Customer Reviews for

GREAT EXPECTATIONS (AN EMOTIONAL JOURNEY)

Average Rating 3.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVE

Love it = 'Nuf said.

posted by LillianSkye on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Horrible OCR - Look elsewhere. However if you download get all 3 Vol.

There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable tha...
There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable that a renowned literary work would be made available to a mass market in this form. The Google introduction sates how proud Google is to present this work to the Public. I think Google should be ashamed to put such garbage on the Internet, especially since they put their name on the product. I guess Google is playing the numbers game, get as many books as possible to claim they have X millions, quality be dammed.

Barnes and Noble and Google should delete all this garbage from their sites!

posted by TerryVA on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    It starts on chapter 30...

    Wierd.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    My number one book for a 13 yr old

    This book is epic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Ashley

    Umm good...read it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Unreadable

    Scanned text. So many errors that it is completely unreadable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Many errors make this unreadable

    Why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    I had great expectations (pun intended) about this book, but unf

    I had great expectations (pun intended) about this book, but unfortunately I was not impressed. I know that Great Expectations is regarded as one of Dickens' most important works, but personally I didn't find it interesting.
    At the beginning, Magwitch's confrontation with Pip did get me hooked, but the events that ensued slowly drained my interests. Although there were plenty of events going on like Orlick disabling Mrs. Joe and Miss Havisham's dress catching on fire, the story seemed dull and flat at times. I felt that it was too wordy. The characters were quite vivid and very different from each other. From Orlick's wickedness to Joe's kindness, every character seemed unique to me. 
    I despised the plot twists within the story, especially because there were so many. Besides the plot twist involving Magwitch being the benefactor of Pip, all the other ones seemed pointless.
    The lengthy descriptions and nineteenth-century language created a dull atmosphere. For example, Dickens spent almost three pages describing how Mrs. Joe put the butter on the roll at the beginning!
    As for the ending, I think it was disappointing because it was not believable. I can't understand the enthusiastic praise the book always receives. Perhaps I failed to see the profoundness that makes it into a beloved classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    – —

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    DeadlyStar

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Damn book

    I can't read this tooooo many errors!!!!!! I what the f****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Victoria

    Heyo, Sammeh-Boo. Merry Day-After-Christmas. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    ENOUGH!!

    Stop with the damn roleplay convos in these book reviews! Its really annoying, and no one wants to see them. A lot of people choose books based on reviews. No one wants to see your immature little pokemon roleplays or whatever it is you do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Unreadable

    This text is not showing up readably

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Xavier

    Meh. How was your day?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Please help! Is this

    Is thid the real, original addition? Please answer to HELP? thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Please read

    I think this is a bad version.There are a lot of confusing things about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Ella

    "Most likely, as is being currently demonstrated."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Manifest

    *she looks at Kalxar* Hmmm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    BRILLIANT!

    Amazing social analysis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Cammie

    "For some reason, that doesn't bother me." She smirks cheekily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18