Customer Reviews for

Gravity (The Taking Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excite

This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excited for, the cover is pretty sick and the description I found on Goodreads had me hooked instantly. You mean to give me a novel about romance, aliens, the future and the fact that everybody on Earth might suf...
This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excited for, the cover is pretty sick and the description I found on Goodreads had me hooked instantly. You mean to give me a novel about romance, aliens, the future and the fact that everybody on Earth might suffer should the MC (main character) not make the appropriate choices? You had me at aliens.

Gravity by author Melissa West is the story of main character Ari Alexander, the daughter to one of the most powerful men in North America . The story is set in a dystopian future in which aliens invaded Earth due to their planet running out of water, after a treaty was signed, the aliens and humans decided to live in a peaceful existence… that is as long as the humans allow them to steal small amount of their microscopic cells. Every single night at midnight aliens come when humans put on their patches and steal parts of their bodies, no big deal right? That is, until Ari loses her patch and finds herself awake when her alien is taking from her, and she learns just who her alien is. The super attractive, Jackson Locke who is (gasp) an Alien spy. Jackson and Ari work together to find out just what secrets are being kept from the public and what the alien leader, Zeus, is hiding. It’s not until Jackson and Ari begin to fall for each other that things begin to get dramatic and it becomes evident that nothing is ever going to be the same again.

Can I be the first to say that when it came to the possibility of Jackson being an Alien spy, I totally figured it out right after he and Ari first “meet”? The fact that Ari’s patch magically showed up seemed too unlikely, I knew that there was something wrong with that attractive Jackson and I’ll admit that I ignored my gut when it came to how sweet he was to Ari. After reading the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout, I’ve found myself falling pretty hard to alien bad boys and Jackson is the complete package. He’s the one character that Ari literally cannot have, and that just made me (and Ari) want him so much more. He was sweet, badass and positively to die for despite his mood swings.

The sci-fi world found in Gravity is one that I wouldn’t mind living in, despite the fact that an alien would be stealing from my body and that the human species is under attack by an alien threat. But I mean, other than that, I wouldn’t mind getting to be like Ari or her friend Gretchen. Why? Because the two are total badasses! They get taught how to fight in school and throughout the novel Ari gets to use her fighting skills in a style that is straight out of a Suicide Squad action scene (and that’s a comic for those of you who don’t know).  From start to finish, Gravity was a novel that I had such a fun time reading, especially with the strong opening chapter and the cliff-hanger ending. All in all, I want the next book… now.

I would recommend Gravity to fans of alien novels, YA dystopia & romance as well as fans of sci-fi.

posted by chapterxchapter on January 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Umm

There is a good storyline here but it's un developed. It needs more detail. The author also needs to work on how it flows. It seems so choppy and has weak links.

posted by 18091305 on December 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excite

    This is one of the novels of 2012 that I have been really excited for, the cover is pretty sick and the description I found on Goodreads had me hooked instantly. You mean to give me a novel about romance, aliens, the future and the fact that everybody on Earth might suffer should the MC (main character) not make the appropriate choices? You had me at aliens.

    Gravity by author Melissa West is the story of main character Ari Alexander, the daughter to one of the most powerful men in North America . The story is set in a dystopian future in which aliens invaded Earth due to their planet running out of water, after a treaty was signed, the aliens and humans decided to live in a peaceful existence… that is as long as the humans allow them to steal small amount of their microscopic cells. Every single night at midnight aliens come when humans put on their patches and steal parts of their bodies, no big deal right? That is, until Ari loses her patch and finds herself awake when her alien is taking from her, and she learns just who her alien is. The super attractive, Jackson Locke who is (gasp) an Alien spy. Jackson and Ari work together to find out just what secrets are being kept from the public and what the alien leader, Zeus, is hiding. It’s not until Jackson and Ari begin to fall for each other that things begin to get dramatic and it becomes evident that nothing is ever going to be the same again.

    Can I be the first to say that when it came to the possibility of Jackson being an Alien spy, I totally figured it out right after he and Ari first “meet”? The fact that Ari’s patch magically showed up seemed too unlikely, I knew that there was something wrong with that attractive Jackson and I’ll admit that I ignored my gut when it came to how sweet he was to Ari. After reading the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout, I’ve found myself falling pretty hard to alien bad boys and Jackson is the complete package. He’s the one character that Ari literally cannot have, and that just made me (and Ari) want him so much more. He was sweet, badass and positively to die for despite his mood swings.

