Customer Reviews for

Grave Sight (Harper Connelly Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(128)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I took a chance....well worth it!

I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i rea...
I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i really enjoyed reading it. not only because its a Harris book, but because its NOT vamp related. so if your a fan of Sookie Stackhouse, then Harper is another gal that would keep you interested in her journey....its a great read, cant wait to get the next books.
Also im going to purchase her other series.....once im done with these. She (Charlaine Harris) is the best writer out there. plain and simple. so i want to read everything she has wrote. she gives her readers such a plot to get into, while the characters become your friends, and enemy's. I hope this review is encourging enough to pick the book up and enjoy Harris' Escapism.....

posted by CrystalMarie84 on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad... But Not Great Either...

Harper Connelly can sense the dead. Since being struck by lightning as a child she has been able to sense the presence of death. Now, as an adult, she is using her gift to its best advantage. She has turned it into a career. Not the career she would have chosen for hers...
Harper Connelly can sense the dead. Since being struck by lightning as a child she has been able to sense the presence of death. Now, as an adult, she is using her gift to its best advantage. She has turned it into a career. Not the career she would have chosen for herself, especially since their death scenes play out in her mind once she makes a connection to the spirit.
But when she goes to a small Ozark town to investigate the deaths of two teens she finds herself on the wrong side of the law. After finding the body of the second missing teen she is invited to her mothers home to talk about what she saw and the orgins of her gift, but shortly after they leave the mother ends up dead. Her head being beaten in with a candlestick. Forced to stick around in the backwards town of Sarne Harper decideds to do a little investigating. This only leads to more confusion and makes the townspeople even angrier that some strange outsiders have come poking around their "quaint" little town. So much so that they arrest her brother on bogus charges just to get under her skin.
With a new discovery in every chapter this book does keep you guessing.

I enjoyed this book but it won't be making it's way into my top ten anytime soon. This series is not nearly as good as her Shakespeare series or her Sookie Stackhouse series. I would give it a 3 out of 5 stars. But I do believe I will pick up the second book just to see where it goes.

posted by vampreader54 on March 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 237 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Great mystery book for science fiction fans

    I have read the whole Sookie Stackhouse series and loved all the books, so I decided to branch out and try Grave Sight. I am glad I did because I loved it. Charlaine Harris's style of writing is easy to read and interesting. It's a good introductory book into the mystery genre if you are, like me, a science fiction fan. I just finished this book last night and consequently stayed up far later than I meant to just to reach the end! The only thing that bothered me was how weak the main character thought she was. I recommend this book for summer, which is coming up. It would be a great beach or vacation read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Harper Connelly a refreshing character

    After reading all of the Vampire books, I was ready for more Charlaine Harris, and picked up this series. I was immediately hooked. A refreshing twist, non-vampire related. I could not put the book down, although I think this series will appeal more to women than men. I quickly read through every one of the books, and I'm ready for more. Now I have started reading her Teagarten mysteries. I love Charlaine Harris' writing style. She is a winner in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining enough to entice you to buy the second in the series

    Harper Connelly, struck by lightning as a young girl, walked away with the ability to locate dead people and determine how they died by a buzzing vibe she receives when in close proximity to the place the body is located and she uses this peculiar ability to help families locate missing and presumable dead loved ones. That premise was enough to hook me: quirky enough to be interesting and not TOTALLY unbeleivable.
    The plot unfolded mechanically, meaning there were no particularly humurous or frightening moments or even any real red herrings. Her fling with the local law man seemed thrown in for the sole purpose of trying to convince me that she is not involved with her half brother.
    TO ME, The relationship between them is the creepiest part of the book. I don't have brothers but I doubt that if I did I would appreciate someone writing that when I hugged him tight I could feel his hard chest and breathe in and be comforted his familiar scent. EEEWWWW. I also doubt I would flop around in a bathrobe and want him to lay on the bed next to me while we sorted through the facts of a case. Anyway, this might not leap out at you at all, heck you might not even notice, but I did. I did finish the book and bought the second in the series hoping to like the characters more and hoping also that I might find the Charlaine Harris I grew to love when I read the Sookie Stackhouse series. This is an entertaining read but it is not as well contructed as any of the Sookie Stackhouse books but still infinitely better than a sharp stick in the eye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Harper and Tolliver

    While this series will never replace the Sookie Stackhouse series in my heart I just love these characters. Plots are a just a little bit predictable, but I really enjoyed reading all four books in the series. Hope she writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Different

    I picked up this book because I love the Sookie Stackhouse series. I enjoyed the uniqueness of the book because Harper is able to find dead bodies but the reason to stay in the town after the body is found is very predictable. The background story isn't all that great but the storey as a whole is interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    love to read it

    Grave sight is another interesting and enchanting story by Harris. She has a talent to write odd stories with charming characters and also keeps the reader busy figuring out who the killer could be. her stories are not traditional mystery stories but they still are worth reading.
    Grave secret and icy cold secret are also my favorites to read. You will find how the characters evolve and grow during the stories and what life changes have happened to them and why they are like they are.
    the main heroine has suffered from a lightning stroke. She and her half-brother are from a broken, divorced, drug-using home. She has been in foster care. Her life has not started so well but sh surely made the best of what she got and what special talents she gained from the lightning stroke: hearing / feeling dead bodies is surely a unique talent in mystery stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Grave Sight is a great series book!

