Customer Reviews for

Grays

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Original/Strieber at his best.

Leave it Strieber to pull it all together. Strieber is not afraid to take us out of our comfort zone and challenge our sense of normalcy. Having researched "aliens" myself for the past 30+ years, I was entertained with Strieber's tale of the little aliens and their pur...
Leave it Strieber to pull it all together. Strieber is not afraid to take us out of our comfort zone and challenge our sense of normalcy. Having researched "aliens" myself for the past 30+ years, I was entertained with Strieber's tale of the little aliens and their purpose on our planet. However; I was disappointed in the plot and resolution. I was hoping for a more upbeat and positive approach, but then it would not be a thriller!!! For the avid "Alien" fan and follower of Strieber's work it is a must have for their library. He has pulled together all of his research on the alien phenomenon, and written a rich tale that will leave you with more questions than answers and talking with your friends for years. Enjoy! Who else could bring us such a story?

posted by SnapeLover on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty darn good, and scary

To me, the descriptions of the behavior of the Grays was terrifying. The way they moved and communicated was utterly... alien. The plotline with the ultra smart child and abducted parents was pretty much the same plotline from the mini-series "Taken" which was a bit dis...
To me, the descriptions of the behavior of the Grays was terrifying. The way they moved and communicated was utterly... alien. The plotline with the ultra smart child and abducted parents was pretty much the same plotline from the mini-series "Taken" which was a bit disappointing. But I enjoyed it then, and liked it now. Overall an enjoyable read.

posted by CheriScha on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original/Strieber at his best.

    Leave it Strieber to pull it all together. Strieber is not afraid to take us out of our comfort zone and challenge our sense of normalcy. Having researched "aliens" myself for the past 30+ years, I was entertained with Strieber's tale of the little aliens and their purpose on our planet. However; I was disappointed in the plot and resolution. I was hoping for a more upbeat and positive approach, but then it would not be a thriller!!! For the avid "Alien" fan and follower of Strieber's work it is a must have for their library. He has pulled together all of his research on the alien phenomenon, and written a rich tale that will leave you with more questions than answers and talking with your friends for years. Enjoy! Who else could bring us such a story?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty darn good, and scary

    To me, the descriptions of the behavior of the Grays was terrifying. The way they moved and communicated was utterly... alien. The plotline with the ultra smart child and abducted parents was pretty much the same plotline from the mini-series "Taken" which was a bit disappointing. But I enjoyed it then, and liked it now. Overall an enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Fantastic thrilling story

    On my top five all time favorites. This book takes you on an increbible thought provoking journey. You might never look at a clear blue sky the same after reading this. I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Not a child book

    I do not think this is a good child book for saying thigs like sex in the other room but this is just my opinion but ither than that very good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    One of the best books i have ever read. Sci-fi fan or not ,you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great Book!

    Strieber keeps you on the edge of your seat - keeps you thinking. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Hard to keep interestef

    I hated this book. I couldnt keep interested due to the confusing way its eritten

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Disappointed

    I loved Communion, and I wanted another book like it. Although the storyline was good here, the book jumped back and forth too much. I kept having to look up who everyone was. I had to reread msny of the ending pages because of that. I found this book confusing and difficult to follow. It gets 2 stars because of the story--good story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Jumps around

    Wast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great read

    Highly recommend

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Beautiful!

    I loved it. I consider myself a beginner at reading because I honestly haven't read much. But, when it comes to aliens I'm there. I've seen all the X-Files, played all the Alien/Conspiracy computer games, and been to Roswell, NM, and have read a bit on the whole UFO thing. I wont give it away. There is a great conspiracy feel and 'accurate' info on UFO mythology... or fact. You almost feel like you're in on the secret. Things get really insane and you can't put it down during the last few chapters. Good book! I will have to read more of Strieber's stuff. If anyone is interested the song 'Stalkers' by Mind.In.A.Box on their 'Crossroads' album fits perfectly with this book. Read the book and listen/read the song and you'll understand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Awesome

    Amazing. I'm a big skeptic, but this book has given me more of a push to the believer end than most non-fiction on the subject. Once again just amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    A Fun Read

    As a big Sci-Fi fan, I really enjoyed this thought- provoking, fast-paced adventure of a story. I could not put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    The Grays caused 600 plane crashes in 1947?