    The sci-fi world found in Gravity is one that I wouldn’t mind living in, despite the fact that an alien would be stealing from my body and that the human species is under attack by an alien threat. But I mean, other than that, I wouldn’t mind getting to be like Ari or her friend Gretchen. Why? Because the two are total badasses! They get taught how to fight in school and throughout the novel Ari gets to use her fighting skills in a style that is straight out of a Suicide Squad action scene (and that’s a comic for those of you who don’t know).  From start to finish, Gravity was a novel that I had such a fun time reading, especially with the strong opening chapter and the cliff-hanger ending. All in all, I want the next book… now.

    I would recommend Gravity to fans of alien novels, YA dystopia & romance as well as fans of sci-fi.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed Gravity! I do love a good sci-fi and this book

    I really enjoyed Gravity! I do love a good sci-fi and this book certainly gave me just that! Not to mention- HOT ALIEN ALERT! Dang, do I love those. Set in a futuristic world where humans are forced to cooperate with aliens, known as Ancients, Gravity has a bit of everything for all readers: mystery, intrigue, romance, action, adventure- you name it! Sometimes science fiction books can start off confusing as the author works to set the stage and begin their world building, but I did not find that to be the case here at all. I was drawn into the storyline and this idea of the Taking pretty quickly.


    The Taking happens to humans every night- they wear a mask where they are basically made immobile while an Ancient comes and performs the Taking on them- the Ancients take some of the humans antibodies in order to survive. However, the mask also serves to protect the Ancients' identity.


    Our protagonist, Ari, is destined to become the Commander as well as set to marry her friend Lawrence (Law) who is to be the future President. As a seventeen year old, she already has a lot of expectations and responsibilities placed on her- she is working hard to earn her spot as the top seed in Op training, beating out Jackson Locke- her biggest competition. Imagine her surprise as she discovers her Ancient is none other than the beautiful, tough boy himself! Her world is completely turned upside down at this new revelation and sends her seeking answers to things she may not be ready to know. I liked Ari's character a lot. She is tough, fierce, and strong. Yet, she is realistic too. I really like how she thinks through things before doing them. She doesn't rush in to situations blind. She is smart and calculated and I really liked that about her.


    Jackson, on the other hand, I had trouble reading. At school, he comes across as cocky and confident and treating Ari as if she's nothing more than a blip on his radar. However, when it's just the two of them he is different. He is sweet, genuine, and more open. We do realize there is a reason for his duality, but it still made him a difficult character to trust. Jackson needs Ari's help- the treaty the humans have with the Ancients isn't holding like it should be and some of the Ancients are going rogue, determined to cohabitate with the humans. Jackson is asking a lot of her: help him prevent a war between their races and essentially betray everyone she loves or do nothing. I ended up really liking Jackson's character- he is a victim of circumstance and did what he had to do, knowing Ari would be affected by those decisions.


    Doing nothing isn't Ari's style. If she feels she can help prevent horrible things from happening, she's going to step up and do what she needs to, no matter the consequences. The more she works with Jackson, the more she starts to fall for the Ancient. Of course, this is crazy: she's a human, next in line to be the Commander, AND she already has a prearranged marriage. Yet, the heart wants what it wants! She knows Jackson is holding things back from her, yet she doesn't realize just how much those things will affect her. One of those things is revealed at the end of the novel and WHOA. Did NOT see that twist coming at all.


    I loved all the twists and turns this story took. I couldn't stop reading- it was so engaging and I just had to know how everything would play out! So many things happen that will change Ari's life forever, and I am looking forward to seeing this series continue in Hover. (I wish I could elaborate and say more, but I definitely don't want to ruin this story for anyone- go read it yourself!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved that this book was different and the main character was a fighter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Unique Sci-fi read

    Nice, quick young adult sci-fi read. Refreshing that it wasn't the same old YA story line and feel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Love the fantasy stuff. Love the alien factor. Didn't expect t

    Love the fantasy stuff. Love the alien factor. Didn't expect this book to end how it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I loved it

    I love it and I can wait for the squeal to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Gravity is the first book in The Taking series by Melissa West.

