Customer Reviews for

Grave Secret (Harper Connelly Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 459 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

enthralling mystery

Harper Connelly's childhood was a nightmare living with her mother and stepfather, who were addicts having dopers and paying Johns coming and going at all times for drugs and sex. Her rock was her stepbrother Tolliver who with his sibling Mark tried to earn enough mone...
Harper Connelly's childhood was a nightmare living with her mother and stepfather, who were addicts having dopers and paying Johns coming and going at all times for drugs and sex. Her rock was her stepbrother Tolliver who with his sibling Mark tried to earn enough money to keep the family together. Harper and her sister Cameron took care of their half-sisters Gracie and Mariella. A lightning bolt struck Harper enabling her to find the dead which led them to having a job. People go to her to find out where the dead are buried or to find out how they died. Tolliver is her business manager.

The step-siblings are in a small Texas town near their hometown of Texarkana because wealthy Lizzy Joyce wants to know how her father Rich died. She is shocked to learn that her father's caretaker died from bleeding due to childbirth. Rich died when someone threw a snake at him. Lizzy believes Harper and now knows her dad was murdered. While near their home, they go to see their half-sisters adopted by their aunt and uncle. They learn Tolliver's father was just released from prison and wants to see them to make amends, but he does not want anything to do with his dad. Harper is still trying to find out what happened to her sister Cameron who vanished without a trace while walking home from school. Someone is upset that Harper is asking questions and tries to kill her
.but Tolliver and a cop save her life taking a bullet each aimed at her.

GRAVE SECRETS looks back into the childhood nightmares of Tolliver and Harper, who have come a long way from their past because of their caring for each other, which turned into romance (see ICE COLD and AN ICE COLD GRAVE). Questions that have haunted Harper since Texarkana might finally be answered if she has the courage and survives long enough to figure them out. Although a major coincidence helps the story line, Charlaine Harris provides an enthralling mystery that mesmerizes the audience with an underlying soulful romance while Sookie appears on TV.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ms. Harris has been spending too much time on Sookie

I can appreciate and admire Ms. Harris' success with the vampire series. What I can't appreciate is the half-hearted effort that she put into this book. Readers of this series have been anxiously waiting to find out what happened to Cameron. Although the mystery was fin...
I can appreciate and admire Ms. Harris' success with the vampire series. What I can't appreciate is the half-hearted effort that she put into this book. Readers of this series have been anxiously waiting to find out what happened to Cameron. Although the mystery was finally solved, the culprit was a joke, as was much of the book. Save your money and wait for the library edition.

posted by smoochys on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    A little disappointed

    The book was good, I just expected more from it. Plus I kind of felt like the author was cutting this series short, almost like she was bored of writing it. Just considering, most of her series are fairly long. The ending came abruptly and she seemed to sum up the series in a couple paragraphs. I was left a little disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    enthralling mystery

    Harper Connelly's childhood was a nightmare living with her mother and stepfather, who were addicts having dopers and paying Johns coming and going at all times for drugs and sex. Her rock was her stepbrother Tolliver who with his sibling Mark tried to earn enough money to keep the family together. Harper and her sister Cameron took care of their half-sisters Gracie and Mariella. A lightning bolt struck Harper enabling her to find the dead which led them to having a job. People go to her to find out where the dead are buried or to find out how they died. Tolliver is her business manager.

    The step-siblings are in a small Texas town near their hometown of Texarkana because wealthy Lizzy Joyce wants to know how her father Rich died. She is shocked to learn that her father's caretaker died from bleeding due to childbirth. Rich died when someone threw a snake at him. Lizzy believes Harper and now knows her dad was murdered. While near their home, they go to see their half-sisters adopted by their aunt and uncle. They learn Tolliver's father was just released from prison and wants to see them to make amends, but he does not want anything to do with his dad. Harper is still trying to find out what happened to her sister Cameron who vanished without a trace while walking home from school. Someone is upset that Harper is asking questions and tries to kill her
    .but Tolliver and a cop save her life taking a bullet each aimed at her.

