Customer Reviews for

The Great Depression Ahead: How to Prosper in the Crash Following the Greatest Boom in History

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book by a GREAT AUTHOR!

    I have read several books from Harry the Next Great Bubble Boom, Long Winter Ahead...Ect. Harry is by far the most accurate and direct! No sugar coating tells it how it is and wants you to be prepared. Read this book you wont regret it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    A GREAT READ TO PREPARE FOR WHAT COULD LIE AHEAD IN THE WORLD ECONOMY

    After reading this book, I was amazed at the evolvement of the author Harry Dent. I have read some of his previous writings, The Great Boom Ahead, The Roaring 2000's and The Next Great Bubble Boom and thought that his findings were ok, but this new book hits everything right on the head.<BR/><BR/>The one thing I realized about Harry is not to look at his writing from the short-term, but to look at the long-term. Whether he is right or wrong on little issues doesn't matter. What matters, is if demographics will truely effect our nation and the world the way he sees it.<BR/><BR/>I don't see this book as a Doom & Gloom but a great opportunity for those who plan correctly for the next 10-40 years. Great wealth can be created by following Harry's great demographic studies.<BR/><BR/>I think every investor should read this book and pull from it everything that will enhance your position.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Excellent!

    Harry Dent does provide very compelling research with his latest book and about what our general economic future has in store. It makes a person to think outside the box. Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    The Great Depression Ahead

    Some very interesting information on what has happened from a historical point of view. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    The Great Depression Ahead

    The book seems to be interesting, but it's so drawn out and Mr. Dent repeats everything so much that it's just too hard to keep interested. He continually refers to his past accomplishments over and over again at picking booms and busts, while talking about having to change dates due to this or that. It sounds like a lot of filler where substance should have been. If everything he says is correct then it's a shame he didn't find someone with a real writers flare create a book to keep you interested. If you are willing to be bored to death while reading, and you're willing to take the time to research everything he says, then you may really get something great out of this book. I'd have to be five or ten times more interested than I was after reading the first two chapters just to complete the book, let alone do the research to see if his facts are for real. His updated newsletter he keeps pushing throughout the book that's available for an additional fee seems to be his real reason for writing the book. The free sample newsletter is about a year old and everything in it is old news, but you can get the latest and greatest newsletter for etc. etc. etc. As for me, I just lost my money on this one.

    P.S. I almost forgot, Mr. Dent invited me to a conference too! I could go and get updated on all his latest facts for a marginal fee of hundreds or thousands of dollars. It was so ludicrous I don't even remember the correct amount.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Interesting perspective

    Great concept i wonder why no economists dispute it... still his predictions are often way off...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    OMG

    Fascinating! Although not an easy read, it is a must for everyone; young, old, brilliant, average, whatever. As a lay person having never read much about economics I found it difficult to 'track' in some of the more technical areas of the book. But to me and also to my husband (who is savvier and much brighter and has many investments that have done well for decades) Dent's message just makes sense. Even if you don't buy the message you should still have the information - just in case!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Opportunistic investment guide

    This book is a bold attempt to predict not only the next several decades, but also the next several centuries - at one point, author Harry S. Dent prognosticates about the year 2400. As he mentions, however, he did predict Japan's 1990s economic slump and the U.S. boom that began in 1998. If you are a believer, take cover, because now Dent's predictions are not so rosy. He foresees a major depression followed by a long period of slow growth. He is singing with the great chorus of economic pundits and prophets, the preponderance of whom seem to be chanting a dirge. However, Dent predicts several encouraging points of light in the very long tunnel ahead, and a great new boom starting about 2020-2023. His methodology is distinctive, though not unique. He anchors his analysis in demographic and technology cycles. Readers might or might not share his faith in the existence and predictability of these cycles, keeping in mind that good advice in the past is not an accurate predictor of the future. However, getAbstract notes that even readers who scoff at the notion that one can predict developments over a centuries-long scale might find the author's methodology useful and his investment recommendations worth considering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    He saw this crash coming ten years ago, and predicted it to the year.

    I have read two of his previous books. His data explains every significant economic boom and bust in the last century. He missed the bust of the tech bubble in 2000, and the post 9-11 crash(like that could have been predicted), but every other major market trend has been dead accurate (even the timing and duration of the last great Japanese bust. Ignore his data at your own peril. The talk shows are a little shy about him because he can't explain the basis for his conclusions in a sound bite or two, so he just sounds like a lucky cook, who just always happens to be right on the money. Remember Kennedy made his money after 29 and Buffet got his biggest boost after 74. Busts are great opportunities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read if you intend to invest your life savings over the next 20 years!

    Harry Dent takes the reader through the "tough love" process of realizing the reality of how demographics affects financial markets and what that means for the economic mess we are in today and what you might now do differently for future investments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Bankruptcy 1995 revisted

    This book reads like "Bankruprcy 1995 - The Coming Collapse of America and How to Stop It", written by like Harry E. Figgie, Jr and Gerald J Swanson, PhD (economist). That book was "HOGWASH" and so is Harry's book. Once again another "fear monger" seeking to caplized on people's fear.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    What a great book

    I just finished reading Harry Dent's "The Great Depression Ahead". This is a wonderful book. Mr. Dent does a great job of using demographics to clearly project long term trends. Harry was right on the money with his projections for the 1990 boom in the stock market and the current bubble in real estate and commodities. We need to listen to what he is saying about the coming depression. There are always ways to profit, no matter the economic situation our country is in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow. If you think we are in tough economic times now you better read this ASAP.

    I have read several books by Dent in the past. I believe this guy is the only one in the world who in writing actually called the economic fall of Japan way back in 1989. (Does anyone remember when Japan was buying up Hawaii and pretty much everything else. Dent called the end of their dominance and sure enough their stock market collapsed 80 percent along with their real estate a year after his prediction) I believe he is right on with his predictions from a macro level. This book explains so much of what is happening around us but is also a survival guide for the reader over the next ten years. It's a pretty big book but it was a fast read. For those unfamiliar with demographics you may have to read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    The title is a bit intimidating, but the information contained between the covers tells you how to avoid becoming a victim of the depression

    I believe Harry Dent is one of the most intelligent and diligent economic forcasters, not only of today, but in recent history. He has an uncanny ability to take a huge array of very complex data and boil it down to the second grade level so that anyone who choses to read his book can understand where he is coming from and why he is saying what he says. And unlike most people who make economic predictions, Harry actually gives you his vision of what he believes will be relatively safe investments through the coming depression so that you CAN prosper in the coming years, even as the markets collapse around you. Contrary to what the cover might lead you to believe, my impression is that Harry is a "glass is half full" kind of person who has a genuine interest in helping as many people as possible avoid the potential financial devastation that a depression can bring. My recommendation is to read this book, share it with those you care about, and most importantly...take action to protect yourself. Don't listen to your neighbors or co-workers who tell you that this can't happen in America again. It can, and in fact, may. Be prepared. Everything you need to know is in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    The Brutal Facts Revealed

    I have read the past 3 books put out by Harry and have always taken several interesting facts and viewpoints away from them. I have been telling family, friends, and clients for years what we will be facing when we see the shift in demographics and big drop in consumer spending from the Baby Boomer generation! And here we are! We are facing several of the same problems Japan did in the 90's! I follow his research closely and love the fact that he will adjust and alter if divergences are seen. Even if half of Harry's predictions unfold, as they have in the past, we will all have been better prepared by reading this. Great Work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2