    Gravity is the first book in The Taking series by Melissa West. It centers around seventeen year old Ari, who lives in the future. The humans share the planet with aliens – also called Ancients. They are able to appear human. Each Ancient is assigned to a human for the Taking – a process in which the aliens have to take antibodies from the humans in order to survive on Earth. You're not allowed to know who is assigned to you. They come into your room at midnight every night. The humans are supposed to wear an apparatus that makes it impossible to see anything during the Taking. However, on one particular night, Ari can't find hers. She closes her eyes, but can't resist from peeking. That's when she realizes that the Ancient assigned to her is a boy from school – a boy who is pretending to be human.


    The world building in this book is pretty good, which is necessary for a dystopian book. It's always interesting to me to read books set in the future – to imagine what could happen to the Earth under certain circumstances. In this book, much of the civilization is destroyed because of WWIV. The Ancients and humans don't exactly live in peace. Both species want to take over the Earth instead of co-existing.


    Ever since Ari found out that Jackson is assigned to her, they become close. They try to work together to stop the impending war between their species. A forbidden romance slowly blossoms, though I would have liked to feel a little more spark between these characters. I liked the characters though. Ari is training to be an Operative, so she is no damsel in distress. She's tough, intelligent, and likeable. Jackson seems genuinely caring and not like others of his kind. He is mysterious, and you can tell he is hiding something throughout the book.


    The book had good pacing for the most part, but the ending seemed a little rushed to me. There was a lot of action and suspense toward the end. There's also a bit of a cliffhanger that will make you look forward to the next book. There is a little bit of gore, but not much. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy paranormal romance, sci-fi, and/or dystopian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fast read. Good escapism.

    Fast read. Good escapism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    A watered down version of Romeo and Juliet set in a science fic

    A watered down version of Romeo and Juliet set in a science fiction scenario. Entertaining but odd. I am not really sure where this all is going. I guess the next book takes us down the crazy old-man's mind. Maybe Hover is more like hovering on the edge of insanity.

    A very battle oriented society. Extremely blind in its pride. 'Pride cometh before the fall' So interesting how once that fall happens everything changes. Even the harsh hard-hearted father becomes desperate and soft. Sweet mothers become dragons protecting their young. And protection turns into death.

    As is common for me with science fiction it took some time to acclimate to the strange ideas and world. After that the story felt more dystopian. There are so many secrets. Even as the book closes we know so very little. I don't envy the girl. She is penned in by strangers and she knows nothing. I fear she is going to be used as a tool to keep certain people in line. Not very nice. Sort of a "We have your future Commander or I can kill your girl anytime you don't do as I say." Trouble is brewing. At least we might get a better idea of what is going on with the Ancients. Who is Jackson and just what is his life really like?

    The ending made me laugh. I had to read it twice because I felt it was missing something. Such a dramatic reveal that it just felt funny instead of crazy scary.

    So while there are parts that really don't make sense just yet and I feel sure doom is just around the corner I enjoyed this book. It will be fun to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unique, Creative & Interesting!

    There were two versions of this e-ARC that were sent out, the second included some changes (a Prologue was added, the end was changed as well as a few other things.) and being the nosey nelly that I am, I read them both. I'm so glad I did because while I liked the first one, I enjoyed the finished version much better. In fact, you should just bypass this review and read this book for yourself, you won't be sorry. Gravity (The Taking #1) is one of the most unique, creative and interesting alien stories I've read in a long time. There's action, adventure and a swoonworhty romance that will have you wishing for your own close encounter of the third kind. Ari, the heroine is one tough cookie. She's been training for Special Ops her whole life and takes her future as a military leader very seriously. She's loyal to her family and her country but the one thing she's never been okay with is the Taking. Ari knows the rules and she's been warned against peeking but her curiosity gets the better of her one night and she opens her eyes. She's shocked to discover Jackson Locke is assigned to her and from that moment on, life as she's known it will never be the same again. Ari expects to be at odds with Jackson, especially now that she knows what he is but she never expected to want to help him or worse, to develop feelings for him. He shows her that they really aren't that different and that together they might be able to keep their worlds from going to war. Ari struggles with betraying not only her country but her family as well and she doesn't know for sure if Jackson can be trusted. However, when she sees the truth firsthand, she'll realize the only person she can really trust may be herself. I enjoyed this book for many reasons - detailed world building, solid characters, and having to work together with those who are different than us are all key elements, but what jumped out at me is that this is a clean read. The romance definitely gets your blood pumping, as do the action scenes but this is a book younger readers can enjoy (like my nearteen) without any worries from the parentals. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens in book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1