BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Grave Gourmet (Capucine Culinary Series #1)

Average Rating 2.5
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Please don't rate books if you have not read them. Anyone who likes cozy mysteries will love this book! I will take a cozy mystery over any other book as my free Friday book! Thank you BN this will be a joy to read again!

posted by 5018826 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

wonderful French police procedural

Chef Jean-Basile Labrousse owns the three-star Diapason restaurant. When he kicks a bag of squash in his freezer, it feels more like meat to him. He opens the bag to find the body of Jean-Louis Delage, the president-directeur general of Renault; who dined there earlie...
Chef Jean-Basile Labrousse owns the three-star Diapason restaurant. When he kicks a bag of squash in his freezer, it feels more like meat to him. He opens the bag to find the body of Jean-Louis Delage, the president-directeur general of Renault; who dined there earlier in the evening with his attorney.

With everyone else tied up, Le Commissaire Talon assigns twenty-eight years old Parisian Police Detective Capucine Le Tellier for the lead on the case; her first field crime scene assignment as her work has been office reviews of white collar crime. She receives insider help on the restaurant side of her investigation from her dining critic husband, Alexandre. At Renault, she learns the firm is working on a fuel efficiency process that would allow vehicles to run on one third the amount of gas; and that several countries and rival companies have industrial spies trying to steal the secret. Capucine knows if she wants more homicide work, she must resolve the case with its international implications as well as the country's frenzy over an icon being murdered.

With a lighthearted look at the City of Lights through the eyes of delightful droll Parisians and foreign nationals, readers will enjoy dining in Paris with Capucine (who is not remotely close in performance to The Pink Panther of Inspector Clouseau) as their tour guide. The Grave Gourmet is a wonderful French police procedural that highlights the industrial espionage threat to nations and companies as even allies spy on one another. Alexander Campion provides a mesmeric opening act starring a magnifico female protagonist.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Enjoyable

    True, it has a few F bombs, but not many, and it has a lot of French references and big words, but the beauty of the nook tablet is that they are so easy to look up and if the dictionary does not have them, the internet usually does. It is my favorite way to learn new words or more about other cultures.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Language

    This was a very good book and I enjoyed the story. The only problem was the language. Some phrases, words and passages were in french and it was difficult to understand without translation. Otherwise a great read with excellent storyline and plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Cute Story

    Cute Story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    I like food and mystery so I really liked this book.  I got this

    I like food and mystery so I really liked this book.  I got this one free but I think I will break down and buy the others.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Enjoyed this

    -

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Enjoyed. Was a fast read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Very intricate storyline

    As stated above when you get near the end of the book you see how which of the suspects tie in,how and why. The "f" word was used sparingly but by the time I realized it would be more than a few times, I was hooked on the plot. Our heroine is very believable. I have a decent vocabulary but this author goes well beyond words that are common in the US. Some sentences had four words I'd never heard of. Then there are the French phrases and names. But again, the plot thickened page after page. Because it was a little difficult to follow and understand I give it 4 stars. Very talented author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    lots of fun reading

    This was such a fun book to read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a story with fun characters and storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Enjoyed this book- good mystery.

    French terms and food. A good peek into a different culture. Look forward to more by this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    It was a light charming mystery

    It was a light charming mystery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Recommended

    I really enjoyed it, and will probably continue with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Interesting but somewhat confusing because of spelling and French words.

    Even so I enjoyed the story and it's surprise ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly Entertaining Reading

    I enjoyed this book, it was fun to read, the storyline was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I did enjoy the book. I especially liked the French phrases inte

    I did enjoy the book. I especially liked the French phrases interspersed. It had been a  long time since I studied French, and the phrases were fun to try to figure out.
    It was definitely a "fireside mystery" and most entertaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Ok read

    Good in a pitch!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    very good book, interesting to get perspective of French police

    I liked this book, much different than I expected from cover. Good characters, plot was surprising.

    Not a lot of suspense but plot is unusual and you don't know what is going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Good read

    Character interplay remarkable

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3