Customer Reviews for

Grave Sight (Harper Connelly Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(236)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I took a chance....well worth it!

I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i rea...
I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i really enjoyed reading it. not only because its a Harris book, but because its NOT vamp related. so if your a fan of Sookie Stackhouse, then Harper is another gal that would keep you interested in her journey....its a great read, cant wait to get the next books.
Also im going to purchase her other series.....once im done with these. She (Charlaine Harris) is the best writer out there. plain and simple. so i want to read everything she has wrote. she gives her readers such a plot to get into, while the characters become your friends, and enemy's. I hope this review is encourging enough to pick the book up and enjoy Harris' Escapism.....

posted by CrystalMarie84 on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

Well, this is the one and only book of this series I plan to read. Love the Sookie books but this was way too predictable and I found all the characters boring. To add insult to injury when I got to the last page on my nook the very last sentence was not there. At least...
Well, this is the one and only book of this series I plan to read. Love the Sookie books but this was way too predictable and I found all the characters boring. To add insult to injury when I got to the last page on my nook the very last sentence was not there. At least the book did download totally on my Mac so I could say I finished the book.

posted by avid_reader1590 on December 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 687 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I took a chance....well worth it!

    I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i really enjoyed reading it. not only because its a Harris book, but because its NOT vamp related. so if your a fan of Sookie Stackhouse, then Harper is another gal that would keep you interested in her journey....its a great read, cant wait to get the next books.
    Also im going to purchase her other series.....once im done with these. She (Charlaine Harris) is the best writer out there. plain and simple. so i want to read everything she has wrote. she gives her readers such a plot to get into, while the characters become your friends, and enemy's. I hope this review is encourging enough to pick the book up and enjoy Harris' Escapism.....

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this series

    This book was a wonderful surprise. I really like the Sookie Stackhouse series so I figured I would read some of C. Harris' other books. This book was really good. It got my attention and never let go. It's pretty fast paced and like her other books, the characters seem real and are very likable. I have to say, the second book is better than the first, and the third is better than the second. This so far is a great series. It has the right amount of action, drama, suspense, mystery, and romance. I can't wait for the fourth book to come out.(I think in Nov.)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    just push through it

    Okay, I borrowed these four books from a friend and since I'm on bed rest - I've got to read a ton of books to keep sane! So... I read this first one and thought - meh. It's predictable, redundant, and a bit annoying. But hey, what else was I going to do? The second one got on my nerves - i figured it out very quickly - but I endured and towards the end it got interesting. The 3rd and 4th of the series are very good and worth reading the first two to get to them. So, those of you that put this down, give them another shot.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    utterly fantastic

    After being struck by lightening, Harper Connelly can locate dead people and know if they died of natural causes, committed suicide, or were murdered. Relatives of missing people hire Harper to find their missing loved ones. Harper knows how they died because she senses the last minutes of the individual¿s life. Right now she and her step-brother Tolliver are in the Ozark town of Sarne, hired to find Teenie, a missing teenage girl. --- Harper finds the burial place and knows that the girl was murdered. She also discovers that Teenie¿s boyfriend didn¿t kill her and in remorse committed suicide but was murdered as well. Hollis, one of the police officers working the homicides, is interested in Harper who tells him that his wife Sally, the sister of Teenie was murdered and not an accident victim. Someone wants Harper and Tollivar gone and that person will not hesitate to use violence if it results in getting rid of them permanently. --- Considering that the heroine can find a dead body and learn how they died, she is amazingly normal and treats her skill like any of her other five senses. She even make a living out of it, not to exploit people but to give closure and sometimes even helping her client figure out who killed them if it was a homicide. Fast pacing, excellent character development and a strong storyline make GRAVE SIGHT an excellent reading experience. This fabulous opening gambit affirms that every series Charlaine Harris creates is utterly fantastic. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Grave Sight Review

    This summer I read a book called Grave Sight by
    Charlene Harris. It is about a lady named Harper and her stepbrother
    Tolliver. They make money by using Harper's special talents that she received by getting struck by lightning. Harper is allowed to see how people died by touching them, or just being in their presence. Although she can see what killed them, she is not capable of seeing who killed them.

    While working on a case with her brother, Harper finds out how two teenage children, Dell and Teenie die. Everyone is accusing Dell of killing Teenie, and then killing himself, but only Harper knows what really happened. Harper knows that they both got murdered, but she doesn't know who did the crime. As she and her stepbrother investigate another murder happens and Harper thinks that all the murders are linked together.

    Towards the end of the book, Harper's powers get stronger. She can see parts of the body but not the face of the murderers.

    For a reader that likes scary stories and mysteries I would recommend this book. Grave Sight has surprising twists, and a lot of suspence.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Different and Fun

    It's an offbeat plotline. Girl survives lightning strike and gains talent for communicating with the dead.
    She and her step-brother have survived an incredibly dysfunctional upbringing. They make their living traveling around, using her "gift" to solve mysteries for those willing and able to pay her fees. It's an interesting premise.
    I found the characters likeable. One reviewer described their sibling relationship/attraction as "creepy" and it certainly would be except for the fact that they are not related by blood.
    I enjoyed this fun read. You might too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    It was an interesting twist of Paranormal! Love the ending! Check it out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Bad... But Not Great Either...

