Customer Reviews for

Grave Intentions

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I almost never like the main characters. They're usually so naiv

    I almost never like the main characters. They're usually so naive and helpless, never having much of a story to tell unless someone else is willing to tell it for them. To me, the minor characters are the ones to watch. Their history is rich with imagination, and they can afford to be kind and selfless where the main characters cannot. They have the greatest personalities because they're not the ones trying to stay in the proverbial spotlight. They don't need to.

    Grave Intentions really surprised me by refusing to fall for this trap. Yeah, I still liked the minor characters (I mean, really, who could resist Pearl and Adam?) because they still kept all of their unique depth and stories to tell on their own, but they weren't the only ones. David really surprised me by being pretty freakin' awesome.

    Sure, I may tolerate the main character, but I don't usually like him, and he is certainly never my favorite. David is the exception. He had more history and depth and reason to him than most characters in any book could ever dream of having. He was certainly not perfect, but what else could you expect from that line of work? Being a reaper means being detached or losing your humanity to the countless deaths that surround you, like his boss did. Every time I saw David truly feel the pain from the souls he took, I couldn't bear to see him so saddened, but I was also happy in an offhanded sort of way. When countless lives lost starts meaning nothing to you, that's when you become less alive than the bodies you leave behind. And that is unacceptable.

    David may have come close a few times. He wasn't there yet, but in a few decades, if his time refused to run out, he may have reached his breaking point. David was probably more human in the beginning that most of the other reapers out there on their first day. Listening to his story of how he was damned to this nearly eternal torture broke my heart, and that's when I decided that no matter what, he deserved the happiness that was taken away from him too quickly.

    I was very pleased with the ending of this novel, even if it did seem a little predictable when it started coming to a close. I don't really think that there could have been a better option for the author to choose, but because it seemed like the only reasonable choice, it may have lost a bit of it's affect. Perhaps if more angles had been looked at before, I wouldn't have expected it as much, but honestly, it wasn't that big of a deal. In the entire novel, that was the only minor complaint I had, and if you ask me, that's not too shabby.

    Taylor

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I received a e-arc book from netgalley in exchange for my honest

    I received a e-arc book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review. You wouldn't think that a book about grim reapers would be sexy but this totally was! This book has a lot going for it at least for me. You can't help but fall in love with the grim reapers and I say reapers because there isn't just one there are many all over the world. Each has their own back story that I am looking forward to reading about in the future. Can't wait to find out more!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the story and Lori Sjoberg is an author to watch.. Her

    I loved the story and Lori Sjoberg is an author to watch.. Her style is confident and consistent, the plot is tightly written and the pacing brisk. The characters are so fleshed out and realistic I feel like I know them. David is my favorite kind of hero. He's strong, conflicted, stoic and brooding.
    David and Sarah truly get to know each other and fall in love, but David refuses to act on this, terrified that if he lets his love for Sarah flow, then all the other emotions he has locked away for the last half century will come flooding back. And keeping his emotions locked away is the only thing that has kept him sane while reaping thousands of souls after their unnatural, often horrific deaths.

    Eventually David decides that after 60 years he is willing to take a chance on love. I really liked the fact that David and Sarah had a relationship first, and their love grew from a delicious combination of chemistry, respect, humor and friendship. It was realistic and sexy as hell.

    As other reviewers have mentioned, the secondary characters in this story are so interesting, they come right off the page begging for their own book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    Grim reapers fascinate me so I had to jump in on this tour, espe

    Grim reapers fascinate me so I had to jump in on this tour, especially since the awesome publisher is now on NetGalley. And I was majorly serious when I said the cover was hot! LOL I had fun reading this one because it’s not all grim and death. I actually thought a lot was funny and it’s quite a good romance for you romantic types.




    For the main characters, I enjoyed their story of how their romance builds. I like Sarah, as she somewhat reminds me a little if myself. And David, being the reaper, doesn’t have such an easy ride either. Both going though their own separate issues end up finding each other. I if course love the secondary characters. Adam is my favorite and Grandma Pearl is a trip! They make the story so much more by being part of it!




    The writing is easy and flows and make for a fun read. And because it’s got a lighter feel, more than serious or dark, it made it a breeze to read through. I think I would have enjoyed it a little more if there was just a little more background building for the characters and how the world of grim reaping works, but I don’t think it’s lacking made the story less enjoyable. I’m definitely hoping it will build more as the story continues!




