Customer Reviews for

Grave's End: A True Ghost Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    This book was very chilling. One questions why the author subjec

    This book was very chilling. One questions why the author subjected herself and her children to the terror in this house for so many years. The children were deprived of peaceful childhoods and the author is ultimately left with post-traumatic stress disorder. The most disturbing part is when the author is held down on the bed and sexually assaulted by an unseen force. She repeatedly experiences this type of attack and identifies the entity as first male and then female, and then she is uncertain. Very disturbing. An overall good read, however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing

    I purchased this book because it looked very interesting and had great reviews however I was very mislead. The writer never once captured my attention; I myself having had suffocating experiences she never made me feel what she was going through. In fact she came off as a very whiny person while her children acted more as adults. Also very disappointing was how she did not push on the history of the house and only started researching it so many years later. You would think for someone so smart that would have been one of the first things she did also the fact that she never removed her children from this environment. I know financially she could not afford to move but she could have allowed her children to stay in her parent's house. Being a parent who has experienced these things personally I would never wish or tolerate that for my children. Over all her writing was mundane and they way she told her story was not captivating at all. I don't know how one person said a movie should be made of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Really honest and a great addition to any library!

    This book is a very good book to read if the paranormal is what you are into. I like that it is was written from a persons personal experience and the effects this experience had on a family. I found it to be a very easy read and have lent it out to a few who have shared my interest in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Put it Down

    I truly did not want this book to end as I became thouroughly invested in the writer's experiences. I have passed this book onto to numerous people who have enjoyed it just as much as I have. If you are interested in the paranormal from the perspective of those who have lived and breathed it, not thrill seekers with night vision cameras (although they do have their place in the paranormal society,) then you'll want to definitely read this book. It's well written, fast pased, and quite compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Fun read

    the beginning of the book was a little slow (a full chapter explaining the house was a little too much for my liking). however the rest of the book was quick and spooky. the ending left a few questions unanswered. however that is how it happened and real life. she doesnt have all the answers to what occured to her so she couldnt give all the answers in the end of the book. i felt that what happened to her and her family really happened. and i would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good ghost story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    Could not put it down...Loved it!

    I'd like to see it in the big screen one day...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Excellent book!

    This is a great book for people interested in the supernatural. For those that are just starting their interest it is a great way of saying that you are not alone in this interest. The author gives great detail and keeps herself sounding believable while telling the reader about very extraordinary events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Surprisingly droll

    I was anxious to read this book only to be very let down.The Author drove me nuts with her denial through two thirds of the book.Everything that happened seemed repetitive or reminiscent of happenings in so many other like stories.Slow moving and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    It was Great!!

    I read this book in one day. I just couldent put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    AWESOME BOOK!

    This book was recommended by a good friend of mine. Once I bought the book, I couldn't put it down, (I bought it in '03', I am just now revewing it on line!) This book is so fascinating. My father is a medium, so I really understand paranormal things. I wasn't disapointed with the ending. I think it fit perfectly! Elaine really put allot of thought and feelings into the book. I Love horror/mystery, so this one fit right into my category. This book Rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Hard to put down, but disappointing ending...

    This was a great book, very hard to put down. However, the ending was very disappointing. It just didn't seem to fit in with the rest of the story. I also bought this book for my friend and she felt the same way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    Good Scary Read!

    I really enjoyed this book, except the writer lingers too much and goes on and on about their lives, it gets to be too much at times but the actual hunting story is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Very Good

    Honestly, I didn't get scared. Maybe that's because my family was very open about paranormal sightings when I was younger. This was really cool. I do however come from a very religous background and don't believe in 'Cleaners.' Anyone can 'clean' their house on their own. But really it was very fun. I liked reading about the sightings and the expeiriences. The scene with the family cat is amazing. I knew animals were perceptive but I had no idea they could be so intuitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    A wonderful story!

    This book really drew me in. Although I also felt that the author went into too much detail, it helped me understand her feelings as well. A good scare, read on a dark and rainy night...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    AWSOME

    This book was great! I couldnt put it down.It really got me a few times that i slept with the lights on lol I would have to say this is a MUST read if u like scary stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    A really good and quick read

    I got through this book in about 3 hours. It's a terrific read, not easy to put down. I can certainly understand the hesitance, but at times the mother seemed reluctant to learn about what was going on, didn't take initiative soon enough. Sounds like that professor might have just wanted to use her for his own purposes? Only until close to the end does she pick up the pace with her own investigations. I love the way she ended it, giving the reader the ability to think openly about the events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!

    This is a great "ghost story" book! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    i havent read this book yet hahah

    but it looks really good im into real life stories and the reviews made me want to pick this book up. i get scared really fast and i guess if its real itll scar me for life but i love the thrill!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2002

    mind grabbing

    when i first read the reviews to this book I thought that it was very ming grabbing. Mercado keeps the reader on edge through out the whole book. every chapter is filled with some new chilling detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    The book to start all books

    I read the book Grave's End it was my first ever ghost story and because of her that is all I look to read any more. Ghost story after ghost story ohh I'm getting scared right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2