Customer Reviews for

Gravity (The Taking Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excite

    This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excited for, the cover is pretty sick and the description I found on Goodreads had me hooked instantly. You mean to give me a novel about romance, aliens, the future and the fact that everybody on Earth might suffer should the MC (main character) not make the appropriate choices? You had me at aliens.

    Gravity by author Melissa West is the story of main character Ari Alexander, the daughter to one of the most powerful men in North America . The story is set in a dystopian future in which aliens invaded Earth due to their planet running out of water, after a treaty was signed, the aliens and humans decided to live in a peaceful existence… that is as long as the humans allow them to steal small amount of their microscopic cells. Every single night at midnight aliens come when humans put on their patches and steal parts of their bodies, no big deal right? That is, until Ari loses her patch and finds herself awake when her alien is taking from her, and she learns just who her alien is. The super attractive, Jackson Locke who is (gasp) an Alien spy. Jackson and Ari work together to find out just what secrets are being kept from the public and what the alien leader, Zeus, is hiding. It’s not until Jackson and Ari begin to fall for each other that things begin to get dramatic and it becomes evident that nothing is ever going to be the same again.

    Can I be the first to say that when it came to the possibility of Jackson being an Alien spy, I totally figured it out right after he and Ari first “meet”? The fact that Ari’s patch magically showed up seemed too unlikely, I knew that there was something wrong with that attractive Jackson and I’ll admit that I ignored my gut when it came to how sweet he was to Ari. After reading the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout, I’ve found myself falling pretty hard to alien bad boys and Jackson is the complete package. He’s the one character that Ari literally cannot have, and that just made me (and Ari) want him so much more. He was sweet, badass and positively to die for despite his mood swings.

    The sci-fi world found in Gravity is one that I wouldn’t mind living in, despite the fact that an alien would be stealing from my body and that the human species is under attack by an alien threat. But I mean, other than that, I wouldn’t mind getting to be like Ari or her friend Gretchen. Why? Because the two are total badasses! They get taught how to fight in school and throughout the novel Ari gets to use her fighting skills in a style that is straight out of a Suicide Squad action scene (and that’s a comic for those of you who don’t know).  From start to finish, Gravity was a novel that I had such a fun time reading, especially with the strong opening chapter and the cliff-hanger ending. All in all, I want the next book… now.

    I would recommend Gravity to fans of alien novels, YA dystopia & romance as well as fans of sci-fi.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    I've been in such a reading slump and this was just the book to

    I've been in such a reading slump and this was just the book to pull me out of it! I think the thing that threw me in this story was that I originally believed GRAVITY was another paranormal romance. Wrong. I'd classify this book as a science fiction thriller with a dash of highly-believable romance thrown in to make an already great book, outstanding. GRAVITY was incredibly refreshing and reminded me a lot of Beth Revis's ACROSS THE UNIVERSE (which I loved!). 

    Hands down, the best part of the book is the action. THE ACTION!!! At one point, I actually glanced down at my Nook ensure that I wasn't farther into the book. I couldn't believe how much had happened within the first 75 pages. One thing's for sure, West doesn't hold back when it comes to keeping the reader entertained. And the ending? Get the heck out of here! 

    I will absolutely, positively be buying HOVER when it comes out in August. Also, for the record, I got a digital copy of this book from Entangled Teen to review...and immediately bought myself a print version so I could keep it in my library. That should tell you how much I liked it! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Wow.

    I have been looking forward to reading this book for a long time and the story did not disappoint. What an amazing book. I stayed up late into the night because I couldn't put this story down. There was a bit everything to hold my attention: action, mystery, suspense and a romance. Usually, I am big on the romance aspect in a story but the plot and story line of this book were so great that I would have been okay without. I am glad there was a bit of romance, though, and I was pleased that this did not turn into a (traditional) love triangle!
    I recommend to fans of the Divergent series for the action and fans of the Lux series for the aliens.
    Looking forward to the others in the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed Gravity! I do love a good sci-fi and this book

    I really enjoyed Gravity! I do love a good sci-fi and this book certainly gave me just that! Not to mention- HOT ALIEN ALERT! Dang, do I love those. Set in a futuristic world where humans are forced to cooperate with aliens, known as Ancients, Gravity has a bit of everything for all readers: mystery, intrigue, romance, action, adventure- you name it! Sometimes science fiction books can start off confusing as the author works to set the stage and begin their world building, but I did not find that to be the case here at all. I was drawn into the storyline and this idea of the Taking pretty quickly.


