Customer Reviews for

Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended- Good Series so far.

I really like this series so far. It keeps you wondering what the end result is. If you like crime books you should read these.

posted by Purpleorchid1011 on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

let down

Only reading this series right now b/c I have nothing else to read. Love some of her other work and I just don't care for the characters or the action in this series. I like the concept and idea for the series, but that's about it. Sorry, just being honest.

posted by SunnieDLite on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 456 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    let down

    Only reading this series right now b/c I have nothing else to read. Love some of her other work and I just don't care for the characters or the action in this series. I like the concept and idea for the series, but that's about it. Sorry, just being honest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    solid writing, fair characters, mediocre book!

    This looks like it might be a starter book that Ms. Harris didn't work on quite enough. The idea of a traveling brother-sister psychics who find the dead (and the cause of their deaths), is spooky and exciting, but the book doesn't quite deliver in the way it is written, especialy the plot. At the end, I almost wished the bad guy got them, they were so pedantic and annoying! I am not sure how it can be fixed. It was worth reading (once), but not a page-turner, or something you'd keep to read again and again. The characters had personalities that were not special, and except for the one psychic ability, lived quite a crummy and mundane life paying the bills.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall a fun book - listened to it on CD while traveling. Original and a fun book.

    Plot: Harper Connelly is a young women with, after being struck by lightening, has a unique gift. She can locate corpses and tell how the individual died. After having a trouble childhood Harper and her step-brother Tolliver found a way to make a living off of her gift, and they travel around the country to do so. When Harper is hired for a job, her and Tolliver get in a little too deep and look like they could be murder suspects.

    Review: I enjoyed this book, which I listened to on CD while traveling. It was a good book that stayed in supernatural genre while giving me a break from the vampire scene for a while. It was a fun fast paced book. The only thing negative I can say about this book is the relationship developing between Harper and her step-brother is a little creepy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    A Relatively Good Series

    This series had a strong beginning, with the first book. This book was just so-so, but the 3rd and 4th were good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Grave Surprise is the second book in the Harper Connelly series

    Grave Surprise is the second book in the Harper Connelly series by American author, Charlaine Harris. Harper has been invited by a sceptical anthropology professor at Bingham College in Memphis to demonstrate her talent for determining cause of death at an old cemetery. She does well until the last grave, where she finds two bodies, the most recent burial being Tabitha Morgenstern, an eleven-year-old whom Harper had tried unsuccessfully to find in Nashville almost two years ago. Harper and Tolliver realise immediately this cannot be a coincidence. Soon they are embroiled in an investigation that attracts media attention (of the wrong sort) and have to face the distraught family. Throw into the mix a nosy PI, a single-minded FBI agent, a psychic ex-prostitute and her pierced and tattooed grandson, disbelieving police and family members with their own agendas, followed by yet another corpse in the same grave, and you have a first-rate mystery with plenty of twists and turns, a couple of red herrings and plenty of suspects. The reader learns a little more of Harper’s own history, Harper makes a startling discovery about herself and the psychic makes some personal predictions for her that the reader will do well to remember for the next instalment, An Ice Cold Grave. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended- Good Series so far.

    I really like this series so far. It keeps you wondering what the end result is. If you like crime books you should read these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    eh...

    I couldn't stay interested. not one of her best works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    very disappointed!!

    loved the first book in the series and was excited to read this one. it seemed very slow and just not very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In a Memphis cemetery cynical anthropology professor Dr. Clyde Nunley tests Harper Connelly¿s clairvoyance skills in front of his students he expected either a fraud or failure. However, Harper realizes something is wrong with a freshly dug grave. Inside is a different person than that identified by the cemetery.------------- Surprisingly, the victim is a missing twelve year old, Tabitha Morgenstern, whom Harper failed to find two years ago in Nashville. The police look closely at Harper and her manager, her stepbrother Tolliver Lang as prime suspects as the coincident seems too much. Clyde sticks to his belief that Harper is a con artist, but soon after he accuses her of chicanery while imbibed, his corpse is found in the same burial plot that Tabitha was interred in. The Memphis police live in Harper¿s hotel room looking for evidence while Tabitha¿s family wants more from the psychic and the media turns this into an even wilder circus.------------- The second grave investigative paranormal mystery (see GRAVE SIGHT) is a terrific amusing sleuth tale in which the heroine and her stepbrother decide to take on the case because they are the prime suspects only every clue they find adds to the growing evidence that the siblings did the homicides. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with dry graveyard humor yet contains a strong sleuthing subplot. As with the Sookie tales, Charlaine Harris has another winning series to her credit.---------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Carl

