Customer Reviews for

Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Tension Building Segue

    This series is full of tough spots for the characters. Better than that, it's full of characters that leave an impression and seem to escape being as i have come to expect. Particularly in this book, there are periods of exploration of themselves (in which even they themselves are surprised), and growth - including personality traits that are not what i expected. The characters seem to be plucked from history -- Takeo and Kaede and Arai and all the others seem very real.

    I cannot /wait/ to begin reading book number 3! this one went by faster than any book i've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you want more

    Captures the culture well. Alot is understood without being spoken.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Sequels Cant Get Better Than This!

    The tone of the book is enough to keep the readers of the edge of their seats wondering what will happen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Grass for his pillow

    This book was so good because of its balance between war, love and culture. it is a fantastic read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Amazing! Sorry, can't think of anthing else...

    Great book! Very emotional, but, even though it is a great book, i still prefer 'Across the nightinggale floor' (even though it had the most annoying ending!!!) Has nothing to do with Grass or Pillow's though, it tells us about Takeo and Keade's relationship away from each other (tee-hee) and how they cope. Mainly its on Keade seeking power and all that stuff on how she should have been born a boy, and Takeo coping life with the 'Tribe.' Read this on a Plane! Really good for reading on planes, especailly when you've already seen the movie's thier showing! Two annoying things though: The names, I CAN NOT PRONOUNCE HALF THE NAMES. Well, I can't, but maybe you can, i'm only 13. Oh, and the fact that the word 'TEA' is used so often. It's amusing at first, but then is very irritating coz no one wants to read about tea. Wonderful book, i've read all of them a million times. Ok, maybe not a million. I hope Lian Hearn is writing more, and i heard there's a movie in the making for 'Across the Nightinggale floor.' !Enjoy the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Amazing book and trilogy

    Lian Hearn is an amazing auther. Her characters are so deep and believable that you are transported right to medival Japan. Takeo is such a strong person, along with his adopted clans and love. I deffinately recommend this book to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Unbelievable!

    I loved this book it was so deep and yet so well written. I loved the way honour over came his rightful path. I love Takeo he is such a atrong character full of knowledge, he creates a great image of the young men of that time. I also like the women power tha Kaede shows, she is a such a great character. Im most pleased with the way it ended lookin forward to the 3 installment of The Otori Series. A very well written book, possibly my fave book...apart from the Fisrt Of the Otorti Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    highly recommended despite dreary beginning

    2nd in series, the continuing tale of the youthful lovers kept apart by politics and honor in Lian Hearn's alternative feudal Japan. The narration is compelling and kept me reading despite how depressed and without expectation of satisfying futures both characters (and landscape) seemed to be in the first part of the story. The rich descriptions of place, well-rounded secondary characters, the determination of Kaede and the evolving magical skills and resolving identity issues of Takeo were counters to the initial mood and in the end I found it a very satisfying listen and I can't wait to start #3. 4.5 stars - couldn't figure out how to get 1/2 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2