    The Taking happens to humans every night- they wear a mask where they are basically made immobile while an Ancient comes and performs the Taking on them- the Ancients take some of the humans antibodies in order to survive. However, the mask also serves to protect the Ancients' identity.


    Our protagonist, Ari, is destined to become the Commander as well as set to marry her friend Lawrence (Law) who is to be the future President. As a seventeen year old, she already has a lot of expectations and responsibilities placed on her- she is working hard to earn her spot as the top seed in Op training, beating out Jackson Locke- her biggest competition. Imagine her surprise as she discovers her Ancient is none other than the beautiful, tough boy himself! Her world is completely turned upside down at this new revelation and sends her seeking answers to things she may not be ready to know. I liked Ari's character a lot. She is tough, fierce, and strong. Yet, she is realistic too. I really like how she thinks through things before doing them. She doesn't rush in to situations blind. She is smart and calculated and I really liked that about her.


    Jackson, on the other hand, I had trouble reading. At school, he comes across as cocky and confident and treating Ari as if she's nothing more than a blip on his radar. However, when it's just the two of them he is different. He is sweet, genuine, and more open. We do realize there is a reason for his duality, but it still made him a difficult character to trust. Jackson needs Ari's help- the treaty the humans have with the Ancients isn't holding like it should be and some of the Ancients are going rogue, determined to cohabitate with the humans. Jackson is asking a lot of her: help him prevent a war between their races and essentially betray everyone she loves or do nothing. I ended up really liking Jackson's character- he is a victim of circumstance and did what he had to do, knowing Ari would be affected by those decisions.


    Doing nothing isn't Ari's style. If she feels she can help prevent horrible things from happening, she's going to step up and do what she needs to, no matter the consequences. The more she works with Jackson, the more she starts to fall for the Ancient. Of course, this is crazy: she's a human, next in line to be the Commander, AND she already has a prearranged marriage. Yet, the heart wants what it wants! She knows Jackson is holding things back from her, yet she doesn't realize just how much those things will affect her. One of those things is revealed at the end of the novel and WHOA. Did NOT see that twist coming at all.


    I loved all the twists and turns this story took. I couldn't stop reading- it was so engaging and I just had to know how everything would play out! So many things happen that will change Ari's life forever, and I am looking forward to seeing this series continue in Hover. (I wish I could elaborate and say more, but I definitely don't want to ruin this story for anyone- go read it yourself!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great book!!!

    A great book, kept me completely distracted for two days of nonstop reading.. I can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Umm

    There is a good storyline here but it's un developed. It needs more detail. The author also needs to work on how it flows. It seems so choppy and has weak links.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    THIS IS A AWESOME BOOK? THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK. READ IT.

    I read this book in a day. I just could't tear my eyes away. It wasn't my FAVORITE novel but it was a really good one. So, if you like action, adventure, romance, suspence, and sci-fi, you will LOVE this book.
    P.S. this is a good book for YA's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    (Source: Purchased on kindle from Amazon.co.uk) 17-year-old Ari

    (Source: Purchased on kindle from Amazon.co.uk)
    17-year-old Ari lives in a dystopian society, where every night aliens come to every human’s bedroom and suck antibodies from them.
    Ari is in training to be the next engineer commander after her father, but doesn’t expect to find herself in the middle of yet another war – the aliens claim they’re peaceful and want to coexist, but the government wants to get rid of them anyway.
    Can humans and aliens coexist? Can Ari be what her parents want her to be? And is she falling for the alien that comes to her room every night?


    This was a brilliant sci-fi dystopian, and I really liked it.

