Customer Reviews for

Gravity's Rainbow

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

"A screaming..........."

Bought this book in paperback back in the seventies, back when I was all into Phillip K Dick and Hunter Thompson. It's Catch 22 on acid. I've read it through twice with added ocassional visits over the years. It's a peek behind the curtain of the post WW2 world order, b...
Bought this book in paperback back in the seventies, back when I was all into Phillip K Dick and Hunter Thompson. It's Catch 22 on acid. I've read it through twice with added ocassional visits over the years. It's a peek behind the curtain of the post WW2 world order, but it's the zany cast of characters with their hilarious names that sticks with you over the years. There is just one bizarre scene after another, after another. It would make the most fantastic mini series if only Pynchon weren't such a curmudgeon. You can pick it up and start on virtually any page. It's the perfect "desert island" book. You can finish it, BUT you'll never be quite finished WITH it. It's difficult to get into, impossible to get out. It's so much more readable than "Finnegan's Wake". Pynchon is the anti Ayn Rand. You'll never look at a multinational corporation in quite the same way again. They don't write them like this anymore. It's wicked fun. It's a challenge. Imagine how smug you'll feel. Not for the lazy or the slow witted.

posted by fattrucker on November 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Strange and poor writing. Beware.

Before you buy into the hype of CNN or the previous reviews, do yourself a favor and read the first 15 - 30 pages of this book before you purchase. You¿ll save yourself $20. This is the most incoherent gibberish I have ever read. Correction, tried to read. Forget un...
Before you buy into the hype of CNN or the previous reviews, do yourself a favor and read the first 15 - 30 pages of this book before you purchase. You¿ll save yourself $20. This is the most incoherent gibberish I have ever read. Correction, tried to read. Forget understanding the book, I couldn't understand some paragraphs some groups of words... This book is written in ridiculously descriptive, nonsensical, overly punctuated, incomplete sentences. It seems to me that this book is liked by those who need to latch onto something because they have nothing else to latch onto and so they pontificate about these 760 pages of babble, taking self pride in acting like they are privy to some genius art form that others just can comprehend and appreciate. Honestly, if you told me this book was written by a heavily medicated crazy person sitting in a padded cell with a typewriter I would believe you. It is like the author tries to duplicate the quick-fire thoughts that constantly run through your mind about everything and it just doesn¿t translate well to paper. Proceed with caution because this book is not for everybody.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Cali

    Im blonde with blue eyes, im 5'7", 14 years old, skinny, athletic, an a freshman in high school. I live in miami.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of the great American novels of the Twentieth Century

    The Nook edition is my fourth copy of Gravity's Rainbow; I have read the novel more twenty times and have had to replace copies because of sheer wear.
    Whilst requiring a good deal of concentration and some eclectic knowledge base, the ability of a reader to research on the internet such things as foreign phrases, name origins (and meanings!), and historical references actually makes the work more accessible than it was when it was first written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Goldendstar

    Kk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Shugerstar

    Petalkit:her eyes flashed. Trot......result...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Pay No Mind to Jason's Review

    This is a special book. Sure it's hard to read, but as you learn how to read it, you'll come to understand narrative, prose, and the post World War II world in ways you hadn't imagined. Fifteen to twenty pages isn't enough to get into this novel. It took me 180 pages before I was over the hump. Now the ludicrous satire and flood of detail are too much to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    Literature As Art

    This is the story of Tyrone Slothrop only on the surface...in fact it's a sweeping work of art; a symphony in prose. It's alternately achingly beautiful and hilariously raunchy and cynically mordant...and probably a lot of other things. It's not for the faint of heart; I'm reasonably well educated and I could barely solve Roger's equations, but the reward is worth the effort. Rivals Ulysses as the best belle lettres novel of the 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Kalu Kala! A Read of "Juices"!

    Oh, what a read this was. As the main character did several times, I did when I completed it! Highly recommended!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    Monumental Fiction

    'Gravity's Rainbow' stands clearly as the greatest expression of Pynchon's ideas and feelings, and his total mastery of prose. The book is almost beyond interpretation, Pynchon's writing touches genius, it is at once enlightening, enthralling and perplexing. The book is so complex, yet for me it is about something we've all gone through in one way or another, transformation&destruction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    Respect alone

    I read GR in the context of an Lit. course, and was left with nothing but respect for his ability to weave a narrative. Unfortunately, style seems to be paramount and whereas Mason & Dixon focuses more tightly on the character elements, I found GR to characature its people more than use them to promote its myriad themes. This is truly a novel best reserved for a discussion group. I have to applaud the way he condensed the novel, it could easily have been 200 pages, but in doing so, he seemed to forget the reader and get too caught up in his own head. It's a great book for lovers of pomo fiction, but it's a tough ride, impossible if you don't have some ancillary text to guide you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Hotdog! you better read this one!

    I really enjoyed the capititionalizing portrayal of the scapegoat rehearsed in the introduction to forces lacked by our inner child. The stucture of the hultiating sequence struck me as true brilliance.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    The Premiere Work of this century

    Gravity's Rainbow has been denounced far too often as 'hard to read.' It is challenging, but every work with so much to offer has to be challenging. It is not, however, an ivory-towered rant. It is a work that speaks to all of us, in powerful and necessary tones. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Simply the best

    Gravity's Rainbow is the most elaborate and amazing book in modern history. We owe everything to the reclusive Thomas Pynchon. He is a master of the english language. No praise can be worthy of this book, so I will stop. However, you MUST read this book. It will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Fun to Hold

    Penguin's special edition of good books have good weight, smooth covers, non-cracking bindings and easy-viewed print, and so are fun to hold and read. Its a tactile experience, understand? Gravity's Rainbow needs the additional help. Its a reward when you stay with it. Pay the extra $1 for this edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3