Customer Reviews for

Graveminder

Average Rating 4
( 418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(134)

3 Star

(81)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant adult fantasy debut

There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower ju...
There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower just to draw it out. This is one of those books. I woke up this morning with 40 pages left and it killed me all morning to sit at work. Thank the gods for lunchtime. Now I'm wishing that I hadn't devoured it so quickly because I wasn't ready to say goodbye to the world. Guess that means I'm gonna have to re-read it.

I loved Melissa's YA series, Wicked Lovely, and had been looking forward to this book for months. It did not disappoint. The world she has created is unique, the characters are brilliantly written, the romance between Rebekkah, the Graveminder and Byron, the Undertaker, was hauntingly beautiful and I really hope this is only the beginning.

Way to go, Melissa! Your first adult fantasy novel was spec-frakkin-tacular!

posted by MThomas1975 on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant adult fantasy debut

    There are some books that are so good that you can't put them down and read them until your eyelids close on you. There are books that you try to read fast because it grips you so tight that you wanna get to the end and then when it ends you wished you'd read slower just to draw it out. This is one of those books. I woke up this morning with 40 pages left and it killed me all morning to sit at work. Thank the gods for lunchtime. Now I'm wishing that I hadn't devoured it so quickly because I wasn't ready to say goodbye to the world. Guess that means I'm gonna have to re-read it.

    I loved Melissa's YA series, Wicked Lovely, and had been looking forward to this book for months. It did not disappoint. The world she has created is unique, the characters are brilliantly written, the romance between Rebekkah, the Graveminder and Byron, the Undertaker, was hauntingly beautiful and I really hope this is only the beginning.

    Way to go, Melissa! Your first adult fantasy novel was spec-frakkin-tacular!

    39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    gl; thanks for your MAY 17 post which in the second line you wro

    gl; thanks for your MAY 17 post which in the second line you wrote a comment that should have been prefaced with a SPOILER ALERT. This has been addressed here many times. Please be mindful of the people who are reading the review to determine whether or not they want to purchase the book, and have not read it.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Please write a review. Not a book report.

    Why do you feel compelled to tell all the details of a book? Just a simple 1-2 lines telling whether you liked it and whether you recomend it to others. NOT THAT HARD PEOPLE.

    21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An exhilarating horror fantasy

    Rebekkah Barrow returns home to Claysville to attend the funeral of her beloved grandmother, Maylene who was murdered just like Beks' stepsister Ella. However, Beks is unaware that she has been chosen to replace her grandma who attended all funerals and told the dead to "sleep well and stay where I put you" as the town Graveminder. The function requires the person to provide food to the deceased so they remain in the Land of the Dead and not that of the living.

    At the same time her former lover Byron Montgomery has become the Undertaker replacing his father William. The Undertaker works closely with the Graveminder as they have for centuries. As the pair diligently hunt for Daisha the teen who may have been murdered and has joined the Hungry Dead because they willl assault the living of Claysville.

    With a great spin to the zombie mythos, this haunting dark thriller hooks the reader once Beks comes home from San Diego as the new Graveminder accompanied by the new Undertaker Byron struggle in their new unwanted positions. Two rookies with limited mentoring available must make everything right before the Hungry Dead begin to leave town in this exhilarating horror fantasy.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    scariest book of the season!

    by chapeter one you will be looking over your shoulder noticing no one there, and yet....
    Keeps you racing to find out what happens to Bek, Boyd and others... will they survive or can the graveminder stop this "thing" before it rips the city apart...your going to need to keep the lights on, even in the middle of the day!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    LOVE THIS AUTHOR !!!!!

    MELISSA MARR IS GREAT! I LOVED HER WICKED LOVELY SERIES.

    AS FAR AS ONE OF OUR FELLOW BARNES AND NOBLE READERS IS CONCERNED, REGARDING THE PRICE, SHE IS RIGHT. WE WERE PROMISED 9.99, AND SOMEONE SEEMS TO BE GETTING GREEDY. WETHER YOU AGREE WITH THEM OR NOT, ISN'T THERE SOMETHING CALLED FREEDOM OF SPEECH? THEY CAN SAY WHAT THEY LIKE REGARDING THE MATERIAL. JUST AS YOU GUYS CAN. I WAS SURPRISED AT HOW RUDE ALOT OF THE RESPONSES ARE. EVERYONE HAS THE RIGHT TO THERE OWN OPINION FOLKS. AND TELL ME WHERE ELSE EXACTLY ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO VOICE THEIR GRIEVENCE OVER THE PRICE.

    IT WOULD BE AS IF I SAID "IF YOU DON'T LIKE WHAT THE REVIEWERS ARE WRITING, THEN DON'T READ THE REVIEW!!!!! HUFF AND PUFF" GET ALL INDIGNANT. SERIOUSLY. WHY DON'T YOU GO AND READ LIBRARY BOOKS, SO YOU AREN'T SO OFFENDED BY THE REVIEWERS! NOW HOW STUPID DOES THAT SOUND? EXACTLY.

    NOT ONLY ARE THEY RIGHT ABOUT THE PRICE OF THE D-I-G-I-T-A-L BOOKS, BUT YOU GUYS ARE BULLIES. NICE WORK PEOPLE.... :(

    5 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent, Dark, twisted, and lovely.

    Marr out does herself with this dark world. No-one can create these romantic twisted stories like her. You will love the characters and not be able to put this down. Absolutely fascinating.
    A must read!!!

