Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations: 1867 Edition

Average Rating 3.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

LOVE

Love it = 'Nuf said.

posted by LillianSkye on December 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Horrible OCR - Look elsewhere. However if you download get all 3 Vol.

There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable tha...
There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable that a renowned literary work would be made available to a mass market in this form. The Google introduction sates how proud Google is to present this work to the Public. I think Google should be ashamed to put such garbage on the Internet, especially since they put their name on the product. I guess Google is playing the numbers game, get as many books as possible to claim they have X millions, quality be dammed.

Barnes and Noble and Google should delete all this garbage from their sites!

posted by TerryVA on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Typos and clarity

    This has too many typos and this is very confusing. The book itself was great but it is missing chapters. IT DOES NOT EVEN START AT THE FIRST CHAPTER!!! Someone should really make this clear and typo-less.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    DeadlyStar

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    ENOUGH!!

    Stop with the damn roleplay convos in these book reviews! Its really annoying, and no one wants to see them. A lot of people choose books based on reviews. No one wants to see your immature little pokemon roleplays or whatever it is you do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Cammie

    "For some reason, that doesn't bother me." She smirks cheekily.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Cullister

    *she arches her eyebrows slightly, her arms folded across her chest. A dainty -yet troubling- smirk played on her lips.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Ummm.....

    How am I supposed to read this?? I guess I was warned about typos and confusion but I cant even find the first page of the chapter!!!!!!!!!!!!I have read the simpler version of this book and it was great but I just skimmed through the book to see it and I have no idea what language it is in. Please HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Illiterate

    I saw all of the great reviews written so I bought the book. The problem was that it was impossible to read. It disapointed me because everyone wrote it was a great book and I was looking forward to reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Opens Eyes on Poverty but Impossible Plot Twist

    I am currently reading Great Expectations in my freshman English class in high school. God, it's boring. But if you try and stay awake long enough, this book does open your eyes to social issues. I also think the plot twist with Pip getting all that money is impossible. That would very rarily happen, especially in those times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Disgraceful

    I was forced to read this book in an English class. This book was simply miserable with its dull, rambling narrations and lack of action. Turning the page is a chore, and the book could easily have been written in half as many pages. Don't waste your time on this book, read something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    Nope, just skip to the Cliff's Notes

    This book was okay, but the way they all talk and the way it was written just put me to sleep. The overall story was pretty good once you got the important parts, which could have been presented in about half of what was written. I believe that Dickens rambled on and on and counldn't decide were to bring an end to the story. I wouldn't put this on your Christmas wish-list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2001

    ONE WORD- BORING

    I know most people are going to be mad at this review. Ofcourse they are, but I have to write my opinions. This is by far the most boring book I have ever read. Sure Dickens is a classic author, but his books are just too outdated. Not many people find these books interested now adays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    A let down

    I am trying to read this book now but it is so dry and drawn out that I have to force my self to read. The general story is interesting but all the long and drawn out details aren't completely necessary. It's taking me a while to read because I just can't get into this disappointing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2