Customer Reviews for

Grave Consequences: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is a great book. There are so many nail biting and exciting

This is a great book. There are so many nail biting and exciting parts going on that you want to and feel like you have to keep reading. I cannot wait for the next book to come out and see how this wonderful series ends.




I love the way the characters in the book see...
This is a great book. There are so many nail biting and exciting parts going on that you want to and feel like you have to keep reading. I cannot wait for the next book to come out and see how this wonderful series ends.




I love the way the characters in the book seek the Lord in their times of difficulties and look to Him for the answers to life.Wilani

posted by Wilani on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I¿ve been anxiously awaiting this book, because I so much enjoye

I’ve been anxiously awaiting this book, because I so much enjoyed Glamorous Illusions—the previous book in this series. I couldn’t wait to see how Cora’s life would continue; for which young man she’d choose how the relationship would develop with her long lost brothers...
I’ve been anxiously awaiting this book, because I so much enjoyed Glamorous Illusions—the previous book in this series. I couldn’t wait to see how Cora’s life would continue; for which young man she’d choose how the relationship would develop with her long lost brothers and sisters…

Lisa Bergren is a great author—she has a marvelous way with words. In this novel the words also flowed from the pages, but for some reason this second book in the Grand Tour Series didn’t capture my attention as much as the first book did. I think I’ve picked up the book about 5 times to put it down again after a couple of pages. Although I’m still a great Lisa T. Bergren fan, this book is not among my favorites and it’s not likely I will pick up the third and last book in this series.

*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*

posted by MarB1 on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    Lisa Bergren continues to draw me in with her second novel in th

    Lisa Bergren continues to draw me in with her second novel in the Grand Tour series! I absolutely love the beautiful imagery she gives us as Cora and her siblings travel all over Europe! She is so descriptive that I have no trouble visualizing the family there!

    I really liked how Lisa brought a lot of suspense in this one with the kidnappers as well as the outings that sometimes went wrong. Their were many times she had me on the edge of my seat since I was unsure what was going to happen, especially when Will and Cora decide to try and draw in the kidnappers by their new plan!

    Their was also great romance that made me squeal with delight (I don't what to give it away so I won't say who it involves), but also make my heart break. I love Will and Pierre, but Cora will only have the one she has given her heart too! I feel bad for the man who did not claim her heart because he is so wonderful!

    My favorite part of the entire novel was the ending when Cora takes a stand against her father! She was so bold and I love how she pushed to make her own decisions instead of someone making them for her!

    I am greatly looking forward to Glittering Promises to see how the rest of the tour will be and how Cora taking a stand will effect Vivian as well the others! I am also looking forward to Cora's growing romance with that certain someone!

    Great novel overall!

    I received this for free by NetGalley in exchange for a honest review!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    The Powerful, Epic Romance Continues in the 2nd Book of the Gra


    The Powerful, Epic Romance Continues in the 2nd Book of the Grand Tour series 
    Grave Consequences by Lisa T Bergren

    I quickly discovered I needed to read 'Glamorous Illusions', before I had the background necessary for Book 2 in Ms Bergren's Grand Tour Series. 
    With the stage set, I began this 2nd leg of the journey...
    *
    Hair-raising adventures dogged the Kensington and Morgan families from Paris to Austria to Italy. Red herrings and ruses thrown in to confuse any resolutions kept the tension building. 
    *
    Our feisty protagonist, Cora, seems to have a flair for the dramatic, managing to get herself and not a few of the other entourage members into hot water. Repeatedly. She never seems to recognize the outcome of her decisions will affect more than herself. 
    Grave Consequences indeed...
    Whilst I appreciated many of her strengths of character, others, due to her immaturity, were borderline.  Scenes with her father were dynamite interactions calling for every
    available inner resource she possessed.
    Her growth of character ending this 2nd installment was valued.
    *
    The romantic scenes offer a lovely tension, emotionally engaging this reader.  
    Cora's confusion regarding her two pursuers is tangible.  I have the delightful advantage, as a reader, to make my own choice!
    *
    Descriptive picturing of locations, people, settings, add to the appeal of the era. Historic information provided via tour presentations serves the reader well without being documentary. An added insight into these characters through their teaching methods and dialogue, and their choice of activities provided for these Grand Tourists. It certainly stirred up my own interest regarding their various ports of call. Live concerts in Vienna featuring the work of historic composers, balls [and ballgown shopping!], picnics in France's meadows overlooking waterscapes, champagne and strawberries at every turn... ahhh - not hard to picture the life Ms Bergren is presenting to her readers.
    *
    The ending? Absolutely delicious. 
    Fantastic story twist setting the stage of anticipation for book 3, 
    Glittering Promises, due this October 1st. 

