Customer Reviews for

Grayson

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The book Grayson by Lynne Cox is a nonfiction story of a teenage Cox. She is alone in the ocean on one of her early morning swimming workouts when she finds a baby whale swimming alongside her lost from its mother. Her friend Steve is waving to her from the p...
The book Grayson by Lynne Cox is a nonfiction story of a teenage Cox. She is alone in the ocean on one of her early morning swimming workouts when she finds a baby whale swimming alongside her lost from its mother. Her friend Steve is waving to her from the pier when she is finishing her workout and informs her that there is baby whale following her and she cannot swim ashore. She realizes soon that it is up to her to find the baby whale¿s mother in the vast ocean or it will die. This is a story about the bond that can be formed even between the most different creatures. This is proved when a magical friendship is created between Lynne and the baby whale. Along with the whale, Cox comes across many amazing and vivid creatures such as dolphins, stingrays, crabs, coral, every different type and color of fish and much more as she explore the deep ocean with the baby. This was a very entertaining sweet book that I would recommend to animal and ocean lovers of all ages. In this story, Lynne Cox spends much of the book talking about the ocean and gives many of her own aspects of the large mass of water. She describes it as scary, mysterious, large, wondrous, beautiful and much more. I very much enjoyed this part of the book because, as a woman who has spent much of her life in the ocean, her perspective of it was very interesting. In the book, Cox is left with a very difficult situation where it is up to her to make the decsision. She cannot swim ashore because the whale, she names him Grayson, will follow and he will run into the ground, his lungs will collapse, and he will die. She also cannot leave it alone or it will die of thirst without its mother¿s milk. Lynne must stay in the ocean with the whale and for hours freezing, hungry, and scared. Throughout the book, Grayson is described like a human child, which brought up memories that most human children have. Being lost in the grocery store or department store from their mother. Being frightened and confused, trying not to panic but mostly not succeeding until a nice lady helps you out. This story reminds us that it happens to everyone, and even happens to whales. I have been strongly affected by the message sent by this book. It teaches the reader to respect everyone and all creatures that you come across because who knows what magnificent adventures could be coming in the future.

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could have been so much more ...

A great story, but it could have been told in half the pages and with much more eloquence. It dragged on much too long and, while there was indeed a good message here, the repeated delivery of that message lacked sublety, which would have been much more effective.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book Grayson by Lynne Cox is a nonfiction story of a teenage Cox. She is alone in the ocean on one of her early morning swimming workouts when she finds a baby whale swimming alongside her lost from its mother. Her friend Steve is waving to her from the pier when she is finishing her workout and informs her that there is baby whale following her and she cannot swim ashore. She realizes soon that it is up to her to find the baby whale¿s mother in the vast ocean or it will die. This is a story about the bond that can be formed even between the most different creatures. This is proved when a magical friendship is created between Lynne and the baby whale. Along with the whale, Cox comes across many amazing and vivid creatures such as dolphins, stingrays, crabs, coral, every different type and color of fish and much more as she explore the deep ocean with the baby. This was a very entertaining sweet book that I would recommend to animal and ocean lovers of all ages. In this story, Lynne Cox spends much of the book talking about the ocean and gives many of her own aspects of the large mass of water. She describes it as scary, mysterious, large, wondrous, beautiful and much more. I very much enjoyed this part of the book because, as a woman who has spent much of her life in the ocean, her perspective of it was very interesting. In the book, Cox is left with a very difficult situation where it is up to her to make the decsision. She cannot swim ashore because the whale, she names him Grayson, will follow and he will run into the ground, his lungs will collapse, and he will die. She also cannot leave it alone or it will die of thirst without its mother¿s milk. Lynne must stay in the ocean with the whale and for hours freezing, hungry, and scared. Throughout the book, Grayson is described like a human child, which brought up memories that most human children have. Being lost in the grocery store or department store from their mother. Being frightened and confused, trying not to panic but mostly not succeeding until a nice lady helps you out. This story reminds us that it happens to everyone, and even happens to whales. I have been strongly affected by the message sent by this book. It teaches the reader to respect everyone and all creatures that you come across because who knows what magnificent adventures could be coming in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun True Story

    Grayson turned out to be a great book. It is hard to believe it is based on a true story. A courageous 17 year old girl was able to help a baby whale find his mother after a 4 hour long swim in the ocean. The connection this author had with a baby whale and mother whale makes a unique and exciting story. It is a great book if you love nature too, because of the connection and energy between humans and these amazing animals. Not to mention her whole swim was filled with nature from sea creatures to the gorgeous area of LA/ Catalina Island, California. I loved this authors journey and this book will sweep you away on an exciting ocean adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    easy and fun read

    I could not put this book down. Lynne is a fantastic writer and she certainly knows how to bring the reader into the book and make you feel as if you are right by her side. The thought of swimming for 4 hrs in the ocean with a whale by me well, just thinking about it gives me anxiety, but for Lynne it was an experience of a lifetime that she welcomed with open arms. She has a true gift not only with swimming, but being able to become one with the ocean and all that live in it. I can't wait for her next publication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Could have been so much more ...

