Customer Reviews for

Grave Sight (Harper Connelly Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(264)

4 Star

(236)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I took a chance....well worth it!

I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i rea...
I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i really enjoyed reading it. not only because its a Harris book, but because its NOT vamp related. so if your a fan of Sookie Stackhouse, then Harper is another gal that would keep you interested in her journey....its a great read, cant wait to get the next books.
Also im going to purchase her other series.....once im done with these. She (Charlaine Harris) is the best writer out there. plain and simple. so i want to read everything she has wrote. she gives her readers such a plot to get into, while the characters become your friends, and enemy's. I hope this review is encourging enough to pick the book up and enjoy Harris' Escapism.....

posted by CrystalMarie84 on October 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad... But Not Great Either...

Harper Connelly can sense the dead. Since being struck by lightning as a child she has been able to sense the presence of death. Now, as an adult, she is using her gift to its best advantage. She has turned it into a career. Not the career she would have chosen for hers...
Harper Connelly can sense the dead. Since being struck by lightning as a child she has been able to sense the presence of death. Now, as an adult, she is using her gift to its best advantage. She has turned it into a career. Not the career she would have chosen for herself, especially since their death scenes play out in her mind once she makes a connection to the spirit.
But when she goes to a small Ozark town to investigate the deaths of two teens she finds herself on the wrong side of the law. After finding the body of the second missing teen she is invited to her mothers home to talk about what she saw and the orgins of her gift, but shortly after they leave the mother ends up dead. Her head being beaten in with a candlestick. Forced to stick around in the backwards town of Sarne Harper decideds to do a little investigating. This only leads to more confusion and makes the townspeople even angrier that some strange outsiders have come poking around their "quaint" little town. So much so that they arrest her brother on bogus charges just to get under her skin.
With a new discovery in every chapter this book does keep you guessing.

I enjoyed this book but it won't be making it's way into my top ten anytime soon. This series is not nearly as good as her Shakespeare series or her Sookie Stackhouse series. I would give it a 3 out of 5 stars. But I do believe I will pick up the second book just to see where it goes.

posted by vampreader54 on March 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I took a chance....well worth it!

    I didnt think i could really get into a non-vampire series. i have read alot of books, and all being vampire related in a way. but i just missed the way mrs. Harris writes. so i purchased this book thinking i would be taking a chance. well i instantly got into it. i really enjoyed reading it. not only because its a Harris book, but because its NOT vamp related. so if your a fan of Sookie Stackhouse, then Harper is another gal that would keep you interested in her journey....its a great read, cant wait to get the next books.
    Also im going to purchase her other series.....once im done with these. She (Charlaine Harris) is the best writer out there. plain and simple. so i want to read everything she has wrote. she gives her readers such a plot to get into, while the characters become your friends, and enemy's. I hope this review is encourging enough to pick the book up and enjoy Harris' Escapism.....

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    utterly fantastic

    After being struck by lightening, Harper Connelly can locate dead people and know if they died of natural causes, committed suicide, or were murdered. Relatives of missing people hire Harper to find their missing loved ones. Harper knows how they died because she senses the last minutes of the individual¿s life. Right now she and her step-brother Tolliver are in the Ozark town of Sarne, hired to find Teenie, a missing teenage girl. --- Harper finds the burial place and knows that the girl was murdered. She also discovers that Teenie¿s boyfriend didn¿t kill her and in remorse committed suicide but was murdered as well. Hollis, one of the police officers working the homicides, is interested in Harper who tells him that his wife Sally, the sister of Teenie was murdered and not an accident victim. Someone wants Harper and Tollivar gone and that person will not hesitate to use violence if it results in getting rid of them permanently. --- Considering that the heroine can find a dead body and learn how they died, she is amazingly normal and treats her skill like any of her other five senses. She even make a living out of it, not to exploit people but to give closure and sometimes even helping her client figure out who killed them if it was a homicide. Fast pacing, excellent character development and a strong storyline make GRAVE SIGHT an excellent reading experience. This fabulous opening gambit affirms that every series Charlaine Harris creates is utterly fantastic. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Grave Sight is the first book in the Harper Connelly series by A

    Grave Sight is the first book in the Harper Connelly series by American author, Charlaine Harris. After being struck by lightning at fifteen, Harper Connolly is endowed with a special talent: she can find dead people and tell how they died. Life hasn’t been particularly kind to Harper, so she charges to use this talent, needing to make a living somehow, even if most people find this distasteful. With her step-brother and support system, Tolliver Lang, she comes to Sarne, a small town in the Ozarks, to find a missing local teenager, which she does with efficiency and respect. But it seems that someone in this small, somewhat incestuous community is unhappy about what Harper has revealed. Soon enough, Tolliver is in jail on a trumped-up charge and Harper fears for her own safety. In this foray into the paranormal, Harris has created a likeable if damaged heroine, an appealing sidekick and a cast of typical small-town characters. The dialogue is snappy and the plot has plenty of twists that, whilst entirely credible, will keep the reader guessing to the end.  In this instalment, Harper is threatened, shot at, made love to and attacked. This is an excellent mystery and readers who enjoy this novel will look forward to the second book in the series, Grave Surprise. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Loved it!!

