Customer Reviews for

Gravity

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book

A little slow in the beginning but definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat for the rest of the book.

posted by Rose28RH on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I think this book would make a great SyFy movie but it wasn't my

I think this book would make a great SyFy movie but it wasn't my cup of tea. I enjoy most of her books but this one was out of character. I probably should have researched it a bit more before I bought it because it sure wasn't something that I would have bought.

posted by Goofygirll on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Fantastic story

    Tess Gerritsen has done it AGAIN! This story is absolutely amazing. It grabs you by your shirt and drags you into it and never lets go till the end. Can't say it enough that this is another mind-blowing read by the great Tess Gerritsen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    WOW! This is full of thrilling excitement that you cannot put do

    WOW! This is full of thrilling excitement that you cannot put down. It is kind of like a combination of “Alien” and “Apollo 13”, with astronauts and space as well as genetics gone badly. It is not for the weak stomach though. I love the detail in which Tess Garrison delves. She is Fantastic at this genre. I love her stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    Excellant

    This is one of the best books that i have ever read. I highly recommend it. You will love it. It has everything that a good book needs and more. It will stand out in your mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    If you are a syfy-realistic fan then this book is perfect for yo

    If you are a syfy-realistic fan then this book is perfect for you. This book incorporates the realism of a real life Bioweapon that has the possibility of extinguishing every living soul on earth. The syfy influence in this book incorporates advanced medical bays in space ships and how the Biohazard adapts to human capabilities. The description that Tess Gerritsen uses throughout the book is very visual and takes your breath away. An example is when she describes the Biohazard as an indestructible organism that changes gives you an image in your head of something unimaginable. I found in the beginning of the book to be a slow read because the beginning to me made no sense to me about how it leads to the Biohazard. However, after the first few chapters, the tension begins to rise like brownies in an oven. The plot builds, builds, and builds till it can go no higher. Then, all settles. You then learn if mankind is doomed and everything on earth will evaporate like water on a very hot day, or if one woman will save all mankind and find where this biohazard originated. You will have to read the book to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended - awesome and quick read

    I really enjoyed Gravity. Ms. Gerritsen leaves room for the reader to use their imagination to visual the graphics in their mind. A very fast paced and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Stan

    ((First, have you seen the episode where Dipper brings a video game character to life?))

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Dipper

    Hi!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Mabell

    Ru afraid of heights

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    WOW

    Before Tess Gerritsen, I didnt think you could describe deaths with such... detail. One morning I woke to see my eyes blood red but it turns out I was just tired and Immagined it. Thats is what I want out of a good book, a good scare. This is one of the best books Ive ever read and it just got better when it was in outer space too! Tess thank you for writing this book, its definitely going on my top 10 (and Ive read ALOT of books)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Recommend

    This was a very interesting book. I am a Tess fan and this was nothing like any of her other books. The beginning was a little slow, but it picked up and I was sorry when it ended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Gripping!

    Tess Gerritsen ventures into territory established by Michael Crichton in her own gripping way. Impeccably written at her usual lightning pace. My fingernails will take a few weeks to recover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Found my new favorite book

    This medical thriller was simplely astounding. Hooked from page one, she pulls you into the story as you go from a small hospital all the way to outer space. I was reluctant to set this down, but when I did, I was still pondering the mysterous pathogens in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Gravity is one of my favorite books by Tess Gerritsen. The action never stops, but is also not over the top. It was creepy and interesting, she really put a lot of thought, knowledge and research behind this one. It paid off big time, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    greaaat

    i've read it twice and i'll probably read it a couple more times! such a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Another must read from Mrs. Gerritsen

    Truly one of the most original and well written books I have read in a long time. The outer space environment just added a whole other element to the suspense in this story. There has yet to be a book from Mrs. Gerritsen that I have not liked and am dreading the day when I will have read all her books and will have to wait patiently each year for a new release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    AWESOME!!

    This is by far one of the best books I have ever read! Absolutely awesome, definetly a novel of medical suspense! I literally could not put it down. The NASA research was awesome, thank Tess for the glossary of acronyms and abbreviations at the end. Having watched the fate of Challenger at the age of 9 with the rest of my third grade class, for me the intensely described scenes involving launches and re-entry where very emotional for me, which made the book even better and even harder to put down. Extremely realistic and full of details and wonderful characters, you'll walk away from this book not only satisfied but having learned something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Gravity

    Tess Gerritson is a renowned author for her books: Harvest, Life Support, and Bloodstream. With her latest book, Gravity, she is sure to retain her reputation. Gravity is a tense, deep, and frightening scenario of what could go wrong in space, and its close projection of the character¿s inner thoughts keeps the reader immersed with their personalities and views of occurring events. Emma Watson, a brilliant research physician, has been training for the mission of a lifetime: to study living beings in space. Jack McCallum, Emma¿s estranged husband, has shared her dream of space travel, but a medical condition has grounded and embittered him. He must watch from the sidelines as his wife prepares for her first mission to the International Space Station. Once aboard the Space Station however, things start to go terribly wrong. A culture of single-celled organisms known as Archaeons, gathered from the deep sea, is to be monitored in the micro-gravity of space. The true and lethal nature of this experiment has not been revealed to NASA. In space, the cells rapidly multiply and soon begin to infect the crew-with agonizing and deadly results. The story is told in the third-person, which gives a good overview of the events. Tess Gerritson writes the character¿s thoughts in italics. This effectively shows the character¿s opinions and feelings in a direct and focused way dragging your eyes towards it. The characters can almost be seen in the reader¿s mind from the amount of description that is given. When the government discovers the bio-contaminated situation, a special military ¿clean up crew¿ is sent to the infected Space Shuttle when it crashes. NASA was already there waiting for their colleagues to return to them. Jack McCallum tries to cross the military guarded perimeter but is met with the butt of an assault rifle wielded by a soldier. The story begins to feel like the government (as usual) is covering up this disaster. This is an amazing book for anyone who likes suspense, action, drama, or just great stories. After reading this you will know more NASA terms then you can maybe handle, but conveniently enough, there is a glossary of terms at the end. This is quite possibly the best book I have ever read. If I had any spare time, it was spent reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    A great read.

    I love this book. The realism and detail is wonderfull. Tess did such a good job in her research. Not only was it suspenceful, but I learned things I never knew about the space program, an astronaut's life, biology, genomes, cellular structure, genetics, research potentials, .... I love books that not only have a great story to tell, but also educate with the read. Simply wonderful. And if you've ever dreamed of being an astronaut floating in microgavity, here's you chance. You'll float right along side 'em in the space station. Enjoy, but be prepared to stay up all night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    MY FAVORITE BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    This book is packed with suspence!I'm only 11 years old and I read this book in 3 days. It has a lot of medical gore that would rate it PG-13 if it was a movie,In fact there making a movie!I can't wait to see it!The storyline is A lady goes to the International space station but is soon infected by a deadly space virus.The space shuttle sent to rescue them crashes and cripples the station.Soon Thiers only one person left and is said to have infected,but her husband will do anything to get her back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Definately one of my favorites!

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down. It made me want to read more of her books. Read Life Support with the same feelings about it. Couldn't put it down. I would have to say that Gerritsen is quickly becoming my favorite author, and I loved reading Gravity! Definately one of my most favorite books, if not THE most favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4