Customer Reviews for

Grave Secret (Harper Connelly Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 458 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

enthralling mystery

Harper Connelly's childhood was a nightmare living with her mother and stepfather, who were addicts having dopers and paying Johns coming and going at all times for drugs and sex. Her rock was her stepbrother Tolliver who with his sibling Mark tried to earn enough mone...
Harper Connelly's childhood was a nightmare living with her mother and stepfather, who were addicts having dopers and paying Johns coming and going at all times for drugs and sex. Her rock was her stepbrother Tolliver who with his sibling Mark tried to earn enough money to keep the family together. Harper and her sister Cameron took care of their half-sisters Gracie and Mariella. A lightning bolt struck Harper enabling her to find the dead which led them to having a job. People go to her to find out where the dead are buried or to find out how they died. Tolliver is her business manager.

The step-siblings are in a small Texas town near their hometown of Texarkana because wealthy Lizzy Joyce wants to know how her father Rich died. She is shocked to learn that her father's caretaker died from bleeding due to childbirth. Rich died when someone threw a snake at him. Lizzy believes Harper and now knows her dad was murdered. While near their home, they go to see their half-sisters adopted by their aunt and uncle. They learn Tolliver's father was just released from prison and wants to see them to make amends, but he does not want anything to do with his dad. Harper is still trying to find out what happened to her sister Cameron who vanished without a trace while walking home from school. Someone is upset that Harper is asking questions and tries to kill her
.but Tolliver and a cop save her life taking a bullet each aimed at her.

GRAVE SECRETS looks back into the childhood nightmares of Tolliver and Harper, who have come a long way from their past because of their caring for each other, which turned into romance (see ICE COLD and AN ICE COLD GRAVE). Questions that have haunted Harper since Texarkana might finally be answered if she has the courage and survives long enough to figure them out. Although a major coincidence helps the story line, Charlaine Harris provides an enthralling mystery that mesmerizes the audience with an underlying soulful romance while Sookie appears on TV.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ms. Harris has been spending too much time on Sookie

I can appreciate and admire Ms. Harris' success with the vampire series. What I can't appreciate is the half-hearted effort that she put into this book. Readers of this series have been anxiously waiting to find out what happened to Cameron. Although the mystery was fin...
I can appreciate and admire Ms. Harris' success with the vampire series. What I can't appreciate is the half-hearted effort that she put into this book. Readers of this series have been anxiously waiting to find out what happened to Cameron. Although the mystery was finally solved, the culprit was a joke, as was much of the book. Save your money and wait for the library edition.

posted by smoochys on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    Hope the next is better.

    I love this series but I thought this enstallment was a bit of a let down. It was nice to have the interaction with Harper's family and some past issues resolved but overall I though the book was a little boring. #3 was much more entertaining and much more of a page turner. However, it was nice to get family things out of the way. Maybe the next book will move forward instead of backwards.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing....

    I have to agree with the other reviews that say Mrs. Harris' focus on the Stackhouse Series caused the quality of this series to slip*. There is a noticable decline in the quality of the storyline that begins towards the end of 'An Ice Cold Grave'(book 3) and continues throughout this book. I found myself at times struggling to care, and for the first time, forcing myself to finish the book. The pace was too quick and choppy at times, struggling to seperate the action sequences from the dramatic family related portions. There was so much coming to a head at the end of this book, plots stemming from this individual novel and others that have been rolling along since the start. The ending came on suddenly, without warning. It was a massive set up for a lackluster conclusion. I wasn't sure what was more absurd the final showdown with her case and clients, or with the conclusion of her sister's disappearance. The aftermath.... which entails her sisters and her relationship with Tolliver, are basically wrapped in a few measely paragraphs, almost as footnotes. Of course everything was loosely tied up, where it could stand as a finished series, or be re-opened down the road. *Note: I don't blame her for focusing her attention on the series that is making her money and bringing her fame, but it is apparent that this series, which was very good in it's own right, took a nose-dive towards the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Mystery: Book 4 of the Harper Connelly series. I've looked a

    PB/Mystery: Book 4 of the Harper Connelly series. I've looked around and I'm pretty sure this is the last book of the Harper series. If it's not, it should be. All the loose-ends had their finale including Harper's relationship with Tolliver and what happened to Cameron. Tolliver is hurt in this book along with him being with Harper and frankly, he got boring. I liked him when he was on a Harper emotional roller coaster. Harper becomes stuck in a town where she becomes someone's doormat. The story is okay, but there were too many coincidences between Cameron and the current case. With all that, the story was readable, but I only recommend it if you have read the other three books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Grave Secret

    What a twisted ride! Was not expecting that ending to the series but very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Kind of disappointing

    The fourth book in the Harper Connelly series is all right, but it does have a couple of flaws, which are mostly attributable to poor editing.