    That's an assertion made fairly early in the book. Maybe it's true, but the problem w/a novel such as this is where does the fiction end and the facts begin? I think Strieber simply stood to make more money off a novel (think film rights) than a nonfiction book plus a novel gives him artistic license. The grays could apparently teleport a woman into a men's restroom to save her but cannot for some reason do the same for their/our 'Christchild' during the concluding conflagration?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    In 1977 teenage Madison, Wisconsin residents Danny Callaghan meets Katelyn Burns, but neither know where they are. Not long afterward, both are returned naked near their homes. They later ¿meet¿, marry, move to Bell in the Midwest and raise a son Connor, a certified genius.--------------- In Colorado, Lauren Glass learns that her late father actually communicated with Adam the surviving Roswell alien who killed him with a scratch. Apparently these alien 'Grays' have lived amidst their human hosts using genetic engineering on selected people in an effort to save their dying species. She has been selected to replace her dad as the empath with the aliens. As the Grays become bolder and more out into the open, Lieutenant Colonel Michael Wilkes, who monitors Gray activity, believes they and their quisling human puppets are betraying mankind he begins a search and destroy mission to save the world from these ¿welcome¿ invaders and their ¿offspring¿. Confrontation is coming to Indiana where a nine year old boy is the focus of a three way tug of war the Grays, the xenophobic military, and Connor¿s loving parents.-------------- This is a terrific alien abduction science fiction thriller (what else would one expect from Whitney Schreiber) in which the military operations are haunting, but the abduction scenes feel very genuine (even to this queen of skeptics). The action-packed story line grips the audience from the first moment that Danny and Katelyn meet and never slows down until the final confrontation. The story line is fast-paced and readers will be hard put to put it down as fans will wonder what the Grays hope to achieve and just what DNA makes up Connor.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    In Praise Of The Grays

    Whitley Strieber puts it all together, and in doing so paints a MASTERPIECE OF FICTION on the canvass of his own first-hand, factual experiences¿and those of millions of others. Sometimes fiction can be a better vehicle for fact than even non-fiction¿especially when ¿the facts¿ are unbelievably strange. And the facts about these enigmatic beings ARE unbelievably strange¿visitors that have invaded our popular culture in recent years, and taken it by storm. Visitors known collectively as ¿the grays.¿ The author of COMMUNION: A TRUE STORY, a number one New York Times bestseller, does it again in THE GRAYS¿ and you won¿t want to miss a page. As only Whitley Strieber can, readers are taken step-by- step into the creepy horror of the grays¿ dark world, and in so doing shines new light on the human shadow that has fallen over our own world¿a shadow many of us have just begun to perceive. As THE GRAYS suggests, the only way the night of these two worlds¿theirs and ours¿can be lifted is by bringing these two races together¿and the meeting place between them is a child, eleven year old Conner Callaghan, the product of what is best in both worlds. THE GRAYS is a novel that develops at breakneck speed, and keeps readers thrilled throughout. For those who are not yet familiar with the enigmatic grays, before this novel is over YOU WILL BE for those who have already met them in the dark of night¿face-to- face¿you will ¿remember¿ in the vivid light of day. Hundreds of treasures hidden deep inside reality are planted in the pages of this book, eagerly waiting for readers to uncover. But first you need to open ¿the cover.¿ Highly recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    A Wild Roller-Coaster Ride

    The Ride of Your Life!, August 27, 2006 Hold onto your seats, hats, whatever, because you will be up all night with this incredible book. Whitley Strieber, famed author of 'The Wolfen,' 'The Hunger,' 'Communion,' and co-author of the pivotal 'The Coming Global Superstorm' will blow your mind with 'The Grays.' If you thought Spielberg's 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' was the ultimate tale of alien encounters and abductions, THINK AGAIN. This story starts of with a bang and never lets up. The story of Dan and Katelyn, two children whose lives are forever entwined because of a joint childhood abduction and the birth of a very special son, become the focus of some very interested people, who have good and bad intentions for the boy named Connor. The pace never lets up for a second as we are introduced to the various extraterrestrials. Any previous ideas you had about who the grays are will be blown out of the water after you finish this book. These incredible beings are not just hear to probe us and take our genetic material. Far from it. You will, dare I say it, fall deeply in love with The Three Thieves. So, put the coffee pot on, turn on your nighty-night light, draw the curtains, and prepare yourself for one hell of a ride. You WILL not be able to put this book down. Many people I know are already on their second and third readings! Let me say one more thing. This book is listed as fiction. You will heartily disagree with that monikor when you close it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2