BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath

Average Rating 4
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    At times, I had to make myself plow through this one. It was very depressing, made more so by the fact that things like what the Joads went through actually happened. I'm 'anti-spoiler', so I won't give away the ending, but let me just say that the ending hit me hard. It's as if the whole story came back to slap me in the face, making the power of it much stronger. I'm glad I finished it.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Amazing Book!

    I had to read this book for a tenth grade summer assignment. To tell you the truth, I thought it was going to be terribly boring? I thought, "What adventures could this family possibly go through that would be worth putting into a book?" I was so wrong! This book is amazing. Not difficult to understand; definitely an ideal American Literature novel.

    The only thing I disliked about the book was the chapters in between that described in GENERAL the experiences of migrant farmers during the Great Depression. Some of them were interesting, but in general, boring and hard to understand. But don't let that stop you from reading the book. It's great!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Recommended to Vocabulary built and Patient Readers!

    To be honest, the book was at first was hard to get through quickly, and the language at times was hard to understand or to stay interested in. But as far as the storyline went it become more surreal and imaginable, the life questions asked within the book can really get you thinking. The wonderful reading experience from this book was being able to analyze the characters and certain themes that Steinback purposefully put out there to catch with easy notice, I, personally like being able to grasp on to the themes and characteristics of the characters and plot. It gives me a better understanding of the essence of the book. Here are some things that struck me: The courage and stronghold of the Ma Joad impressed me quite a bit. Her character of being the ultimate anchor of the whole family and fulfilling her job as a wife, and mother of many children. Even though her own husband acts cowardly and always "turns away" in shame whenever confronted by her. Tom Joad you can also see a developing change in character throughout the book. He begins with a 'only today and no tomorrow' kind of outlook on life because of his experience in prison. But as he experiences the cruelty of possessiveness of the owners of the companies and jobs in California he begins to think more of the future and how to prepare and protect people and his family. Rose of Sharon also developed in her character, at the beginnning she was just a young pregnant and married lady,hopeful for a brand new happy life with her husband, but having to deal with extreme hardships of death, abandonment, and sorrow and overcoming them with a stronger hope, faith. Oh and by the way! Here's a hint! The true greatness of this book is not shown till the very last page, so I would still recommend to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    A BIT WORDY BUT GOOD STORY OVERALL.i HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK

    A BIT WORDY BUT GOOD STORY OVERALL.i HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR ANY AND ALL TROUBLE TEEMS AND YOUNG KIDS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great history

    Poor okies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Bree

    I admit this book starting off very sloooow but it did pick up the pace a bit. Anyway as long as you open your mind and actually start to understand the great depression and hiw the tenants were being oppressed by the banks and the symbols used in this book like the turtle in the first few pages symbolizing how the migrants kept moving and the significance of the "I vs We" then you'll get a good insight. This would be a book i'll read for historical preferences but if you want to lay down and enjoy, then this is not the right book. You'll most likely read this at school (probably sophomore year), so you dont have much of a choice anyway

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    After the collapse of Wall St. and the great depression of the t

    After the collapse of Wall St. and the great depression of the twenties, this explores what it might have been like from the perspective of farmers from Oklahoma, Okies, as they travelled westward ravaged from the dust storm. It explains the viewpoint of the farmer, who blamed weather events on the poor economy and hoped that politicians and bankers would help him out. With his son recently out of jail and times very rough, both very poor and the entire community hungry from lack of crops by the dust bowls they hear that California is the new paradise. The book almost seems like the Beverly Hillbillies, the entire family with all their belongings hitched onto a car hoping for opportunity and a dream.