    Enough summer reading time to complete books 1+2 in preparation. Enjoy!

    *
    Lisa T. Bergren is the award-winning author of over thirty-five books, with more than 2 million copies sold. A former publishing executive, Lisa now divides her time between writing, editing, parenting three children with her husband, Tim, and dreaming of her next trip to Italy.  She lives in Colorado Springs, Colorado.
    Connect with Lisa T Bergren and her Writing ..



    *With appreciation to David C Cook for providing an ebook to read and review without obligation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "How much did we do in life that was the result of what oth

    "How much did we do in life that was the result of what others around us demanded? Rather than what God was calling us to do?"

    Cora Kensington has it hard. Taken from her comfortable country home and parents, she's brought into a well-to-do family she didn't know she belonged to until recently. Lime-light didn't seem to suit her, but now she has a part to play in it, and she must learn to cope with it. As well as her biological father's wishes for her.

    This is the second book in Lisa T. Bergren's Grand Tour series, and although I didn't read the first, I didn't have a difficult time in finding my way around this one. It wasn't exactly stand-alone, but it was understandable and made me want to pick up the first book of the series.
    Ms. Bergren takes us on our own Grand Tour with her rich tapestry of writing and flowing descriptions of places most of us are likely never to travel. Full of gorgeous imagery, at times you can almost smell the places Cora and the others are visiting. Add a little romantic angst, (and who doesn't love that?!) a little intrigue, and a little suspense, and you have a wonderful book to spend your weekend with. Recommend!

    **My thanks to David C Cook publishers for providing me with a copy in exchange for my honest review. These thoughts are my own, and I was not required they be positive.**

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    In the sequel to Glamorous Illusions, we rejoin Cora Diehl Kensi

    In the sequel to Glamorous Illusions, we rejoin Cora Diehl Kensington on her grand tour of Europe with her newly discovered half-siblings. While things are going better for Cora with her family, things are only becoming more difficult in her romantic life. She's being aggressively pursued by a dashing Frenchman, Pierre. However, Cora's heart seems to be drifting toward their young tour leader Will. All the while Cora and company are still being chased by the people that kidnapped Cora and her sister in France. With new friends and some twists and turns, Cora must navigate Europe and her new social status. Cora's not sure though that she will be able to get everything she wants. 




    I found the first book very interesting, so I was excited to read the sequel. It was definitely a lot of fun. Cora's world is becoming increasing more difficult to navigate through, and you can't help but feel for her. She so wants to be able to live her life as she chooses, but this is looking less and less likely. Her newly discovered biological father has much bigger plans for her, and everyone around her is sure to tell her that Wallace Kensington always gets his way. While this doesn't sit well with Cora, she soon discovers there is a lot of truth in this. Cora is being pursued by the French Lord Pierre, but it doesn't take her long to realize her heart actually belongs to Will. Circumstances quickly change though, and it seems like Cora and Will will have a difficult road ahead if they want to be with each other.




    Like any good middle book, this one leaves you with a lot more questions than answers. To be honest, I'm not sure how Cora is going to get any of the things she truly desires. That makes things more exciting though. This book manages to move the story along at a fairly good pace while really setting up the next book. I could have done with maybe a little less of the back and forth between Cora and Will on their feelings for each other, particularly when they had already confessed those feelings for each other. That didn't make a lot of sense to me. Overall though, that's a minor point. This book is able to make you feel like you are there in the time and the place exploring with Cora. I look forward to the next book. I really want to know how it all turns out. 




    Book provided for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Grave Consequences is a book that will sweep you into the world

    Grave Consequences is a book that will sweep you into the world of the uber-rich during the Gilded Age. I felt like I became the silent member of a group of Americans on their Grand Tour of Europe. The book is a sweeping continuation of the series and one that left me dying for the next installment...enough so I've been tempted to drive to Colorado and beg the author for an early copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1