    I’m also intrigued to find out that this series isn’t going to based on just a few characters but following several different reapers each with their story to tell!! I’m definitely looking forward to book two! If you like a romance, with a little
    Comedy and some paranormal, I think you’ll really get a kick out of this one! 4 REAPER FUN PAWS from me! Now I’ll just have to wait for the next one!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like reaper stories and I enjoyed this one. Grave Intentions p

    I like reaper stories and I enjoyed this one. Grave Intentions provided a fresh spin on how reapers move among us and I'm always tickled to find a new spin on a supernatural being. :) I thought Ms. Sjoberg did a great job on creating something unique in that respect.




    Sarah is a scientist and although she grew up around events that couldn't be explained - like being raised by a grandma who could talk to spirits - she shies away from anything that can't be scientifically or logically proven. But as her friend said, 




    "You know, one of these days you're going to come face to face with something you can't explain through the scientific method."




    Sarah had no idea how prophetic that statement would turn out to be.




    David is a reaper. It's taken him some time but he's figured out the formula for best enduring his current incarnation. That is too keep all emotions locked down tight. That's a tall order when your job is assisting souls who've experienced untimely deaths to the afterlife .




    Fate has a strange sense of humor, it would seem, when she weaves these two souls together. Can Sarah let go of her need for scientific proof? Can David tear down the wall behind which his emotions are concealed?




    I found the cast of supporting characters entertaining. Samuel, David's boss was a joy in his snobbery. David's fellow reapers Ruby, Adam, and Dmitri also offered their own charms and I look forward to getting to know them even better in future books in this series.




    As I said, I really enjoyed this book. At times, I did feel it was a bit predictable. However, Ms. Sjoberg was still able to wring emotion from me. At one point, I knew what was coming and still I cried! And the ending...even though I thought I knew how things would end, Ms. Sjoberg didn't take the exact path I envisioned (guess my psychic skills are lacking! :) Overall, this was a pleasant read and I will check out the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    A fun read with a great assortment of characters! I highly reco

    A fun read with a great assortment of characters! I highly recommend Grave Intentions. Reapers have never been so sexy and enticing. Not only will you love the main characters, but you'll be begging for more from the others.

    I thought David and Sarah were perfectly wonderful, and I hope the author has plans for Adam and Dimitri (among others) because I definitely want more of them. A unique series. I'd say Lori Sjoberg is off to a great start!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Memorably Colorful Characters With a Heartwrenching Ending to the Story

    Those who've watched Dead Like Me on TV will find this storyline easy to understand. David, and his group of friends, are Reapers who collect the souls of those about to die. He's been doing it for so long that he's become numb inside to the pain and horror he sees every day. The day he meets his next door neighbor, who has a unique ability of her own, is the day he finally starts feeling alive. With her ability to see ghosts, Sarah finds David's job fascinating and is fully accepting and soothes his battered heart like nothing else before. Their connection starts out as friends and morphs into a sexy and emotionally-charged relationship that almost ends before it starts when David's forced to make a decision he never thought he'd have to in an ending that is heart wrenching.

    David is gruff at the start, full of pain he keeps hidden but is still charming in his own way. I ached for everything he's gone through in his life and afterlife. He was sweet and caring in Sarah's presence. Sarah was a tough cookie with a scientific mind that made her quick acceptance of David's job believable. They were a truly sweet and cute couple that brought a smile to my face which is why the story became such a tearjerker towards the end.

    Along with enjoyable main characters come a colorful and entertaining cast of secondary characters with unique personalities. Adam is young and sweetly charming, Dmitri a badass who hides his compassion, and Ruby is a tough chick with a heart of gold. I look forward to their stories being told and applaud this exciting and emotionally draining start to an entertaining new paranormal series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sjoberg introduces us to souls who have been enlisted to serve a

    Sjoberg introduces us to souls who have been enlisted to serve as Reapers. I loved the world building and the fleshed out characters.  It looks like each book will deal with a reaper and his romance. I quickly consumed this as I laughed, giggled and swooned.




    We meet David Anderson he has been a reaper since he died during the war. His job is to help souls who die from tragedy cross over. His boss is fate, and because of some fluke in the universe; souls that meet a tragic end need guidance to cross over and do so though a reaper. It is a hard job, arriving just before death and being helpless to stop it. In order to handle the emotional toll of the job, David cuts all of his emotions off. That is until his path crosses with his neighbor Sarah Griffin. She is different than most humans and he is astounding when he cannot plant suggestions in her mind. The tale that unfolds kept me enthralled as I waited to see what fate had in store for this couple.




    David is smexy, built like a solider with the sexiest grey eyes you have ever seen. *swoons* He does not regret the act(s) that caused him to become a reaper but after sixty years he is starting to lose some of his humanity. He is training a newbie named Adam. Who is cute, loves dog and was a police officer before he died. I cannot wait for his story. Sarah is interesting, and her family history and paranormal abilities were fascinating. I loved the slow building relationship between her and David. It felt genuine and oh so hot!! Other reapers and David’s superior Samuel added to the tale causing problems. All of the characters had unique voices.