    PS Shut-up about the ebooks and review the darn book pls

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Another great Melissa Marr novel!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Very clever. Marr created a fantastical but believable meeting o

    Very clever. Marr created a fantastical but believable meeting of the  worlds of the living and the dead, and wove in a compelling romance. the characters are interesting and dimensional. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    I think this book is great! It's different & interesting &am

    I think this book is great! It's different & interesting & the characters are likable. It's unlike a lot of books I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    This could make a good movie! Fast fun read

    This could make a good movie! Fast fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Graveminder

    This book had it all; suspense, drama, and a love story. I could not put it down. The adventure and mystery begins right at page one, and keeps you engaged until the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    My review: It was the first Melissa Marr’s book for me. I have not read her YA books, so I did not have expectations to Graveminder either. I found the book in the book store and decided to read it. I enjoyed it. Graveminder was a spooky and fun book to read; it was well-written, the settings were good. Regarding the plot: The story starts with the death of Maylene, who is a caretaker of Claysville graveyard. After her death Rebekkah, the main character is moving into the house what Maylene left behind. Bek meets with a guy who she loved, with Byron, who works at his father’s funeral house. Strange things start to happen in Claysville and also with Bek who sees a dead girl. People in Claysville are dying in macabre ways and both Bek and Byron are trying to find out what is happening. Maylene’s family is also drawn into the story, where one of the family members is very envious and angry with Bek for reasons that Bek has no ideas about. Step by step Bek and Byronare getting closer to the reasons behind the deaths and clarifications who they really are – Undertaker and Graveminder. The idea behind the story was interesting and different from what I have read before. Melissa Marr created a world which was special and filled with captivating characters and interesting turns. Regarding the characters: I was sometimes little bit confused with Bek who seemed indecisive and weak in some situations. Otherwise she was well written, she was smart, intuitive. She had a broken heart which needs to be protected. She had difficulties of letting go with her past and trust issues – so very complex character. I liked Byron. He was like an anchor and light house for Bek – very supportive and patient with her. The supportive characters were good, too and some of them were better written than the main characters. Claysville with its history was an interesting place – no people got ill or diseases, people lived peacefully and yet, it was creepy to read about. There is something about the town which you cannot point out in the beginning of the story but as the story goes, the reader finds out about the deal with the Death. Daisha was an interesting character – dead, but still alive. I liked her – touched by evil and yet does the good deed. Generally: I really enjoyed Graveminder by Melissa Marr and I will definitely keep an eye on her future books, too. Graveminder had unique settings, a world which was fanciful and creepy. It was easy to read and it was real page turner!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Creepy and awesome!

    I really hope this is going to be the first in a series. I still have a lot of questions about this new world into which I've immersed myself, but this is a great beginning. Just the right blend of creepy and quaint... like I imagine the fictional Claysville to be. I finished this book in two days and then passed it along to my mother whol finished it in two days. We will be anxiously awaiting more from Ms. Marr.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Haunting

    I haven't been so haunted by a book since Lisey's Story by Steven King and Heart-Shaped Box by his son, Joe Hill!
    This was a really good book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Unfamiliar Author

    But an interesting, engaging and memorable story, well done! The plot is original and the characters well written. Definitely worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    I have had Melissa Marr¿s Wicked Lovely series on my to-be-read

    I have had Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series on my to-be-read list forever, but for some reason, I never start it. Wanting to read something by Melissa before I committed to a full series, I grabbed a copy of Graveminder and settled in for what I thought would be a quick evening. Fast forward two weeks. I still had only made it past a few chapters and was waffling on whether or not I wanted to finish it. I hemmed…I hawed…and then I grabbed the book and dove in.

    And thank goodness I did.

    First, let me get this out of the way. Graveminder is creepy. Like really creepy. There’s something not-quite-right about the town of Claysville…something that will make your hair stand on end and your eyes keep drifting to that dark window you’re sitting a tad too close to. There’s odd occurrences, women performing rituals in graveyards and dead things walking around.

    See? Creepy.

    The two main characters are Rebekkah and Byron. They have so much history together – it’s as if there is a wall of baggage and pain standing in between them. Rebekkah handled the difficulties of her life by running away, though she returns to town (albeit temporarily) when her grandmother dies. This brings her back into contact with Byron, who I fell in love with almost instantly. Of course when the two of them end up “on page” together, that’s when the sparks…and the creepiness…really begin to fly.

    There were times in the book when I wasn’t the biggest fan of Rebekkah. I’m more of a “pull yourself up by your bootstraps and get a move on” kind of gal while Rebekkah seems to be using the death of her sister to keep her emotionally stuck. She’s a bit immature and unfocused but you kind of gloss over that because of, you know, the dead people walking around that she’s now forced to deal with for the rest of her life.

    Total bummer.

    In the end, I rated this book five stars. It was a tough one for me to get into, and I happen to think it should be categorized as YA/NA instead of Adult. By the time I reached the final page, I had fallen in love with Byron and even began feeling supportive of Rebekkah. Melissa’s writing is so vivid, she doesn’t write a scene, she paints one. Beautiful, beautiful words. I was lucky enough to meet her (and get my copy of Graveminder signed) last year, and was completely smitten with her. A wonderful lady writing pretty words…what more could I ask for? Maybe one of these days I’ll actually start that Wicked Lovely series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Great read

    I loved this book. I wish she would write a sequal, it really needs a second book. So many things left unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I couldn't put it down !

    This is a really good book and I wish it had been longer. I highly recommend reading it if you like eerie books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    A different take...

    on the zombie genre. I enjoyed this book a great deal. I thought it was a unique and entertaining read. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8