Customer Reviews for

A Grave Denied (Kate Shugak Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    great read

    just downloaded 5 new books from this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Great

    Really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    LOVE this series

    I've enjoyed all of Dana Stabenow's "Kate Shugak" series. Besides reading a good mystery, I get to learn about Alaska's histtory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Stabenow doesn't disappoint in this 13th outing with Kate and company with the perfect balance of mystery, humor, and all-around Alaska-ness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I loved it!

    I am a faithful fan of Ms. Stabenow, and i must say that this book is one of my favorites in the series! Well written, great characters, I had to finish it! Great job, Dana!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    Book Captures My Imagination

    This is my first experience with reading any Dana Stabenow book, and I am eagerly awaiting my next tript to B&N to add to my collection! I was completely drawn in by the idea of an independent woman in the Alaskan Park country, a woman who does not depend on the presence of a man for validation, one who thinks through her next move, and although she receognizes her emotions and is human enough to become temporarily immobilized by her lover's death, she isn't squeamish about the trials life throws her way. The premise, a body found under a glacier, captures the reader's attention, and holds it throughout the story. The drama is played out against the murder investigation instead of the investigation being the total focus of the book. The main character and several secondary characters are well developed and give the reader a sense of being drawn into the small and tightly knit community that is the extended family of Kate Shugak. My only criticism of the book is the fact that I had a little problem with some of the sentence construction, which was possibly a regional difference. I recommend this book to anyone who has fantasized about 'roughing it' in the wild country of Alaska, especially the female population. This is a different experience and makes a good read for those long winter nights (even if they aren't as long as the Alaskan winter nights!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Stabenow's Growth as a Writer Impresses This Reader

    I've been captivated by Kate Shugak and the Alaska captured by Stabenow's writing for quite a while. However, in A Grave Denied, she demonstrates great control of plot, provides a surprise, and shows the humanity of the characters who inhabite the Kate's world. The characters have grown as the series goes on. The plots are more engaging. And Kate's struggle to be self-reliant while graciously accepting help from others is touching and amusing. I now eagerly await the next installment of the Kate Shugak Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    dynamic and refreshing mystery

    As he lay dying in his lover¿s arms, Jack Morgan made Kate Shugak promise to look after his son Johnny and to protect him from his mother. Since he wants to homestead with her in Alaska¿s National Park, Kate takes Johnny into her home and the residents of the park conspire with her to keep him hidden from his mother and outside authorities. Unfortunately nobody can protect Johnny or his classmates from seeing the body of a murdered man. <P>The homicide victim is Len Dreyer, who supported himself by doing construction and handyman jobs for the local residents. State Trooper Jim Chopin is in the middle of a crime wave so he asks Kate to learn if the victim had any enemies. She finds nobody really knew the man who left no paper trail for her to follow but her questions lead someone to burning down her log cabin, thinking she is in it. This case becomes very personal for Kate and she is determined to track down the killer or die trying. <P>This is one of the most successful, dynamic and refreshing mystery series of the last decade. The characters evolve, change and grow so that they remain unpredictable. A GRAVE DENIED is an exciting who-done-it because nobody will guess who the killer is until the author chooses to reveal his identity in a shocking climax. It is heartwarming to see the homesteaders rally around Kate in her time of troubles and says much about the goodness in most people¿s heart. This novel is must reading for anyone who likes an emotional, heart wrenching and dramatic relationship drama wrapped around a mystery. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2