in my opinion. Though very controversial it was one of Steinbecks greatest works. the conflicts that the characters went through were extremely realistic and the transitions of themes and chapters were amazingly beautiful. Every theme was revealed very slowly as to not give away anything or foreshadow too much. The little humor that there was in the book was sort of bland but still had a slight presence of hilarity. The book with its awe in description would be an extremely good beach reader. The book really makes you think about the hardships of depression and makes you feel everything that the Joads are feeling at the time. Some parts are dull but somewhat interesting in a weird sort of fashion. If you like a lot of action then there is probably something better than this. But if you like action mixed in with a whole lot of other readings then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    Overrated, but still a good book.

    John Steinbeck is a wonderful author, but I feel that this book is overrated because it is such an American tragedy. The families are great and the story is nice, but it really isn't earth shattering and life changing. It's worth a read if you're into "classics". The Great Gatsby is more worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    Okay but not great

    'Grapes of Wrath' is a book that tells a story, both a historical one and a personal one. I enjoyed reading the book, I think it captures the true ordeal that families went through during the depression. I liked the mid-chapters that give the reader a chance to break from the story line and focus more on the purpose of the novel, to see the difficulties many were living. Steinbeck loads the novel with heavy symbolizm, making the reader question the authors true intentions of what he is trying to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2000

    Grapes..gives mixed feelings

    To tell you the truth, I have ambiguous feeling about Grapes of Wrath. The story seems realistc and believable, but on the other hand, i was tired out by the relentless and excessive elaboration. I find this story wearisome when I was reading it. This story depicts the life of Americans, especially the people from Oklahoma, during Dust Bowl era in detail and vividly, but I feel this story could've been shorter and would've still have the same effect.Steinbeck went in detail and elaborated many events that happened and sometimes it just lost my interest and attetion. There were chapters that were descriptive aboutthe situations of the 'Okies';there was a detailed journey of the Joads; the characters talked about their views on life, and there were details about the places the Joads stayed,etc. Sometimes you get anonymous characters talking among themselves, which makes the readers feel a little lost in the midst of their conversations. Even though those were the weaknesses of the book, nevertheless it taught us morals, family values and friendship. Religion was also shown how it effcted people during that time. This story does not have much action to it, and the story line is ok. I felt tired after reading this 600-page long story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 1999

    Sour Grapes

    Although this supposedly demonstrates a good lesson in life, I thought this book stunk. For a great American classic novel, it stunk. Well, you might like it, if you like being depressed, bored and generally sucked into an oblivion of superfluous detail and grueling plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3