    I really enjoyed Sjoberg’s take on reapers and cannot wait for the next book. David’s story was fascinating and his anguish felt real. I loved Fate and her interference. The story flowed at a wonderful pace and the climatic last few chapters completely removed me from reality. When I finished I immediately searched out information on the next book. Thankfully, there is a sneak peak in the back of this book, but it only says coming soon and isn’t yet titled..Grrr hope it’s soon!I want to thank Kensington for sharing this ARC with me in exchange for my unbiased review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Recommended

    I loved the characters. An interesting twist on the Grime Reaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Lv it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    3.5 Stars Grave Intentions is adorably predictable. It follows

    3.5 Stars

    Grave Intentions is adorably predictable. It follows the traditional paranormal romance story arc where boy meets girl, they have insta-lust, they learn things about one another that shouldn't be possible, they hook up, something tears them apart, they live (?) happily for now.

    David is emotionally closed off. But unlike most heroes, I actually understand why, and don't think he is being stupid, or immature, or any of the other things I usually think about emotionally stunted men. He is a reaper - and in this world reapers are only needed when the cause of death is not natural ... I'll let that sink in for a minute.

    Yeah. Those deaths. Uh huh. I don't think any of us could deal with that and not have issues. David deals by being emotionally closed off - from everything. Good and bad. So when his neighbor, Sarah, starts breaking down his barriers, he has good reason to fight it.

    Sarah is a scientist and needs proof of everything. I get that, I am the same way. Also I grew up in Missouri - it's the "Show Me" state. So show me. David certainly shows Sarah, but not right away. Of course.

    I never really connected with David and Sarah, but I don't really know why. The story was fine, the progression was predictable but interesting, and the characters were certainly unique. If I want an easy read, I will keep this series in mind, but I won't be waiting with bated breath for the next book.

    If you are looking for something that is easy to read, and that you can pretty much see what is coming from a mile away, this is the book for you. Yes it deals with death and all the nasty issues that come with it, but those aspects of the story are not overpowering.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    David is a reaper. Although, he isn't what you would normally t

    David is a reaper. Although, he isn't what you would normally think of when you picture a reaper. When he was alive he made committed some sins but was found redeemable and thus was brought back to earth as a human in order to help souls pass over. With ever soul that he reaps, he is one step closer to paying for his sins. Over the 60 years that he has been reaping, he's pretty much seen it all. Helping souls pass isn't an easy thing and in order to keep his sanity he has managed to lock down all of his emotions. However, when he meets his neighbor, Sara, he realizes that she can help relieve some of the pain from his job.

    I thought that this was an interesting take on reapers. I liked the the whole "redeeming your soul" part of reaping. I must admit that I am not on board with the whole animal testing but I was glad to see that Sara's job didn't come into play too much. Had I needed to read through a "testing" I would have put the book down and called it good.

    I wasn't really surprised by what takes place in this story. It is pretty predictable but I still enjoyed the story. The characters are likable and I found myself interested in their story and what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    A great start to a series! 3.5 David is a reaper who has shut

    A great start to a series!

    3.5

    David is a reaper who has shut down emotionally so that he can survive the hardship of his job. He has been at it for 60 years and this is the only way he thinks he can make it through his 'assignments'. That is until he meets Sarah, his next-door neighbor.

    Sarah was raised by her grandmother. She is a scientists and facts, statistics and analytical data are her way of life. Although her grandmother made her life as a physic, she believes that everything can be scientifically explained and that her grandmother is a fraud. David and Sarah meet and their attraction is instant. David insists that they remain friends and so they develop a friendship where they talk, have dinner and watch football. It is through this friendship that they develop a love affair that will be put through the ultimate test.

    This is my first book by Lori Sjoberg and I enjoyed it very much. The writing was filled with emotions, some humor and interesting events. Of course, the romance was very good and the chemistry between David and Sarah was very palpable. I enjoyed David's voice very much. He was a tortured soul with so many emotions held inside that I just wanted to sooth his pain. Especially when he was faced with making the toughest decision of his 'life'. Sarah was very likable too. She was funny and smart and once she determined she wanted something she went after it with all her might. I really like that in a heroine.

    The writing was good even if, for me, the pace dragged a bit in places. The characters were interesting and developed throughout the story which I appreciated since it helped me connect to them more. I also liked the secondary characters that were introduced, especially Adam. I found that he added a lot to the story. The interactions between the characters felt real and the world the author created was very interesting.

    As I understand it, there are more books to come for this series and I am looking forward to reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1