Customer Reviews for

The Grave Gourmet (Capucine Culinary Series #1)

Average Rating 2.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Please don't rate books if you have not read them. Anyone who likes cozy mysteries will love this book! I will take a cozy mystery over any other book as my free Friday book! Thank you BN this will be a joy to read again!

posted by 5018826 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

wonderful French police procedural

Chef Jean-Basile Labrousse owns the three-star Diapason restaurant. When he kicks a bag of squash in his freezer, it feels more like meat to him. He opens the bag to find the body of Jean-Louis Delage, the president-directeur general of Renault; who dined there earlie...
Chef Jean-Basile Labrousse owns the three-star Diapason restaurant. When he kicks a bag of squash in his freezer, it feels more like meat to him. He opens the bag to find the body of Jean-Louis Delage, the president-directeur general of Renault; who dined there earlier in the evening with his attorney.

With everyone else tied up, Le Commissaire Talon assigns twenty-eight years old Parisian Police Detective Capucine Le Tellier for the lead on the case; her first field crime scene assignment as her work has been office reviews of white collar crime. She receives insider help on the restaurant side of her investigation from her dining critic husband, Alexandre. At Renault, she learns the firm is working on a fuel efficiency process that would allow vehicles to run on one third the amount of gas; and that several countries and rival companies have industrial spies trying to steal the secret. Capucine knows if she wants more homicide work, she must resolve the case with its international implications as well as the country's frenzy over an icon being murdered.

With a lighthearted look at the City of Lights through the eyes of delightful droll Parisians and foreign nationals, readers will enjoy dining in Paris with Capucine (who is not remotely close in performance to The Pink Panther of Inspector Clouseau) as their tour guide. The Grave Gourmet is a wonderful French police procedural that highlights the industrial espionage threat to nations and companies as even allies spy on one another. Alexander Campion provides a mesmeric opening act starring a magnifico female protagonist.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Littered with the F## Bomb

    I understand that crude language can be appropriately used but this book uses it, especially the F### bomb, so much it destroys any story here.

    36 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I wanted to like this one, I really did.

    I wanted to like this story, really I did, but I just can't get into this one. I thought there would be a strong female detective and a foodie murder mystery I could bite my teeth into. Yeah, not so much. So much time is spent on what the detective is wearing (like weather or not she sould have worn a bra to an interview) or eating or on what some male around her thinks that she should be doing I found it difficult to read or even to finish.

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    H

    Read a bunch of pages and was not overly impressed. Like other reviewers, I also find the main character offensive and egotistical. The swearing is very uncalled for, there are better words and don't do anything for the book. It makes me mad why so many books that have a good potential, are spoiled and ruined by inappropiate language.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Minus stars

    Of course harriet klausner comes along with her plot spoiler. Come on bn. What is it with summer free fridays? Must they always suck? This book doesnt even deserve the poir tree they sacrificed the paper for.

    10 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Big thumbs down

    You have to add a star to post. I give this less than a star.

    As a firmer professional cook, and a great lover of all things french, I was hughly dissappointed in this book and very glad it was a friday freebie and I can delete it.

    The characters are badly drawn, the men misogynistic, the women insipid, and the premise is horrible. I know French oeople get a bad rap in the press. But this book simply oeroetuates the myth, and that's too bad.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Does it ever get better?

    So far this is incredibly trite and cliched and horrifically sexist. Not sure i can keep reading.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Offensive and annoying

    I found the main character to actually be offensive. That might have been the intent of the author, although I found most of the swearing pretty tame.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wish people would use spellcheck before posting any review or

    I wish people would use spellcheck before posting any review or complaint!!!

    7 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    .50$ words

    I couldn't even get past the first few pages. This was the first book I've seriously hated. The thesaurus got a good work out with this one!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Offensive main character.

    Like many others I found Capucine to be a very offensive female lead. I was looking forward to maybe finding another strong female lead in this genre only to be exposed to a character that relied more on her looks to get her what she wanted than ability. Her in ability to conduct an efficient and productive investigation became apparent by the end of the first day of the investigation and continued as she bumbled her way through the investigation. I couldn't even finish the book.

    I am so glad this was a free Friday book and that I did not pay for this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Boring

    Don't bother

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Could not get past page 20

    Just too slow and awkward.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    So so II

    I concur, I mean agree!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Harriett

    Its one thing to give a short review but what the h-ll is your prpblem you feel you need to write a small story about every book. Since your so compelled to continue and you have your little followers who like you so well why dont you get your own little page and have at it with your cornies even draw little pictures. You should be ashamed people arent being rude to you they are only asking you to stop. Just do your own little face book review how about that?

    4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Wordy, pretentious, and boring

    Once I put it down, I could not pick it up again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    I can't think of anything I liked about this book. Capucine was

    I can't think of anything I liked about this book. Capucine was dim-witted and most of the other characters were
    extremely juvenile, either unable to form a sentence without swearing or crude language or shallowly drawn. I finally got fed up with all the 
    sexual references and threw this book away.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Be grateful it's free

    Only made it 13 pages-- there is no context to the character to even justify why she is twit and an upstar, using her femine wiles to get ahead. Although her confidence in her ability would suggest she doesn't need to use her body to get ahead. Do basically wretched characterization and writing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2014

    I agree with what others are saying.  It was hard to get into th

    I agree with what others are saying.  It was hard to get into this book.  It seemed as though the author was trying to hard to develop a plot and really the bad guy was laughable.  Couldn't stand the main character.  She wanted to be "macho" but failed. Who gives a crap about her husband? He was dull as dishwater. Great that he was "important" and was able to assist her, but yuck. I finished it because I don't  like to leave things not finished, but it was a struggle.  If you can't get this for free, don't bother. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Found I didn't care whodunit

    Dull, hard to follow, and characters with the depth of single-ply tissue paper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    This book is like bad sex, forced myself to finish

    So boring! Writing is very disjointed. No flow at all. Too bored to wondered who actually comitted the crime. The writer is either american obsessed with french culture or this book is poorly translated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4