Customer Reviews for

The Grapes of Wrath

Average Rating 4
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

A must read book.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, ...
The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

posted by 1170504 on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn...
After reading Of Mice and Men, which I loved, I was really looking forward to this book. However, no matter how many times I tried to pick it up, I just couldn't get into it. Some of the descriptive prose is beautiful, but the plot moves at a glacial pace and I couldn't understand whole chunks of dialogue. Reading multiple pages of a turtle trying to cross the road is a good metaphor of trying to get through the book.

posted by jared78 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read book.

    The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck is an all time classic novel that depicts the reality of the Great Depression during the 1930's. The story first takes place in Oklahoma where the Dust Bowl had hit many crops and open fields where farmers farmed, children played, and had also hit the worst place to be hit-the lives of innocent people who lived day by day off their land. Because food and jobs were scarce, many families were forced to pack up what ever belongings they had left and move west. The main characters who take on the expedition of a new life are Tom, Ma, Pa, Jim, and Rose of Sharon. Each character has their own special quality's that they carry within that suffices the long and hard journey to California. While on the road the characters find not only how difficult it is to survive, but there are many things that have to be sacrificed in order for the majority to move on. Within the storyline you will find bumpy roads and battles that the characters must endure, thus so does every other book, however, this book will catch your attention very quickly because you will not only feel empathy for each and every character, as they struggle through the day, but you will be able to relive the hardships of the 1930's and think to yourself, "Wow, this tragic event actually happened to ordinary people and they survived." John Steinbeck is an amazing author and has never let his readers down. You will be oh so very delighted to read this book and will not ever want to close it.

    51 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER, AL TIME, CLASSIC

    As much a political manifesto as the simple story of a family forced to leave their family farm and seek a new life in California, the Grapes of Wrath is a masterpiece of American literature. Set in the American West at the start of the mass migration to the West Coast, the story follows the Joad family from the foreclosure of their farm through the long road trip along Route 66 and finally to their lives as migrant workers in a land overflowing with workers. Their lives and hardships are vividly painted in Steinbeck's outstanding prose.<BR/>Steinbeck alternates styles in each chapter. Every other chapter details the story of the Joads. In the remaining chapters Steinbeck uses a repetitive, haphazard, ungrammatical, absolutely brilliant style to sketch a scene from the life of a migrant family, ostensibly the Joads. In these chapters, he conveys scenes such as the high-paced action of a used car lot, the bitterness of a family receiving foreclosure notice, or the back breaking work of cotton picking with such clarity and color that the words of the book seem to fall away leaving the reader with a tangible world in which voices are shouting or the breeze is tossing the cotton tufts into the air. In my own reading, I've seen many authors try to mimic this unstructured, repetitive style, but never done as well as this.<BR/>The story is rich with symbolism and emotion. While there are some spots where Steinbeck seems to be working too hard, the book as a whole is a wonderful read. You will come away a little more educated about that era in America's history, a little more sympathetic to the plight of migrant workers, and maybe even a little more left-leaning in your political views. Regardless of what you intend to get out of it, the Grapes of Wrath is absolutely recommended for anyone of the maturity to understand the deep themes that run through the story. Highly recommended novel.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a classic vintage

    Even when I first read this in high scool I enjoyed it, but now it seems eve3n better to me. Maybe it's having such a hard time with finding work or working in such a crap job when I do, but this is a book that holds up to time in both the texture and pleasure of the story and in the subjects it tacles. I recomend it to anyone willing to let a little bit of real into their fiction.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Most Profound American Novel Ever Written

    This is, as far as I'm concerned, the most perfect novel ever written. It is at once a very simple story about a simple family and their struggles during the Dust Bowl era, and at the same time it is a complex commentary on a plethora of social issues that still affect working people today. Even the language of the book is deceptively simple, until the depth of what Steinbeck is saying through his characters or through his descriptions of the land hit you. Then you realize that what he has done is amazing...he's taken the simplest words and the simplest characters and created poetry.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    From 1939 to 2009, It's a Classic Contemporary

    While having been writtin in 1939, John Steinbeck wrote a masterpiece that is as contemporary today in its ideas as it was when it was written. The simple matter is that the "monster" never went away, it only grew and, "it breathes profits. If it doesn't have profits it will wither and die." The more things have changed, the more the banks and asset holders haven't. We've gone from the Great Depression to the Great Denial, now referred to as the "Great Recession."
    This is a masterpiece that highlights the depth of people in a time of trial, and shows that even if society should lose its humanity, there will still be individuals who will bring hope for the future.
    The genius of this book is in the ending. Whether it is a tragic or hopeful ending is left to how the reader sees the last chapter, as an ending or as a new beginning.

    FD.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    American literature at its finest!

    The Grapes of Wrath is definitely an American classic. John Steinbeck has written a magnificent story that captures the hopes, shattered dreams and intense struggles of the Joad family during the Great Depression. This book is a must read for anyone looking for a stimulating book that will leave a big impression on you for a long time!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    My all time favorite!

    The Grapes of Wrath is my absolute favorite novel of all time. It's beautifully written- honestly written. I recommend this book to everyone- some may say that it starts out slow, but only to set the whole mood of the story. It is full of hardships, sadness, passion, the will to survive and the love of a family trying to hold it together while they begin to lose everything. Shocking, historical, emotional. Don't miss this book -or the powerful ending!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    The Best by Steinbeck

    This is one of the best written books from John Steinbeck. Tom Joad is a classic character. A must read for anyone interested in classic American literature.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Oh yeah, the greatest American classic ever!

