Customer Reviews for

Graveminder

Average Rating 4
( 418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant adult fantasy debut

There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower ju...
There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower just to draw it out. This is one of those books. I woke up this morning with 40 pages left and it killed me all morning to sit at work. Thank the gods for lunchtime. Now I'm wishing that I hadn't devoured it so quickly because I wasn't ready to say goodbye to the world. Guess that means I'm gonna have to re-read it.

I loved Melissa's YA series, Wicked Lovely, and had been looking forward to this book for months. It did not disappoint. The world she has created is unique, the characters are brilliantly written, the romance between Rebekkah, the Graveminder and Byron, the Undertaker, was hauntingly beautiful and I really hope this is only the beginning.

Way to go, Melissa! Your first adult fantasy novel was spec-frakkin-tacular!

posted by MThomas1975 on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    A Bit of a LetDown

    I was attracted to this book for weeks before I finally bought it. I started off really into the story and the main character. Then it went from I couldn't put it down to totally predictable. I have to disagree with most of the reviews. It wasn't that it was a bad story it just wasn't as captivating as I thought it was going to be. It' an ok read.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    not bad but not great

    The Graveminder started off very strong: sympathetic characters, intriguing premise, mystery, some genuine creepiness, but in my opinion fell apart before the end. Significant aspects of the plot that begged for a more thorough treatment were glossed over. The two main characters accepted soul-crushing legacies and responsibilities with little angst or internal struggle and that just didn't ring true to me. The conclusion was predictable, pat, and anti-climactic.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Not too bad a read

    When I first started reading this book, I felt like it had been written by someone about 13. The heavy sex scenes and some of the other descriptive scenes had an air of someone who thought that was the way descriptive writing should be done and it came across as someone quite youthful. It wasn't bad,though, so I kept reading. The book got better and the premise was quite good. Typical of a lot of authors, though, they seem to get to a point where, it seems, they have nowhere to go or have run out of ideas to keep the story going, so they quickly end. It leaves the reader a little unsatisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Bland

    Personally there is nothing that stands out to me about the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    As a big fan of Melissa Marr's Young Adult series, I was really

    As a big fan of Melissa Marr's Young Adult series, I was really excited to see what she would do with her fist adult novel. I was actually a little disappointed. The first half of the book moved really slowly. Though people were being injured and murdered, there just wasn't a huge sense of urgency and, because the reader is given insight into multiple characters POVs, it's very obvious from the beginning what's going on with the town and what Bek and Bryon's eventual places in the town would be. The love between them just didn't steam or torture the way it should have. After the first 50%, the story did pick up speed and the resolution was appealing.

    As always, Melissa Marr's writing was dark and beautiful, full of description that showcased the scenes.

    Originally posted on goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Good story, hard to read

    I loved the plot of this book. However, it was hard to get to get into. The chapters seemed to drag on. I thought more than once when what was suppose to be a shocking revelation, umm I already figured that out... a while ago. While the idea of the story was excellent and I enjoyed it, it could have been executed better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Disappointing

    The beginning appeared promising but the plot and characters lost steam halfway through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Disappointing...

    This book was not put together very well. It left too many unanswered questions and left me in the end saying "really? Is that it?" Could have been better since it definitely had an interesting story line. Thats what helped me stick with it through the end but left me feeling dissapointed. I would not recommend reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Predictabe

    It had potential. Seemed like the author was tired of their own work the way the ending was rushed and predictable. The epilouge was an awful attempt to tie up loose ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Won't be finishing...

    The premise was really interesting but the 'hook'--as in the first chapter--was misleading. Instead of following the character and course of action that had me interested, we switched people. I couldn't get myself past that, really. I wasn't ready to 'meet' someone new. Now I've lost interest and, while I may eventually finish, it won't be any time soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    This book is very interesting in the beginning, the drops the ba

    This book is very interesting in the beginning, the drops the ball in the last half. I only paid 1.99 for it, so I'm not complaining, but it isn't worth more than that. Seems like an editor would have caught the plot conflicts and corrected them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    good story but it drug on and on

    good story but it seemed to go on forever I was ready for it to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Mediocre

    The idea for this book could have been interesting but the author is just not good enough. The characters are paper thin (and in Rebbeka's case very annoying), there is no suspense build up and the history goes round and round to endup nowhere. She probably should have stayed with her books for teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ever hear of cutting to the chase?

    Melissa Marr hasn't. The first 50 pages of the book were nothing but infodump mixed with a hearty dose of uncompelling romantic angst. Maybe this works for teen fiction, but personally, I found the progression of the story dull and predictable. If the editor would have told Marr to just start the book with the actual plot and not 50 pages of background info (that's 1/6th of the book) I would have given Graveminder a higher rating. Too bad...the premise seemed very promising.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2