    This is kind of a depressing novel, as anyone can imagine, since their family is desperately poor and looking for any change of optimism to help them through the bleak times. They were living day by day, struggling intensely, and if you read the novel the entire way through really shows how bad that times can get during bad harvests for a farmer. Even though the book only chronicles about a month or two journey from the mid-west to the western coast it seems like an eternity. However, the end of the book does improve as they are given menial jobs to help them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Though depressing its a great american clasic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Good book

    This is a very good book about the struggles of life in the late 1930's during the time of the dustbowl. However there are many bad words that made me a little uncomfortable, so I wouldn't reccomend it for young kids. Overall I have no regrets reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Turtletar

    *purrs*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Set during the Great Depression, the novel focuses on the Joads,

    Set during the Great Depression, the novel focuses on the Joads, a poor family of tenant farmers driven from their Oklahoma home by drought, economic hardship, and changes in financial and agricultural industries. Due to their nearly hopeless situation, and in part because they were trapped in the Dust Bowl, the Joads set out for California. Along with thousands of other "Okies", they sought jobs, land, dignity, and a future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    english composition

    I picked this book up as an english assignment. I thought I wasn't going to like it, but I was pleasantly surprized. The detail in this book is amazing, you can feel the heat and taste the dust. The emotions of the families are raw and true to the time. The characters evolve thoughout each chapter. Just read it and you will understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    My Review for The Grapes Of Wrath

    I enjoyed reading The Grapes of Wrath very much. The book made everything come to life I felt as if I was experiencing everything that the people experienced throughout the book. This novel made me realize how important family is, how important it is to work together to survive, what the people of the past had to go through while our country was becoming what it is today and it made me be thankful for what I have today. The Joad family worked together to survive. They stuck together through all the difficult times they experienced and no matter what everyone was there for each other and loved everyone. Having a loving family work together to earn money, buy food, and find shelter is a wonderful thing. The people who were alone during these times probably were among the first to die. Even in the end, the Joad family still stayed together and prayed for the depression to be over, and for everything to be alright. Before reading this novel, I never realized exactly what these people had to go through. In U.S. History we learn about what happened in our county¿s past, but that is more from the governments view. This novel showed me what life was like through a poor person¿s eyes. It showed me how they had to struggle to survive, starve for food, and see death all around them. These people were helpless they could not do anything to stop the depression from happening. They just had to live through it. Reading this novel made me very thankful for what I have. It made me realize how important family is. My family will always be there for me, and will help me through all my rough times. I am thankful for having a roof over my head, my warm bed, food everyday, friends and money. The ending of the book was not very good, though. It was the only part that I disliked. The book just kind of ended at the scene when the Joad family is in a barn, trying to stay dry from the rain. There was a boy and his father in the barn and the boy¿s father were very sick. Rose went over to the man and started taking care of him, so he may survive. Then the book just ended. I did not like that part very much, but I still enjoyed reading the novel as a whole. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy reading realistic novels. The people who read it do not have to enjoy the subject of history very much because this book focuses more on the family experiencing the history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Good Book

    If you like tragedy then this book is for you. The family spends it time trying to move to California to build a new life. Trying to find a place where they have better doctors and better pay when it came to jobs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    The Grapes of Wrath

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The Grapes of Wrath is one the best books I have ever read. I recommend this book to everybody that enjoys reading or even if they don't. Steinbeck is a great author, I would definitely read another one of his books. I enjoy reading books that talk about Oklahoma because I love it. Anyways, READ IT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Good book!

    I had to read this for my AP English class and was not very excited. I had read Steinbeck before and it sometimes became VERY dry and detailed to a flaw. However, The Grapes of Wrath was not bad at all. The book started off slowly, but steadily picked up pace and, in turn, gained my interest. I would read almost a hundred pages a day....a feat for myself. The book is very well written and does grab the reader's attention. This is a worthwhile read and if it shows up in your future, read it without hesitation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Good Book

    I enjoyed reading this book very much. This was a great book that was full of our history. Steinbeck shows us how hard the times were back then, and his book remains interesting all the way to the end. I never had a dull moment in reading this book. I would recommend this novel to anyone that would like good information on our past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Definitely a good read!

    The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck is one of the best books I have ever read. While it is a long book, every page is worth reading. The author has an interesting style, one chapter is short and tells about the time and is followed by a longer chapter that advances the plot of the book. This book is definitely something you should read if you like classics and historically related books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    The book was good

    I enjoyed the book very much i would reccomend that anyone who likes nature read it . It is a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Interesting

    I liked the book because the characters would be talking about something and without you knowing what is going to happen something interesting happens. I did not like the book because it skipped around from person to person. If you like books about things that happened in history then you should read it,and if you don't like historical books then you should not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6