    A great story, but it could have been told in half the pages and with much more eloquence. It dragged on much too long and, while there was indeed a good message here, the repeated delivery of that message lacked sublety, which would have been much more effective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    GRAYSON may be the book I recommend most often. It's a beautiful

    GRAYSON may be the book I recommend most often. It's a beautiful, true story of mother love, interspecies concern and communication, and describes Lynne's surrounding life in the ocean so vividly. It's one of the few books that can speak to a wide swath of readers, from children through animal behavior professionals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    My entire family loved this book! Lynne has given us a gift of sharing her journey with Grayson. The details pull you in from begining to end. Within moments, you'll feel like you're swimming next to Lynne!

    My daughter is a young swimmer and for her birthday we held a swim party and gave Lynne's book to all party goers. Many of the family's shared that it was a welcome addition to their library. Buy it, give it, share it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!

    There were many positives and negatives in this book. For example, I really liked
    the long, descriptive sentences. Also, I thought that the appearance of the book was
    very beautiful, from the outside pictures, to the text. The last positive that I can think of
    now is that it was a very amazing story, and it shows lots of feeling. Some of the
    negatives included ow it loses excitement and the urgency of finding the mom by de
    scribing too much. Also, I know that since it was a true story, and I can't really change
    the plot, but I thought that it was kind of weird that Lynne wasn't monitored as much as
    she should have been in such a dangerous situation. Lastly, I thought that the book was
    very interesting, but if it were shorter, it would have been more exciting and would have
    kept my interest more.
    Many authors have their own writing styles. The author, Lynne Cox, has many
    things that make up her own writing style. First of all, she has very long sentences with
    descriptive words. One sentence that shows this says, "There's something frightening,
    and magical, about being in the ocean, moving between the heavens and the earth,
    knowing that you can encounter anything on your journey." Also, Cox uses lots of flash
    backs in her writing. One of her flashbacks was about the grunion mating, and how she
    and her friends would sit and wait all night for the grunion to come out to the beach and
    breed. Lastly, Lynne Cox writes using the first-person, which is when she says "I did. . ."
    instead of "Lynne did. . .". Those are some of the topics that make up Lynne Cox's
    writing style.
    I would recommend this book for many reasons. First, it was a very true story
    that was short, but it had many details that made it seem longer than it actually was.
    Also, it could be an adult, or a children's book because it was very mature, yet easy to
    read at the same time. Lastly, this book's appearance was magnificent, because it has a
    very intriguing cover and very interesting pages. Some similar novels that I would rec
    commend include Moby Dick by Herman Melville, The Green Glass Sea by Ellen
    Klages, and Hawke by Ted Belle. Other good books that I have read are Lock and Key
    by Sarah Dessen, The Canterwood Crest Series by Jessica Burkhart, and Each Little
    Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles. Lock and Key, by Sarah Dessen, is about a girl
    named Ruby who goes to live with her sister (Who was once her best friend) after her
    mother left her. The Canterwood Crest Series is about a girl named Sasha Silver who
    starts out 7th grade at a private school called Canterwood Crest and is on the horse
    back riding team there. Each Little Bird That Sings is about Comfort Snowberger, a girl
    who's family own a funeral home, and all of her adventures with her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    Wonderfully touching story about the magic of being one with all life. A real winner!!

    Wow! What an absolutely wonderful story about a woman of great courage and her openness to the magic that exists when we love and when we are willing to sacrifice and risk for another life....in this case the life of a baby whale. Having experienced the majesty of these great beasts in my own life, I can't help but want to share this book with others.

    If you want to believe in magic in the wonders of nature, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    It was Okay

    I love animals and stories that describe them in personal detail. This story's high points came from some well-written descriptions of various sea life, and a strong visual imagery. I would have to say the book's downfall was from the same thing - as in, it could have been wrapped up in a neater package. I appreciate the description of swimming through frigid water spread out among two or three pages. By the 10th page of the same description, I was bored. There are some 'life lessons' thrown in which were uplifting, but could have been with more subtely. Some lines actually say things like 'Sometimes you just have to push yourself to discover what you never knew was there' and the like. Good message, but why say it in so many words? Those moments went from a great story where the reader figures out the lessons, to blatently spelling them out for you in a sort of Self-Helpy way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    More than just a story about a whale

    Grayson is a light-hearted, fast read that I found amusing, educational and inspiring. The amazing story of the author's encounter with a lost baby whale is encouraging and filled with interesting facts as well as brief segues into philosophy and useful aphorisms for life and love. If you have a taste for true stories, nature - specifically the ocean and it's magnificent creatures - and warm (yet not schmaltzy) maxims and lessons on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    A Whale of a Miracle

