Customer Reviews for

Graveminder

Average Rating 4
( 413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant adult fantasy debut

There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower ju...
There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower just to draw it out. This is one of those books. I woke up this morning with 40 pages left and it killed me all morning to sit at work. Thank the gods for lunchtime. Now I'm wishing that I hadn't devoured it so quickly because I wasn't ready to say goodbye to the world. Guess that means I'm gonna have to re-read it.

I loved Melissa's YA series, Wicked Lovely, and had been looking forward to this book for months. It did not disappoint. The world she has created is unique, the characters are brilliantly written, the romance between Rebekkah, the Graveminder and Byron, the Undertaker, was hauntingly beautiful and I really hope this is only the beginning.

Way to go, Melissa! Your first adult fantasy novel was spec-frakkin-tacular!

posted by MThomas1975 on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    @Everyone on both sides of the "price" debate - I DON'T CARE!

    I wanted to read a review of THIS book and instead I have been regaled with both sides of the ebook price debate. Can everyone just either write a review pertaining to the actual book or not bother posting at all?! Thank you!

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unfortunately it just isn't quite as fantastic as I was hoping it would be.

    Claysville is a small town that keeps itself to itself. Very few people leave and those that do always find their way back.

    Byron Montgomery thought he could leave Claysville behind but nowhere else is quite the same. Nowhere else is home. So he comes back to work with his father, the local undertaker.

    Rebekkah Barrow only lived in Claysville for a few years but it's the closest thing she has to a home. When her grandmother Maylene is killed, Bek knows it's time to go home. Even if nothing about Claysville should feel like home without Maylene.

    Seeing each other for the first time in years Rebekkah and Byron learn together that Claysville isn't a normal small town, Byron's father is more than the local undertaker, and Maylene may have had her reasons for attending every town funeral--reasons that had nothing to do with being eccentric and everything to do with keeping Claysville safe.

    Maylene told Rebekkah everything she needs to know. Byron is ready to follow in his father's footsteps. Together will they be able to put everything right in Claysville before it's too late in Graveminder (2011) by Melissa Marr.

    This is Melissa Marr's first novel that is not young adult. She is also the author of the Wicked Lovely series.

    I should preface my thoughts by saying I haven't read any of Marr's other books. I am also not a fan of zombies (I'm on Team Unicorn).

    Graveminder has all the makings of a really great story: a generations old curse, a small town, lots of secrets. The idea is clever and intriguing. The characters are varied and interesting. But all of that never gels together to make a cohesive book.

    First and foremost, the story is too slow to get to the point. Marr throws readers right into the action with a promising prologue. Only to leave readers hanging until page 100 (of the Advanced Reader's Copy I read) to receive any kind of explanation about what is going on in Claysville and what role the Barrow and Montgomery families play in it. There is a fine balance between informing a reader and keeping a character in the dark until a key moment. Graveminder did not achieve that balance.

    The other, bigger, problem with Graveminder is that Rebekkah is the protagonist of the story (the narrative viewpoint shifts between different characters with the bulk belonging to Byron and Rebekkah). She is important and vital and she is in many ways a hero in the plot. But she never feels real. Instead she comes across as one dimensional as if some important piece is missing. Byron is slightly better as a character (to be fair he is not bogged down with grief the way Rebekkah is at the beginning) but his unfailing devotion to Bek never feels quite realistic between her constantly pushing him away and his even more constant devotion.

    Graveminder is an interesting addition to the world of American Gothics. Marr offers a unique premise and an original take on death, among other things. Unfortunately it just isn't quite as fantastic as I was hoping it would be.

    Possible Pairings: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris, Zombies Vs. Unicorns edited by Justine Larbalestier and Holly Black, Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry, The Demon Trapper's Daughter by Jana Oliver, Generation Dead by Daniel Waters

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Very good!