    After doing her thing in a country graveyard, Harper and Tolliver have checked into a motel in the Dallas suburbs.

    Our heroine is standing beside Tolliver at the window of their motel room when a bullet flies through the window and into Tolliver - which causes her face to be hit by shards of flying glass. Later (p. 92 in the hardcover edition) she has returned to the motel to clean up and change her bloody clothes, and the motel has not only offered her a free room for the rest of the night, but the staff has moved her belongings to the new room. She is told "Your stuff's in your new room, and I don't think anything is missing. Everything seems to be in your purse."

    What's wrong with this picture? - other than the obvious question of how did they know what was supposed to have been in her purse? Oh, yes, flash back to page 86, where she is in the emergency room, "sitting in a cubicle, and someone had taken my wallet from my purse to get the insurance information."

    Putnam/Penguin group editors asleep at the switch, perhaps - this is very poor editing.

    Then, there is the denouement. Harper gets an urgent call from her client, demanding that she come to the client's home, immediately. Once there, she finds the client being held at gunpoint by...... and the crime is solved.

    Wait a minute. That's how the crime was solved in book two of the series. It's not a bad plot device, but not for every other book, and we all know that a writer with Ms. Harris' vivid imagination is worthy of better.

    Again, one has to ask: were the editors asleep at the switch?

    Will I purchase and read the next book in the series, assuming there is one? Certainly, but I hope that Harper spends considerably more time in the graveyards, doing her thing, and considerably less time being angst-ridden over her lamentable family situation. We all know, by now, that she and Tolliver managed to rise above a really, really rotten family situation, but it's time to stop wallowing in the fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Not as exciting as the other books

    I was really excited to find out what happened to Cameron in this final book. I liked the ending but I was let down by how they got there. Also I felt like the story dragged. I wish I waited for the book to come to my local liabrary rather that going out and buying it right away. The first three books in the series were excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Rushed

    I enjoy all of the Harper Connelly books and like all fans was anxiously awaiting the new one. It was a fast read and I enjoyed the characters; however it seemed to be rushed. The author was trying to wrap up every loose end this series had as if it is the last book. So sad. There does not seem to be anywhere else the series can go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Implausible

    I love Harper and Tolliver - but not this book.
    Nice to 'meet' Gracie, Mariella, Iona, and Hank.
    1] Other characters [ 'bad guys' ] are unbelievable - no good motives for worst actions.
    2] Cameron would have flunked Biology if that was conclusion for project - there are more than one gene pair involved in determining eye color; and brown plus brown can produce green [ and blue, hazel, gray - almost any color lighter than brown if it is in the genotype ]. Need a new fact/science checker.
    3] Neither Cameron nor Harper noticed a dif Gracie? Please!! They did ALL her care from afternoon to next AM every day, and only noticed eyes?
    Unbelievable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyable

    I have read several of Charlaine Harris' novels and short stories, including the Harper Connelly series, which I have enjoyed thoroughly. However, Grave Secret left me feeling a bit disappointed. The impression with which I was left was that MS Harris was anxious to end this series. As this is her prerogative, I will not quibble if this is her intent. However, I did not feel as if her main characters were as well developed as in previous novels in this series. The main plot line was engrossing. I do hope she continues the series. Harper Connelly, et al., would be missed.

    Bottom line, would I recommend this book? Yes but perhaps borrowed from the library or a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It was good but not one of her best

    I have read a good many books by Charlaine Harris. All of the Southern Vampire Series, which I really loved, all of the the Aurora Teagarden series, which were quick fun reads and all of the Harper Connelly Series. I was really looking forward to the last book in this series. It was going to tie up all loose ends and it did. I felt as if the book was rushed and the story line was not very good. Compared to the others books in the series it was abit of a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4