    Told in a simple yet compelling style, Grayson is Lynne Cox¿s telling of an adventure that occurred when she was on an early morning training swim off the coast of Seal Beach, California at the age of seventeen. That Grayson is already in its second printing in August, 2006, is s testament to its universal appeal. In it Lynne describes her young life, the people in it, her beliefs, and descriptions of the ocean and its denizens as she encountered them. Eventually she comes to realize that a baby gray whale had become separated from his mother is following her. Her friend Steve waves her back from shore, telling her that the baby is following her and will follow her to shore if she swims in. Thus begins the story to keep Grayson alive and well until his mother comes to find him. Throughout the morning, the boaters, fishermen, and Long Beach lifeguards help them stay afloat and in good spirits. Like Lynn, you are caught up in the moment and her intense desire to keep Grayson alive. In retrospect she writes, 'Sometimes for a moment or two I feel something in the water, a sudden stirring, a high energy force like the morning Grayson swam with me, and I watch the whales swimming effortlessly across the water, beauty in motion, heading for the distant horizon.¿ This is a miraculous story that bears rereading over and over again. Animal lovers of all ages will love this book. It would make a terrific gift for a young person who loves animals and is learning the miracle of the written word, first as a read aloud, then for independent reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Giving to everyone for Christmas!

    This is truly a magical book for the whole family. I read this tiny book in one night and then read it aloud to my 5 and 7 year olds who loved it too. It's by no means a literary classic, but it's a great book none the less. The aquatic animals alone make this a keeper!I am giving this book to all my friends this holiday because of it's warm loving message. One of the best I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    A Timeless Masterpiece for Readers of All Ages

    Lynn Cox has written a timeless masterpiece in this brilliantly written story of the unexpected ocean journey she found herself on one early dark morning in Southern California. Accompanied with 'Grayson', an orphaned baby gray whale lost from its migrating mother off the coast of California's Seal Beach, Lynn Cox takes the reader onto a most exhilarating oceanic adventure in search of the orphaned whale's nursing mother. As the reader journey's through the pages and the dark crisp water of the Pacific, you find yourself on your own odyssey - listening, feeling, and understanding what it is to trust yourself no matter what the circumstances life hands you are. With each powerful and purposeful stroke of Lynn's arm cutting into the water, you are reminded of the strength of your own will and capability. And as the sun cuts thru the early morning darkness and the journey to find Grayson's mother continues, we are all reminded that sense of will and purpose is boundless. I found the metaphor and imagery used in this joyfully wonderful true-life adventure to be so vivid and sharp and pulsating that I can't recommend this wonderful story enough to readers of all ages . . . and if you know someone who is not a person who dives into a good story - Grayson is as good a book as any I have ever read - and a great place for any potential reader to begin in reacquainting themselves with the wonderment of reading and the imagination, and perhaps a re-visit with themselves. `Grayson' is a timeless masterpiece I have read and re-read. From one author to another, I would like to thank Lynn for, after all these years, sharing with all of us the adventures of that magical day you were blessed with on Seal Beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Moving and uplifting

    What a beautiful story! I bought this book as a B&N coupon advertisment. I love whales and have always dreamed of swimming with orca in the wild before I die. This book shows a glimpse of a relationship between a young girl who befriends a baby whale that has lost his mother. Such courage and determination is shown between these two unlikely friends. Ms Cox retells an experience she had at the age of 17 when practicing for her Anartica swim. She writes with such vivid emotion recounting the experience that changed her outlook forever. I felt her fear and the feeling she felt for the baby whale. I saw through her eyes the vivid imagery she depicted. In the end, I shared tears of emotion. I also appreciated the way she used her real life story to relate to every day life. I would highly recommend this book...just to feel good and open yourself to a bigger world beyond yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2006

    Uplifting and mysterious

    This simple story is uplifting and touching, and reading it is like taking a little vacation. The story moves along slowly and deliberately, insisting that you enjoy the delightful descriptions of nature and solitude as you read. While this real-life parable doesn't take itself too seriously, Cox pauses along the way to reflect on the universal wisdom this one extraordinary event--a chance meeting with a forlorn baby whale--has left her with. This story is truly remarkable in the way it shows the gentle lessons that can be taught by the world's most powerful mystery: nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Could have been great...

    This writer experienced something truly unique, but she was not able to convey the beauty of the event to the reader. I was extremely disappointed by the poor writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Nice subject, terrible writing

    The story was charming--or would have been if it had been a 12-page short story written by someone with a flare for language. The writer intends to be poetic as she waxes on about nature, but her language and ideas are trite and redundant, there to fill up pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2