Customer Reviews for

The Great Divide

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2000

    A Must Read for Activists and Pro Bono Lawyers

    The Great Divide by T. Davis Bunn was the most moving legal fiction I have ever read. I am Pro Bono Attorney with a passion for the rights of those who cannot speak for themselves. The Great Divide exemplifies the passion of activists and lawyers I have met in my practise. Judeo-Christians will especially appreciate the subtext of a broken man's yearning and searching for God. The Great Divide has fast moving action, wonderful characters and scenic descriptions that are so vivid you can clearly see a Movie version running in your head as you turn page after page. You will be reading this book into the wee hours of the night; a time Mr. Bunn calls 'the deep black of some predawn hour, a time so vague and fretful even the poets of yore had forsaken the task of naming it.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Riveting. Interesting. Eye opening to the labor atrocities in China.

    Well worth the time to read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    A great story!

    This is one of my favorite Bunn books. Suspenseful and cleverly written. They should make a movie of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very good

    Good court room drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    COURTROOM DRAMA AT ITS BEST

    Excellent book!! Tension and excitement throughout!! One of the best law thrillers I've read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting international legal thriller

    Eighteen months ago, attorney Marcus Glenwood was driving the car when the devastating accident occurred. Though the police said he was not at fault, the deaths of his children devastated Marcus. Marcus obtains a divorce, resigned his partnership in a prestigious Raleigh law firm, and moves to Rocky Mount. <P>While Marcus still recovers from the trauma, Alma and Austin Hall ask him to help find their missing daughter Gloria. The Georgetown student was in China investigating slavery in factories owned by the North Carolina headquartered New Horizon when she vanished. As he begins to investigate, several nasty lawyers from his old firm represent New Horizons and see this as an opportunity to bury the emotionally shaky Marcus. <P>THE GREAT DIVIDE is an entertaining legal thriller with international implications that sub-genre fans will enjoy. Though some acceptance of the early responses by New Horizons seems out of place as if a nuke is needed to kill a roach, the plot is fast-paced and filled with non-stop action. Marcus is a wonderful character struggling with his emotional loss while battling as a David against Goliath. T. Davis Bunn is a talented author who shows his abilities with this exciting international legal thriller. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Legal Thriller

    Marcus Glenwood, an attorney, is trying to put his life back in order after the death of his children and an ugly divorce. He decides to move to his grandparents' home in North Carolina. While setting up his practice, he is approached by Austin and Alma Hall to help them locate their daughter, Gloria, who disappeared in China while investigating the slave practices of a major sporting goods company. After researching the accusatons and the prior legal actions taken against this company, Marcus accepts the case even though it puts his life in danger. This is a very fast-paced story with high drama and surprises. You cannot put this book down. This is the first novel I have read of Mr. Bunn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Thrilling Summer Read!

    An excellent summer read! Having just completed The Great Divide, I have been recommending this book to friends looking for entertaining reading for the summer. For readers who enjoy the pace of a legal thriller, The Great Divide delivers a compelling story to the judicious reader. Bunn has been able to weave a story of intrigue, deceit and criminality intermingled with today¿s international news. By interspersing topical facts with the fictional storyline, Bunn¿s novel urged me to ask ..... might this be the story behind the headlines?? Though the plausibility of bringing the defendant(s) to trial seemed a stretch, Bunn kept me turning pages to seek the story¿s end. Readers may expect an ending which is preordained, even by the character¿s own admissions, but the surprise story twists were ones that I could not seeing coming. I even flipped back to the earlier pages to see if there were clues I may have overlooked. If expecting a redaction of Grisham, readers should note that Bunn is not an attorney though his research does seem to hold. On the other hand if readers are expecting similarities to earlier Bunn books (though intended for a different market), readers will likewise be surprised. Even though Bunn tends to expect all Carolinians to share a country dialect, this is by far his most entertaining book and I fully expect The Great Divide to introduce readers in the mainstream fiction market to Davis Bunn. Definitely a page turner for the summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    A GRIPPING LEGAL THRILLER

    Attorney, Marcus Glenwood is struggling to put his life in order, after suffering a tragic accident, resulting in him going through a messy divorce. Marcus has relocated to a small town in North Carolina when he is approached by the parents of Gloria Hall to help them find their daughter. Alma and Austin Hall explain their daughter was in China investigating the slave practices of a major sporting goods company when she suddenly disappeared. Marcus is intrigued by the case and begins looking into the Hall's accusations. The deeper Marcus becomes involved, he starts uncovering lie upon lie, and people in high places, will stop at nothing to cover up wrong doing. This is fast-paced entertainment. High drama and twists in the plot will have readers turning the pages in this interesting and gripping novel. T. Davis Bunn has written other books (none of which I have ever read), this new book will be his breakout novel, it can be compared to the works of John Grisham. 'The Great Divide' is easy reading, and an excellent vacation book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1