    Harper Connelly can sense the dead. Since being struck by lightning as a child she has been able to sense the presence of death. Now, as an adult, she is using her gift to its best advantage. She has turned it into a career. Not the career she would have chosen for herself, especially since their death scenes play out in her mind once she makes a connection to the spirit.
    But when she goes to a small Ozark town to investigate the deaths of two teens she finds herself on the wrong side of the law. After finding the body of the second missing teen she is invited to her mothers home to talk about what she saw and the orgins of her gift, but shortly after they leave the mother ends up dead. Her head being beaten in with a candlestick. Forced to stick around in the backwards town of Sarne Harper decideds to do a little investigating. This only leads to more confusion and makes the townspeople even angrier that some strange outsiders have come poking around their "quaint" little town. So much so that they arrest her brother on bogus charges just to get under her skin.
    With a new discovery in every chapter this book does keep you guessing.

    I enjoyed this book but it won't be making it's way into my top ten anytime soon. This series is not nearly as good as her Shakespeare series or her Sookie Stackhouse series. I would give it a 3 out of 5 stars. But I do believe I will pick up the second book just to see where it goes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Not worth the cost

    I loved the Sookie Stackhouse series but Grave Site is a poor imitation of those books. The plot moved very slowly. None of the characters are particularly interesting or compelling. The resolution of the "mystery" was obvious from a third of the way through the book. All in all, I had to force myself to read to the end. Won't be buying anymore Harper Connelly stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    Predictable

    Well, this is the one and only book of this series I plan to read. Love the Sookie books but this was way too predictable and I found all the characters boring. To add insult to injury when I got to the last page on my nook the very last sentence was not there. At least the book did download totally on my Mac so I could say I finished the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Grave Sight is the first book in the Harper Connelly series by A

    Grave Sight is the first book in the Harper Connelly series by American author, Charlaine Harris. After being struck by lightning at fifteen, Harper Connolly is endowed with a special talent: she can find dead people and tell how they died. Life hasn’t been particularly kind to Harper, so she charges to use this talent, needing to make a living somehow, even if most people find this distasteful. With her step-brother and support system, Tolliver Lang, she comes to Sarne, a small town in the Ozarks, to find a missing local teenager, which she does with efficiency and respect. But it seems that someone in this small, somewhat incestuous community is unhappy about what Harper has revealed. Soon enough, Tolliver is in jail on a trumped-up charge and Harper fears for her own safety. In this foray into the paranormal, Harris has created a likeable if damaged heroine, an appealing sidekick and a cast of typical small-town characters. The dialogue is snappy and the plot has plenty of twists that, whilst entirely credible, will keep the reader guessing to the end.  In this instalment, Harper is threatened, shot at, made love to and attacked. This is an excellent mystery and readers who enjoy this novel will look forward to the second book in the series, Grave Surprise. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Loved it!!

    Charlaine harris writes a good mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Happy i read it

    Didnt know what to expect, but i love her sookie books so i figured why not? Very glad i read it. I zipped through the first 3 books. Now on to #4. Only reason i gave it 4 rather than 5 stars is because it starts off a little slow. But i enjoyed the characters. I like the idea of the heroine being a normal person who had a fluke thing of lightening change her life. But she rolls with it. A great and believable paranormal read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Horrible

    Horrible

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    not what I thought it would be

    I loved her other books found these hard to read, had to force myself to read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Predictable

    Horrifyingly bad.

    The suspect was so painfully obvious, I guessed it the page he/she was introduced...I kept reading hoping I was wrong, hoping there would be some sort of plot twist...there wasn't. If you're a fan of the Sookie series and want to branch out, you will be severely disappointed with the lack of character development (and lack of any sort of redeeming quality in a character)...I'd say a big old PASS on this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    If you love Harris's Stackhouse series you'll love these too!

    After reading all the Sookie Stackhouse novels I thought I would give this series a try and they truly did not disappoint! They are fun, entertaining and thrilling. I can't wait until the 4th in the series comes out in October 2009. Try them, they really are enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    What a Waste of a Gift Card!

    A really good concept for a new series that may be successful in someone elses hands! After browsing the first few pages, I was certain Ms. Harris was going to provide an exciting, first-rate page turner to curl up with. Imagine my disappointment when Grave Sight turned out to be a dreadful, weak storyline with flat, one dimensional, unlikable characters. The next time I find myself perusing the bookshelves at Barnes & Noble, I will definitely skip past Harris, Charlaine. To think I wasted a $25 gift card - I guess hindsight is definitely better then Grave Sight!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    OK, love Charlaine Harris, but Harper was a tough character for

    OK, love Charlaine Harris, but Harper was a tough character for me to love.  She annoyed me in the first book, Grave Sight, with her fears of being alone all the time.  But I plowed on and ultimately came to like her better in the  2nd, 3rd, and 4th books.  So I would rate this particular book a 3 and the others a bit higher.  It's a worthwhile series if you don't expect her to be spunky and fiesty like Sookie.  Just don't give up on the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Fantastic

    Keeps you entertained and intrigued. Huge fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series. I will definitely keep on with this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 687 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35