BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Grave Peril (Dresden Files Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 623 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(386)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    A Great Read.

    The whole series is awesome. Some of the jokes carry over throughout the series. All are great as stand alone books. But really shine as a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Ok deal

    1:your a jerk just walking around hating people2:your so unintelligant is just something you say when you dont have any ideas and3:work on your things to say when you speak ln the nook you sound retarted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Excellent addition to the series

    Another fantastic novel in the Dresden files series. This time Jim Butcher introduces the serious and devout Michael, a strong knight to go along with the goofy intelligent Harry Dresden. While I didn't necessarily like the ending of the book, but I kind of expected it to end that way. Still a solid book in a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Now I can see why this series has lasted so long and is so popular.

    Okay. Now I get it. Now I can see why this series has lasted so long and is so popular. This one was the best of the series so far.

    What really elevated it for me was that the main character was given an ally. In the previous two books, it's been very much a case of Harry vs. the world. He had "friends" here and there, but they tended to either be cannon fodder or a hair's breadth away from turning on him. Here he finally seems to have some useful back up. It may have moved things away from the "lone detective" and more towards the "buddy cop" vibe. But in a world with half a dozen variations on werewolves and three different kinds of vampire, it's nice to see that it's not just one lone wizard trying to defend a major city against all the nasty things out there.

    Also, I'm continuing to enjoy Butcher's world building. He hasn't fallen into a trap of introducing a new creature and limiting all of that type of creature to certain abilities and behaviors. Instead, we get a nice big intro that lets the reader get a thought into our heads regarding what we think this new thing will be like. But by the time we've gotten to the end of the story, he's usually given us several different examples that are different from the reader's expectations ranging from "Well, you were close, but this one thing isn't quite the same" to "you couldn't have been more wrong here". It helps to avoid problems of "it's X, but with the number's filed off".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Relate-able main character who's a wizard. World's growing!

    3.5 stars ~ Each book is getting better for me, and the world is amazing.

    Harry and his friend Michael, who happens to be the Hand of God as well, have been chasing ghosts around Chicago for two weeks. Now, they are heading to the hospital for another, dangerous one. The spirit world has gone ballistic. Michael brings up Susan's and Harry's relationship with Harry, asking if he loves her and getting him to admit it. Then tells Harry he needs more human interaction. Then we back up to the beginning of the day, leading up to this point. The day starts with a young female practitioner asking for his protection at closing time. Protection from a ghost killing her like in her vision, and Harry's at the center of all going on with the ghost she sees. The same night something nightmarish deadly comes through from the Nevernever one of Murphy's men goes mad. Harry crosses to the Nevernever to fight the bad spirit, having a run-in with his fairy Godmother.

    There is more mention of people in Harry's life, his evil sidhe Godmother. Interesting. And to see a touch of his life as to where she had become a part of it. Harry had some troubles when he was younger. But every time he ventures into the Nevernever - which is fairly never - she is hot on his trail to find him and keep him.

    We start right in with ghost action then fall back to earlier that day when it ends the day at the office with the young girl looking for protection.

    This story read better for me, flowed as a story from beginning to end. There are connections to the previous books but I think you could pick up with this book and start the series here. The connections between the characters seemed to fit better in this book for me. The books are getting better for me. I've heard the fourth is where they start to get real good, so I'm looking forward to it. I think the world and troubles might start to grow on me now.

    Harry is one that many could 'relate' to. He is what many would call 'human' as a character. He's powerful in magic, yes, but he wears like any other person. He gets tired. His guard falls down and others can get to him when he's not ready. Human. Harry is always beat up by the big showdown of the book, even before hand, but finds a way to come through.

    Oh, I had to laugh when Harry showed up at the ball! That was such a play on characters. The humor here is relaxing. There are quick comments that fit perfectly with the scene.

    This book ends with me wondering on what will happen with Harry...with the White Council, the vampires, Susan, and more. This story in this book is complete, but the characters feel bigger and live on, leaving us looking to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Good read for Butcher fans

    Good read for Butcher fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grave Peril, the Dresden Files, Book 3

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you love Dresden . . . .

    This book continues more of the same with Harry Dresden . . . which is a good thing. Butcher does a great job with placing Harry as a person in our world with his abilities. No extraordinary wealth, thanks or appreciation, just a good old fashioned reminder of what we love about the most human of our heroes and their less than perfect lives. This book flows particularly well because you sincerely don't see everything coming and several times during the book it feels like it should end but doesn't. Incredibly fun read (and I still don't see why it didn't translate well into TV). If you just want good escapist fun and miss reading about the original things that go bump in the night, this is your book, this is your series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If Your looking for a fast paced thrilling Fantasy/reality mix then you've found it!

    This book was an exciting and fantastic,thrilling Fantasy/reality mix. I love The Character Harry Dresden, He is the ultimate in underdogs. The guy just can't seem to catch a break. You will find yourself rooting for him. He's like this ordinary guy who just happens to be a wizard. He always seems to get deeper and deeper in trouble with the Supernatural and the natural. The other characters were very vivid too. The Story will capture you right from the begining and reading it is like watching a movie or tv show in your head. You won't want to put it down. Jim Butcher is a wonderful writer, with some of the best and original takes on the supernatural that I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Readers finally get a good look at the Nevernever

    Harry Dresden (wizard for hire) often refers to the Nevernever in the first books of the Dresden Files series, but in this book he pulls the reader straight into it. A realm of all sorts of spooks and even fairies, the Nevernever follows an esoteric sort of dream logic that might make some readers shy away. But this journey is one of hard, willful and fantastic magic, set in motion by a complicated twist of plotting that only immortal beings would have the patience for.<BR/> <BR/>Readers are thrown right into the action, which at times can make them feel as if they are missing something (they are, as far as I can tell some of the events referred to aren't experienced by the reader except for as flashbacks and Dresden's nightmares.) Harry and his friend, a true Knight of the Cross, Michael, are in their fourth or fifth night of hunting down a series of powerful ghosts who are attacking the real world with a strength that seems unprecedented, even so close to Halloween. But fighting specters that are trying to punish people long dead, for deeds long lost to history, is only the beginning as Harry discovers a strange spell, woven into the very being of the ghosts, that appears to be manipulating them into their attacks.<BR/><BR/>What follows is an almost painful series of events with so many possible bad guys that one has to wonder how Harry has survived so long at all. An iron will and indomitable stubbornness are threaded into Harry as firmly as the barbed wire-shaped torture spells are threaded into the human and ghostly victims of this book's Big Bad. A book that revels in loose ends, it leaves more than a few set ups for further books but it also brings the Nevernever solidly into the Dresden world, giving reader's imaginations and Dresden more territory to play in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    His Tombstone says it all

    Now we have White Court (oh yeah), Bram Stokers Black Court, Red Court, Ghosts, Dragons and a Kight of the Cross. What could go wrong with this book. The plot is so deed. Much more twists and turns than I expected. Perhaps to much? Depends on the reader. Another great novel by Butcher. With every succeding book, Harry's Kowledge and power goes up a notch. This series is turning out to be great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    long winded

    there was alot of harry getting his butt kicked all over the place. i don't know but i like the hero of the story to be little more awesome then he was being in this book. or maybe i am being bias because i don't like the ghost thing or whatever but all i know that this wasn't my favorite in the series. come on harry buck up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 174 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9