    I loved this series! It is a series of murder mysteries with a hint of "otherness" because of Harpers odd ability and the way she finds bodies. All 3 books are out now so there is no waiting for the next book to come out, you can get the full story line back to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    I bought this book because I really enjoyed the Sookie Stackhouse books C. Harris wrote. Although I liked the Stackhouse books better I really enjoyed this book too. Harris really knows how to keep you reading. I heard the 2nd and 3rd books are even better so I'm looking forward to reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Fun Twist on Detective/Crime Story

    Interesting main characters and premise raise this crime whodunit above the norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    A fun little read..

    This book was a fun, quick read for me. I like mystery books and this one is told from a different perspective that I actually enjoyed--kinda quirky. I will certainly purchase others in the series in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Her style of writing keeps me interested and makes me feel like they could be real people. I enjoy the discriptions and yet she still leaves room for my brain to fill in some spaces.

    I enjoyed this book and seemingly a new take on "communing with the dead", I don't get bored and catch myself skipping ahead on the page as I'm apt to do w/many of the authors in this genre of writing. My only complaint is they are way to short and I finish them to fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I started reading this series to get though till the next Sookie book comes out. It took me some time to really get into the book. When I finally was able to really read it, it was pretty good. It has a hint of super natural but is more of a mystery. I look forward to reading the other Harper Connelly books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Harris FIX

    Just finished the Sookie Stackhouse Series and needed something new a clever. This series does it. Harper and her step-brother Toliver are great characters. Awesome reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I'm probably only one of two people in the world who isn't a fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series, but I was definitely looking forward to reading Charlaine Harris's GRAVE SIGHT. I wasn't disappointed--I think this book is an excellent start to a new series. <BR/><BR/>Harper and her brother, Tolliver, are both interesting and well-developed characters with the requisite flaws to keep them entertaining. When Harper was a teen-ager, she was struck by lightning--and given an extraordinary gift in the form of the ability to find dead bodies, and relive their last moments of life (i.e. tell how they died). She travels around the country with her brother as her assistant/bodyguard/accountant, traveling to aid whoever has hired her to find the body of a loved one or determine if they met with foul play. <BR/><BR/>As they travel to the town of Sarne, the bodies start piling up, Harper and Tolliver are suddenly suspects in a murder, and the suspect list just keeps growing and growing. The outcome was definitely, at least to me, unexpected, and I thoroughly enjoyed this beginning of Ms. Harris's new series. <BR/><BR/>The only small problem I had with the book was it's verrrrry slow-moving pace. I felt like the whole book could have been told in about 100 less pages, but it might just be that I was feeling in a hurry. <BR/><BR/>Overall, GRAVE SIGHT was a dark, brooding, suspenseful read--just the kind I like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Interesting Story but Very Slow-Moving

    I'm probably only one of two people in the world who isn't a fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series *g* but I was definitely looking forward to reading Charlaine Harris's GRAVE SIGHT. I wasn't disappointed--I think this book is an excellent start to a new series. Harper and her brother, Tolliver, are both interesting and well-developed characters with the requisite flaws to keep them entertaining. When Harper was a teen-ager, she was struck by lightning--and given an extraordinary gift in the form of the ability to find dead bodies, and relive their last moments of life (i.e. tell how they died). She travels around the country with her brother as her assistant/bodyguard/accountant, traveling to aid whoever has hired her to find the body of a loved one or determine if they met with foul play. As they travel to the town of Sarne, the bodies start piling up, Harper and Tolliver are suddenly suspects in a murder, and the suspect list just keeps growing and growing. The outcome was definitely, at least to me, unexpected, and I thoroughly enjoyed this beginning of Ms. Harris's new series. The only small problem I had with the book was it's verrrrry slow-moving pace. I felt like the whole book could have been told in about 100 less pages, but it might just be that I was feeling in a hurry. =) Overall, GRAVE SIGHT was a dark, brooding, suspenseful read--just the kind I like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Good read, light on the mystery

    I like this book. However, it's not a mind-bending mystery...there are only 2 or 3 major suspects. It's easy to guess who did it, but not easy to guess the motive behind the deeds. There's definitely some romance thing with the main character and her step-brother. It was kind of freaky at first...until the author detailed very specifically how they are related (not by blood). After that, the attraction between the 2 is kind of cute. She depends on him, he protects her. I'll be interested in reading more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2005

    Predictable but Good

    I really enjoyed this book in spite of the fact that I figured out who done it and why fairly quickly - like in the first 100 pages. Still, the characters were different from any I've read before, not 100% likable, perfect or beautiful. I read it in one day for two reasons it was too short and it was a good read. I hope to read about these characters again. I know that I can look forward to some unconventional characters in a commonly used genre that was still interesting and took a new twist in spite of familiar territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2005

    I 'see' a new following....

    A bit wierd but good - kept me guessing and I guessed wrong for the most part - love the characters and want to 'see' and read the next installment of this sister and brother team - glad I bought the book - passing it on to the other mystery fans in my family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 237 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12