    This was a good book from an author I've come to expect great things from. It was definitely engaging and a cool concept. Not quite as good as some of her other work, but it was in some ways refreshing to read a book that tied it up pretty nearly at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Starts of strong but fell in the end

    The book started with a fresh take on the business of being dead. The Graveminder, a person to help the dead either stay put or get back where they belong, and "her" Undertaker, a person under contract to take the Graveminder back and forth between the living and the dead and protect her. Awesome, with this strong opening and unique mythos, I was hoping for a great read. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. The most interesting part of the book's created world lies in the land of the dead and its characters, but little time is spent there. Instead, much of the story focuses on the relationship struggles and haunted past between Rebekkah and Bryon. While I love a good romance with some challenges, their story felt tedious and slow due to the constant repetition of plot points about why Bek couldn't let herself be with Byron and about all of the information that has been withheld from the two of them. Both characters acted much less mature than expected for well-travelled adults in their mid to late 20s. Due to this, pacing dragged until the later portions of the book. Plus I found it hard to really feel for either character, I wasn’t able to connect with either one strongly enough. Byron, not the brightest bulb, constantly comes back to her instead of finding a non-crazy woman to settle down with. There was also a LOT of rehash in this book, as characters catch each other up on previous events and have the same conversations over and over again. However, Ms. Marr is a gifted writer and I expect since this was her first novel for adults that she will continue to grow into the talent and originality shown in the first half of her book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    On the fence about this one.

    This book probably would have been more successful as a teen novel if it had a few things cut out like language and a semi-love scene. The sexual tension between Bek and Byron was ridiculous. Throughout the book, Bek would deny she was in love with Byron and then throw herself at him and say to him "This doesn't mean anything." That got old pretty fast. The mystery about Mr. D and the contract kept the book interesting, in fact, I wish the book would have included more of the backstory since that seemed more interesting than what was actually happening in the book. The book ended with a few opened questions leaving it open to a possible followup. In the end, this was a toss up for me. I liked it but it's not one I would recommend with confidence.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Sometimes the love story got cheesy and annoying. It took away from the flesh-eating zombie part of the story. Still not the worst book I've ever read though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    ok

    Had high hopes for this one. It was alright, but not as good as I expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Interesting

    The premise is interesting and different but there were parts that just dragged. The author spends a lot of time on character development but seemed to miss several key points with the and it is hard to wholly invest in them as a reader. The ending was way too rushed and fell very flat, like she just needed to end the book so she came up with a quick not so great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Interesting

    Good but too much time developing characters which made the end feel rushed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Strange

    Pithy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Enjoyed it.

    It was a quick read. The characters were well written but the plot became increasingly predictable. The story felt rushed and I think the book could have been a little longer. Over all, I did enjoy the book however, I don't think I could read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Grest subject matter

    Love the story line and realness of main characters. They had a bit of depth. Book was much too graphic for me however and i doubt i will try this author again as blood and gore add nothing and just grosses me out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Just ok...

    Slow to start and not really very good. I found myself skimming through it to try and finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    A bit silly

    The premise of this book was interesting, but I did not feel that it was well developed. The characters are bit flat. I'm not sorry that I read it, but would not choose it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Great concept! Good writing

    I thought overall this was a good book. The premise was great and I liked the characters. I just wished there was more meat to the story and more background info and details. Overalk worth reading and I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book and wanted a seqel to read (I couldn't find one).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    This book is ok

    This book is ok. It is really more of a chick book. I like the idea and plot but if you want a horror book this takes you only half the way there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Not a fan!

    I didn't love Graveminder. I wanted to, but I found myself trudging through as if I were reading a how-to guide. The concept was great! The execution, not so much. The lack of description left the senses dull and the character development was weak. Disappointing considering what an orignal story line this was. Unfortunately the author did not win me over with the sudden change of heart (and personality) in her herione toward the ending of the book. Not my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Ok but slow

    I think this book was slow. I mean it was good, but it took a long time to get to the point of what was going on. Even then the plot was dull for me. I like more scarey action type books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5