    Walks in with Kira

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Another winning series

    This is a difficult premise to grab an audience with, I think. Harper Connelly and her brother are enticing and believable. Ms. Harris handles embarrassing and tricky circumstances well and never makes me feel this is somehow forced. It does not "smell of the lamp." Too bad she can't write them as fast as I can read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly enjoyable

    Gave it 4 out of 5 simply because it was a bit slow. Still enjoyed it and would def reccomend the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Love this

    I love how CH writes, and the HarperConnely series is more "real" than the others, which I oved, to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Very good series. I highly recommend. Charlaine Harris is the best!

    Love this series of books. Charlaine Harris is one of the best authors I have read from. I love all of her book series that I have read so far and this one is very suspensful and exciting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Love the Series

    I am really enjoying this series by Charlaine Harris. Harper and her brother Tolliver are invited to a graveyard to test Harper's abilities in front of a students. What they discover leads them on a mystery related to an old case of theirs. The next book is An Ice Cold Grave.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    glad I kept reading it

    Okay, I didn't really care for the first book in this series and the second one (this one) was getting on my nerves as well. It was predictable. Plus, I find myself having a hard time getting behind Harper and also I just didn't get why people reacted so violently to her. I understand it's weird, but to run her out of towns? No. I figured out the villan and their motive pretty darn quickly and was almost going to put it down. I am glad that I kept reading it though. The last third of the book was pretty interesting. Plus, I just finished the 3rd and 4th book of this series and really enjoyed those a ton more! So.. if you're thinking about this book, read it understanding that it'll be worth it in the end and then the 3rd and 4th will make you very happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book of the series.....

    Now that I have finished all four of the Harper Connelly books, I can say that Grave Surprise is indeed my favorite. I like the fact that it picks up right after the first, almost like the next chapter instead of a new book, and it dives right into the fray. If you enjoyed the first one, or were wanting just a little more and are on the fence,then you should give this one a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Another great mystery story

    I'm hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    I Love Charlaine Harris!

    I love Charlain Harris' writing style. Any story she tells pulls me in and holds me so it is hard to put the book down! Cliche but very true. I enjoy that I can't always figure everything out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A thoroughly enjoyable read

    I became a fan of Charlaine Harris when I discovered the Sookie Stackhouse novels and, having read all of them, decided to try another of her ongoing series.

    Grave Surprise is the second book in the Harper Connelly mysteries, and it does not disappoint. Ms. Connelly, having been struck by lightning at the age of fifteen, has acquired the ability to find dead bodies and to discern their cause of death. Ms. Harris' characters are as vivid as her imagination, and the reader is able to suspend enough of his/her disbelief that the plot works.

    What does disappoint, however, is the poor editing. Ms. Harris has been given the same short end of the editorial stick by the Putnam/Penguin group as have several other best-selling authors, notably, WEB Griffin, Clive Cussler, and a couple of others.

    A prime, but by no means the only, example of this laxity is in the use of the word blond. Men are blond and women are blonde - this is the correct usage, and has been for a very long time. Even if you accept the premise - and I do not accept it - that the distinction has blurred in recent years, at least be consistent. In the mass market paperback edition of Grave Surprise, a female attorney is described as blond on page 55, but by page 56, she has become blonde. The word is inconsistently spelled throughout the book.

    I don't know whether to blame a) the typesetters; b) the proofreaders; c) the editors; or d) all of the above. The same problem occurs in the Sookie series.

    Color me picky, if you like, but little details like this are much more annoying than flaws with plots, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 456 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23