    The story is about an Oklahoma family,the Joads. After Tom is released from prison for killing someone, he finds his house is torn dow, and he leads his family to work in California.

    My dad is the one who recommended this book for me, because he is a great fan of classics, and I guess I inherited that from him. This book is an absolutely, positively, must! Steinbeck, as every author does, has his own unique writing style. In a way, he is like another one of my favorite authors, Hemingway. He has a very simplistic, but beautiful writing style. The story is a sort of historical social realism and that's what makes me different from today's readers. Instead of the modern-day thriller, I'm into these kinds of stories.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    A favorite but the ending?

    If you read steinbeck you know how his words intertwine lushously to create characters we want to know and feel we do. Ive read this book twice now and yet i must ask what happened to the ending??? Its as if he just decided one day he didnt want to write about the joad family anymore. Like falling off a cliff the book just stops. As much as i wanted to see any sort of resolution to the many storylines and didnt get it, the book is that good. Still gets 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Great American Classic!

    The Grapes of Wrath is a great American classic novel ,that was a quick read and I book that I loved, it shows the struggle that most families had to face during the 1930s, The Great Depression, and the Dust Bowl. The main characters Ma, Pa, Tom, Al, and Rose of Sharon, all struggle on the long and hard journey from Oklahoma to the big cities of California. They are forced to leave their home, when there all of their decedents grew up and made their home, to find work to try to stay alive. Soon they will all realize how hard this task will be. While their family struggled to stay alive their relationships grew stronger within their family as the time went on through out there long journey. I have found that this book is defiantly one of the best books that I have ever read. Although that it was written many years ago it is still around and popular and a great novel to this day. I believe that John Steinbeck is a wonderful author, and he wrote this book, as of many others, very well. To wrap it up I think that this is a very wonderful book to read. It is written with passion, love, and it interests almost everyone. I would recommend this book for all ages, no matter if you are thirteen or sixty five this is a magnificent book to curl up with on the couch and read. It is one of those books that when you start it you cannot stop and you will never want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A True Classic

    Yes read this book. If you watch the movie you will miss half of the book. I would say that this is excellent read and quick also. It is a little sad and it makes you think about history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Book

    The dust bowl migration of the Joad family in the 1930's chronicles a thought provoking subject and is told in an amazing writing style. The simple nature of the characters is depicted without apology. Steinbeck's use of their Southern dialect is authentic and coarse, but it contrasts with their noble approach to life and living. I loved this book and will probably read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    A Must Read

    I read this book for Book Club as times are tough today but after reading the book we all realized that we still have it pretty easy. It took a while getting into the book as the first 100 pages are bit slow. But after that I could not put the book down.

    I heard that Steinbeck followed a family from Oklahoma to California and that is how he got his material for the book.

    The big takeaway for me is it made me think of how Hispanic Farm workers are treated today (2009) and it is a lot similar to how the Joad family and others were treated during the dust bowl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Grapes of Wrath

    I starting reading this novel for an American Literature class and ended up buying it to place in my library. An incredible story about a family's hardships during the Dust Bowl. Wonderful symbolisms and motifs. A brilliant read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    WHAT THIS BOOK HAS DONE TO ME!

    THE WAY HE WRITES AND COMPOSES WORDS! THE WAY THE CHARACTORS IN THIS BOOK HAVE EFFECTED ME IS AMAZING! I NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER HAVE SO MUCH PASSION AND HEART SINCE "EAST OF EDEN". THEY WAS THE STORY FLOWS AND THE WRITING GOES MAKES YOU WANT MORE! HOPE FOR THE FAMILY WILL FILL YOUR SOUL, AND MAKE YOU LOOK AT YOURSELF! LOOK AT YOURSELF AND WHAT THEY ARE GOING THROUGH AND WHAT YOU ARE. WHAT BAD THINGS ARE GOING ON IN YOUR LIFE? THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU SIT BACK AND SAY " HEY I KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT, AND MY LIFE ISN'T SO BAD". AT LEAST FOR ME! ANYBODY WHO HAS BEEN THROUGH ANY BIT OF STRUGGLE....OR ABYBODY WHO ENJOYS GREAT READING...THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read

    This book is amazing! I plan to read East of Eden and Of Mice and Men as a result of enjoying this book so much. It is truly a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    The Grapes of Wrath

    Great book and very timely in light of our economic and environmental challenges.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Confounding Parallels

    For years I heard about the Dust Bowl, and assumed it was another goofy football activity. When a librarian finally enlightened me and proceeded to tell me about "The Grapes of Wrath" I figured it was another American Literature, "how the west was won novel", and my skepticism continued when I bought the book at Goodwill and found that it's cover was an excellent source for dust cultivation. <BR/><BR/>Nonetheless, when I finally read the book it immediately leapt to the number one position of my favorite book list.<BR/><BR/>Wonderfully written, as is everything by Steinbeck. It is a tale of a family's struggle to survive drought and famine in the midwest and eventually look for prosperity in the vast fields of California. The suffering and persecution that the entire migration endures is heartwrenching and is comparable to the hardship the immigrants of Mexico must endure coming to America.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    A Favorite Novel

    Grapes of Wrath is the fourth book of Steinbeck's I have read, along with Tortilla Flat, The Pearl, and Travels with Charlie. This book is by far my favorite Steinbeck book and conceivably one of the top novels I have stumbled upon. I just picked up East of Eden and plan to start on it tomorrow. Grapes of Wrath has reinforced John Steinbeck as my preferred author and has surpassed all of my expectations.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15