Customer Reviews for

Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended- Good Series so far.

I really like this series so far. It keeps you wondering what the end result is. If you like crime books you should read these.

posted by Purpleorchid1011 on May 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

let down

Only reading this series right now b/c I have nothing else to read. Love some of her other work and I just don't care for the characters or the action in this series. I like the concept and idea for the series, but that's about it. Sorry, just being honest.

posted by SunnieDLite on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Grave Surprise is the second book in the Harper Connelly series

    Grave Surprise is the second book in the Harper Connelly series by American author, Charlaine Harris. Harper has been invited by a sceptical anthropology professor at Bingham College in Memphis to demonstrate her talent for determining cause of death at an old cemetery. She does well until the last grave, where she finds two bodies, the most recent burial being Tabitha Morgenstern, an eleven-year-old whom Harper had tried unsuccessfully to find in Nashville almost two years ago. Harper and Tolliver realise immediately this cannot be a coincidence. Soon they are embroiled in an investigation that attracts media attention (of the wrong sort) and have to face the distraught family. Throw into the mix a nosy PI, a single-minded FBI agent, a psychic ex-prostitute and her pierced and tattooed grandson, disbelieving police and family members with their own agendas, followed by yet another corpse in the same grave, and you have a first-rate mystery with plenty of twists and turns, a couple of red herrings and plenty of suspects. The reader learns a little more of Harper’s own history, Harper makes a startling discovery about herself and the psychic makes some personal predictions for her that the reader will do well to remember for the next instalment, An Ice Cold Grave. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In a Memphis cemetery cynical anthropology professor Dr. Clyde Nunley tests Harper Connelly¿s clairvoyance skills in front of his students he expected either a fraud or failure. However, Harper realizes something is wrong with a freshly dug grave. Inside is a different person than that identified by the cemetery.------------- Surprisingly, the victim is a missing twelve year old, Tabitha Morgenstern, whom Harper failed to find two years ago in Nashville. The police look closely at Harper and her manager, her stepbrother Tolliver Lang as prime suspects as the coincident seems too much. Clyde sticks to his belief that Harper is a con artist, but soon after he accuses her of chicanery while imbibed, his corpse is found in the same burial plot that Tabitha was interred in. The Memphis police live in Harper¿s hotel room looking for evidence while Tabitha¿s family wants more from the psychic and the media turns this into an even wilder circus.------------- The second grave investigative paranormal mystery (see GRAVE SIGHT) is a terrific amusing sleuth tale in which the heroine and her stepbrother decide to take on the case because they are the prime suspects only every clue they find adds to the growing evidence that the siblings did the homicides. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with dry graveyard humor yet contains a strong sleuthing subplot. As with the Sookie tales, Charlaine Harris has another winning series to her credit.---------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Carl

    Walks in with Kira

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Another winning series

    This is a difficult premise to grab an audience with, I think. Harper Connelly and her brother are enticing and believable. Ms. Harris handles embarrassing and tricky circumstances well and never makes me feel this is somehow forced. It does not "smell of the lamp." Too bad she can't write them as fast as I can read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Love this

    I love how CH writes, and the HarperConnely series is more "real" than the others, which I oved, to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Very good series. I highly recommend. Charlaine Harris is the best!

    Love this series of books. Charlaine Harris is one of the best authors I have read from. I love all of her book series that I have read so far and this one is very suspensful and exciting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite book of the series.....

    Now that I have finished all four of the Harper Connelly books, I can say that Grave Surprise is indeed my favorite. I like the fact that it picks up right after the first, almost like the next chapter instead of a new book, and it dives right into the fray. If you enjoyed the first one, or were wanting just a little more and are on the fence,then you should give this one a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    Another great mystery story

    I'm hooked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    I Love Charlaine Harris!

    I love Charlain Harris' writing style. Any story she tells pulls me in and holds me so it is hard to put the book down! Cliche but very true. I enjoy that I can't always figure everything out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    great series(grave suprise)

    this series was great and it was different how she solve mysteries. i given gave to my sister to read and she loves. charlaine harries writes good mysteries and keeps me reading. i have to finish my book the day i start reading it. characters good semi normal people and just doing jobs they love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Pleasant Surprise

    I had never read Charlaine Harris before and this was a very pleasant surprise. After you accept the premise of Harper's "gift" you will find a well written and intriguing story which moves quickly to a satisfying ending. I have ordered the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Series!

    I love Charlaine Harris! After reading her Sookie Stackhouse series, I chose this series, Harper Connelly. I was not able to put it down. I went through the 3 books in this series in a week. The 4th book is due out in Oct-09 and I am waiting with baited breath! I already have it pre-ordered. If you like action, mystery, murder, a little bit of romance tension and continued exciting reading, you have to pick up this series. They are easy reads, but totally attention grabbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Compelling 2nd in series

    Unique characters being developed & refined in this 2nd outting with lots of good mystery & turns. Not a distracting amount of romance. Ms Harris has a definite new and strong female lead character to keep reads excited for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Great Great!!!

    I really liked this one. This series is going to be in my personal collection and it's defenitly a reread! I'm still waiting for something to really happen with Harper and Tolliver! I'm loving Charlaine Harris's Series, Great work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Can't get enough of Charlaine Harris!

    Charlaine Harris has not failed me yet! I have loved everyone of her books. Her books always surprise you and never let you put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Harper Connoly

    I absolutely loved this book. I recommend the whole Harper Connoly series to everyone. If you enjoy mystery books this is a really good one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Addictive

    Charlaine Harris is a master of mystery, mixing humor, romance, horror, and suspense perfectly. It's impossible to get bored reading this or any of her books. Harper Connelly and Sookie Stackhouse make great heroes that we can relate to in a fantastical setting. Harris' books are addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ms. Harris never fails to deliver

    This was a great read. Harper and Tolliver are great characters that are well developed and believable. The book has a good pace to it. I couldn't and didn't put the book down until it was finished and could not wait to start the third book, "An Ice Cold Grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a fun read!

    I first read charlaine harris' sookie stackhouse series and loved them! I then decided to check out her other series since I found sookie to be so amusing and fun. I definitely was not disappointed with any of the quirky characters and storylines. Though sookie will always be my favorite, readers will definitely not be disappointed with harper connelly. If you like a little whodunnit mixed with humor and the supernatural then this is the series for you. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoy Charlaine Harris! I different perspective!

    Charlaine Harris' books have a different perspective on the world (to me) and it is enjoyable! She thinks out of the box and "Grave Surprise" is no exception. I look forward to more Harper Connelly books because I think there is alot more for Mrs. Harris to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 204 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11