    GRAVE SECRETS looks back into the childhood nightmares of Tolliver and Harper, who have come a long way from their past because of their caring for each other, which turned into romance (see ICE COLD and AN ICE COLD GRAVE). Questions that have haunted Harper since Texarkana might finally be answered if she has the courage and survives long enough to figure them out. Although a major coincidence helps the story line, Charlaine Harris provides an enthralling mystery that mesmerizes the audience with an underlying soulful romance while Sookie appears on TV.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful ending to the series!

    What a great ending to a good series. While most authors will continue series and let them get stale (just substituting killers or people for the same story line), Charlaine Harris decided to switch it up in this book. While I rather enjoyed the Harper Connelly series and think she could have squeezed a couple more out of it, I really appreciate the way she ended it. She tied up the loose ends with Harper and Tolliver's family, and gave us a totally different story line. I'm sad to be done, but thankful that I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and ties up the story lines from the previous books.

    As usual Charlaine Harris has produced an interesting book that provides, not necessarily a neat conclusion, but one that both satisfies and makes you want to read more about Harper Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Her Best Series

    I've read everything Charlaine Harris has ever published. THIS, is my favorite series and I am thrilled she is continuing it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So dark & beautiful

    I bought this book.

    Harris' Harper Connelly series is my favorite from her, far more I'm a little sad to say, than her Sookie books. Grave Secret is the fourth in the series that follows a young woman and her stepbrother (now lover, sounds weird, and it is a little weird, but they aren't related and often it works well) as they try to find the missing dead (Harper can sense the dead, a gift she got after being struck by lightning).
    With Grave Secret Harris dives deep into Harper and Tolliver's dark childhood. They return to Texas to visit with their half sisters amid a lot of stress and drama (mainly from their aunt and uncle who are very unsure about the effects Harper and Tolliver's visits have on the younger girls). Then while out with the girls Harper and Tolliver run into the last person they expect to see, Tolliver's father, now out of jail and looking to reconnect. The past comes flooding back, nearly emotional crippling Harper. But the present won't be ignored either, as someone who has reason to hate Harper and Tolliver shoots at them through the window of their hotel.
    While Harper is functional, the rawness of her traumatic past and her desperate need for Tolliver's support and understanding is evident in every sentence of this book. Now with him in the hospital and someone still trying to kill her for an unknown reason (not that there are no reasons, there are too many for Harper to be able to commit to just one) Harper has to step up and be the one to save the day.
    Where other series flirt with "the traumatic past", using it as a character shorthand to make more complex characters this series immerses itself in it, using Harper to explore "how does a person build a life after trauma" the way most urban fantasies explore "what if vampires existed".
    I highly recommend this series, as a satisfying mystery series, with compelling characters that readers will be able to truly connect with. Harris' strength has always been in her character building, but in this one her storytelling skills are in full bloom, packing a powerful, unforgettable punch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    New Discovery

    I liked the story. The characters were interesting and it made for a good read. I had never read anything by this author though I am aware that she has several series. Vampire stories do not appeal to me so I had avoided her. This is about a woman who can read the dead so it is kind of dark for some tastes. Based on other reviews, this may be the last in the series for these characters and their storyline, although I don't see why. There are some things left in this plot that can bridge into some other story lines even though they solve the mystery of their disappeared sibling. I will read more of her stories in the future. The main characters are likable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    A little surprised...

    While I was completely addicted to these characters again, I was a little let down in the plot progression. It's still a very good read if you have read the rest of the books in this series. I wasn't as consumed with anticipation with this book, but I still love the characters and what this author has put them through.

    The complete transformation of the characters relationships happens in this book and everything comes full circle. I have to say, I feel as if she has summed up the storyline for these charscters with this one. ALthough, I would love to see her continue this book series.

    A must read for fans of the series. You won't want to miss the end of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Harris as usual

    Yet another great installment in this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome read!

    This series is every bit as good as the Southern Vampire series and unfortunately has ended making me want more. Great mysteries that I would highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9