    Charlaine harris writes a good mystery!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    If you love Harris's Stackhouse series you'll love these too!

    After reading all the Sookie Stackhouse novels I thought I would give this series a try and they truly did not disappoint! They are fun, entertaining and thrilling. I can't wait until the 4th in the series comes out in October 2009. Try them, they really are enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Fantastic

    Keeps you entertained and intrigued. Huge fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series. I will definitely keep on with this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    OMG what a great book

    I started reading Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse books and I read all of them. Then I came across the Harper Connelly books and I love them. I just wish there were more. The first book in the serise Grave Sight was phonominal. I read it in one day. Then had to get the other two. Great books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Nice read

    Great series, to short. Always miss the characters at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Great series

    Read the 4 book compendium.loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I have to say after reading Sookie Stackhouse series, I was skepical about this one. But since I needed something new to read, I gave it a shot. Harper is a complex character and I just love her. The way that Charlaine writes her is just perfect. I was entertained and not once was I bored. Now I am excited to read more about Harper and any other series Charlaine has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series

    I picked up Grave Secret a few months ago at the library not realizing it was part of a series, and I loved it, so I hunted down the other books in the series. These books do fall into the paranormal genre, but they're really murder mysteries. The lead, Harper Connelly, is supposed to go to a job, find a body or tell the client how the victim died, and then go on to the next job, but it just doesn't happen that way. So then she and her brother are stuck in whatever podunk town the job is in, usually because the police want to grill her about how she found the body or knew the details of death, and they have to stick around until the killer is found. This is the first of the series and if I wasn't already hooked, this one would have hooked me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good Harris read

    As a huge Sookie Stackhouse series fan, and having read most of the Aurora Teagarden series, this was a good read. Hoping the second one is just as good if not better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Possibly her best series to date!

    This one is an easy five stars from me.

    My introduction to Ms. Harris' works was in a book club discussion of Dead Until Dark three or four years ago. After reading everything she had done in that series, I eventually branched out to her other series. One thing I've noticed through all of them, whether it's in the True Blood series, Lily Bard series (Shakespeare titles), or Aurora Teagarden, and her non-series works, is that she is first and foremost a mystery writer. Everything else is secondary.

    Grave Sight is the first in her Harper Connelly series. Harper is a troubled young woman from a broken home. She has more step- and half-siblings than you can shake a stick at. A few years before the book begins, she was struck by lightning. This changes her life. See, it gave her a "gift" ... She can sort of communicate with the dead. She gets a feeling for dead bodies nearby, and when she is close to them, she can tell how they died, through their eyes. It's as though it's happening to her.

    And this is now her job. With her step-brother Tolliver (also her business manager, partner, and bodyguard), she gets calls from police and others to come to their towns to help search for bodies, confirm causes of death, and the like.

    In Grave Sight, she is called to a small Southern town called Sarne, where a pair of teenagers has disappeared. The boy has been found, shot to death in what they believe is a suicide, while the girl is still missing. The police - who almost never believe her when she first enters a town - ask her to go ahead and give it a try. What she finds surprises them all. Unfortunately, it also puts her own life in danger.

    Every town has secrets, and this one has a doozie. She's just there to do one job, but keeps getting dragged back in, and things go from bad to worse the longer she stays.

    The book is probably her best-written to date, with fully formed characters and a setting that cannot help but draw the reader in. I enjoyed the heck out of it and look forward to the second book in the series, Grave Surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Love Harper Connelly!

    I decided to try reading another series by Charlaine Harris and I am now fascinated with another character. These are wonderful mysteries with a touch of the unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Loved this book!

    I have read the Sookie Stackhouse novels and loved them. I was looking for another series and stumbled across this one. I read this book in about two days. Due to some adult language, I would prefer my eleven year old daughter not read this book. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great series by a super author

    I have read Charlaine's Sookie series and wanted to experience another book from her. I chose this based on reviews and was not disappointed. It was different than her others but just as enticing. I was hooked as soon as I started the first chapter. If you like Charlain Harris you must read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    great book(grave sight)

    this book was geat it was funny and i like things to solve mysteries. don't care how we solve mysteries. that the character could find dead bodies and tell how they die. it was different and it was actually and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I love these books!

    Love Harper and her step-brother and all their trials and tribs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Great writer

    I love Charlaine Harris and her style of writing. The book grabs you right from the start and keeps on going. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ghostly Thriller

    I love Charlaine Harris's books. The Harper Connelly series is captivating, intriguing, funny, and romantic. Harper is so real you can see yourself in her. She is so smart but quirky and funny at the same time. The characters are unforgettable and Harper's experiences are one in a million. I can't wait for book 4 to come out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14