    Ari was a girl whose parent’s had always expected a lot of her, and had been training her since she was tiny, grooming her to become the next Engineer Commander. She trained constantly, and always did what she was told. I liked how when the situation called for it she did what she needed to do, and went against everything that she had ever been taught, because she trusted her gut to know what was really right, even if it wasn’t what her parents would want her to do.

    I liked the storyline in this book. It wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, which was good because it had some really unique ideas. I thought the whole thing about the aliens needing antibodies was very interesting, and I liked how the author managed to mix real-life science with the science of the aliens.
    I liked the tension in this book, and I liked how there was both action and romance. The story had good pace and flowed really well, and although there were a couple of points that were maybe a little shaky I was able to look past these because I was enjoying the story so much.
    I thought the ending was pretty good, and I’m really looking forward to the next book in this series!
    Overall; brilliant sci-fi dystopian story.
    9 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Great read

    Loved this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    U R ALL WRONG

    For those of u who do not think this book is good then im surprised u can read because u r obviously lacking a functional brain and/or decide to not use ur brain wich is rather unfortunate because u need it. GRAVITY IS AMAZING AND I CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!! Anyone who does not agree can just shut up and keep it locked in their unfunctionable brain.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Meh

    Boring and weak start. They try to make it exciting but its not. Characters arent well developted either. Not enough diolaoge. Srry but its a thunbs down :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Interesting story idea but weak in spots

    Interesting story idea but weak in spots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved that this book was different and the main character was a fighter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Unique twist to aliens 2nd only to alien huntress gena showaltet

    I liked this book one of the best alien books i read second only to alien huntress the plot sort of got lost in the romance thats why i gave thus a novel a 3 and not a 4 or a 5 but i did like unique spin to alien storu and the relationsip between law and jackson kind of shook me the author got me there with how they are connocted and i loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Unique Sci-fi read

    Nice, quick young adult sci-fi read. Refreshing that it wasn't the same old YA story line and feel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    So a great book all around! I have no critiques! I loved it! I w

    So a great book all around! I have no critiques! I loved it! I went into this book with really no expectations, and I was so pleasantly surprised!! If you are looking for this book to be like Obsidian than you have come to the wrong place, this was on the other end. Melissa created such a real and perfect description of life in the future with or without aliens. The characters were flawless and the writing was so smooth and effortless! Fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Love the fantasy stuff. Love the alien factor. Didn't expect t

    Love the fantasy stuff. Love the alien factor. Didn't expect this book to end how it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I loved it

    I love it and I can wait for the squeal to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Gravity is the first book in The Taking series by Melissa West.

    Gravity is the first book in The Taking series by Melissa West. It centers around seventeen year old Ari, who lives in the future. The humans share the planet with aliens – also called Ancients. They are able to appear human. Each Ancient is assigned to a human for the Taking – a process in which the aliens have to take antibodies from the humans in order to survive on Earth. You're not allowed to know who is assigned to you. They come into your room at midnight every night. The humans are supposed to wear an apparatus that makes it impossible to see anything during the Taking. However, on one particular night, Ari can't find hers. She closes her eyes, but can't resist from peeking. That's when she realizes that the Ancient assigned to her is a boy from school – a boy who is pretending to be human.


    The world building in this book is pretty good, which is necessary for a dystopian book. It's always interesting to me to read books set in the future – to imagine what could happen to the Earth under certain circumstances. In this book, much of the civilization is destroyed because of WWIV. The Ancients and humans don't exactly live in peace. Both species want to take over the Earth instead of co-existing.


    Ever since Ari found out that Jackson is assigned to her, they become close. They try to work together to stop the impending war between their species. A forbidden romance slowly blossoms, though I would have liked to feel a little more spark between these characters. I liked the characters though. Ari is training to be an Operative, so she is no damsel in distress. She's tough, intelligent, and likeable. Jackson seems genuinely caring and not like others of his kind. He is mysterious, and you can tell he is hiding something throughout the book.


    The book had good pacing for the most part, but the ending seemed a little rushed to me. There was a lot of action and suspense toward the end. There's also a bit of a cliffhanger that will make you look forward to the next book. There is a little bit of gore, but not much. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy paranormal romance, sci-fi, and/or dystopian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3